We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Rainforest and St. Kitts Tour”
Review of Poinciana Tours

Poinciana Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Hiking Mount Liamuiga Volcano in St Kitts
Ranked #12 of 39 Tours in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Rainforest and St. Kitts Tour”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked a tour of the rainforest when we cruised into St. Kitts in November. David was amazing. He was knowledgable, friendly and accommodating. He answered our questions, tailored our tour around our needs (he even stopped roadside to let us buy some beer from a local vendor. Yumm-o), and gave us a really in depth tour of St. Kitts after our rainforest hike. We even got treated to fresh mango and orange juice and a traditional raisin bread his wife made for us. He also got us back to the ship in plenty of time, so if you're cruising, don't worry about the integrity of the tour!

If you're looking for an adventurous excursion that doesn't leave anything out, definitely book with David!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    9
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable volcano hike & professional guide”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Visited St Kitts in Oct 2013, and David customized our tour with the volcano hike plus the regular tour that included Brimstone Hill Fortress, Timothy Hill, etc. The hike was amazing, but it was tough at the end of the trail, as needed to use both hands to climb through rocks and roots, but it was an awesome experience in the rainforest! David is very professional, and explained about the plants and their use during our hike, and gave us a well-narrated tour around the city. I would highly recommend Poinciana Tours for anyone looking to visit this beautiful green St Kitts!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldAdventures2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great trip up the volcano”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

If you visit St Kitts and you fancy a great experience not to mention a good bit of exercise then this is the trip. We contemplated doing this trip by ourselves, without a guide .. I guess in theory this could be done (plan on getting lost a few times!) but honestly you'd be silly to. We had the good fortune to be guided by Al .. A great guy and guide and as much as anything this helps to make the trip. We organised through Liz Pereira ..slick and effortless.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Hike with a Great Guide !”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I recently visited St. Kitts. We were staying at the Marriot and read about the volcano hike, and instantly knew it was a must do!
We emailed David and within hours he had replied answering all questions we had about the hike. David picked us up at our Hotel and drove us to the destination. The hike is challenging but definitely manageable if you are moderately fit. What a view at the top ! David had a wonderful pastry and fresh juice for us at the top.
The hike was a highlight for my husband and I. We would strongly recommend David. We liked the fact that we had walking sticks for us, as many of the other guides didn't.
Thanks again David for the wonderful experience!
Jon and Leah

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David951, Owner at Poinciana Tours, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Jon we were happy to make your experience a memorable one. Thanks again for choosing Poinciana Tours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“best tour guide ever”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Bottom line. Honest, friendly, knowledgable, fun, and well worth the time and money. Dont waste time or effort elsewhere. David is exceptional, took us around town, to get fresh fish, and showed us all over. Great price and amazing. Book online, he will make sure you see the island and get to where you need to go. There is a reason he has 5 stars.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poinciana Tours also viewed

 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to Poinciana Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing