We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down-to- Earth”
Review of Sprat Net

Sprat Net
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Description: Sprat net is wonderful restaurant located approximately 20 minutes north of Basseterre in Old Road Village. It is right on the water and is open for dinner. The owners are fishermen who go out in the morning and then serve their daily catch in the evening. They serve bbq lobster, ribs, chicken, steamed catch of the day fish, and wonderful pizzas. It is casual with ample seating and a beautiful view of the Caribbean Sea. Prices range from $10US to $30US for dinner. They also have a full bar.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Down-to- Earth”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great 'down-to-earth' dining. Your money goes a long way with food especially when you buy pizzas in groups!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    77
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“it's worth the drive”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Wednesday is the day to go to Sprat Net. only if you want great food, live music and wonderful scenery. lobster, ribs and chicken. I had all 3, awesome. out of town but worth the trip. Wednesday has live music, other days you only get great food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must-do local experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Having lived on the island for awhile, this was my favorite treat stop. If it isn't caught fresh, it isn't served. Lobster, swordfish, and whole fried snapper are typical seafood fare. Don't let the amazing seafood distract you from the delightful hand-made pizzas, topped with your choice of toppings, including lobster. Enjoy a drink from the bar after you order and watch the sun set over the horizon. The live music, fresh fare, and great service are worth the drive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Returned several times!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We come to St. Kitts often and we eat at Sprat Net several times during our stay. The plate of food you get is incredible for the price. It's always tasty and the Johnny cakes are to die for!! The staff always greet you with a warm smile and you get your food rather quickly. Can't wait to go back! Enjoy

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkydiveStKitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food, no frills atmosphere”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We came to eat here at the suggestion of our driver on a Wednesday evening as it is two for the price of one. Any two entrees,limited menu but all very fresh. They catch their fish right off their ships and then hold them in crates in the ocean until they need them. Lobsters, shrimp, and sea bass, etc. All the food was delicious. I'm not a big fish eater so I had the BEST chicken and ribs I've had ever. My husband had lobster and sea bass cooked to perfection. The kids had lobster and pizza and shrimp which was all good. The only drawback is that the silverware is plastic and sometimes difficult to eat with. They could use a better grade of plastic if that is how they want to serve. Get there EARLY as they cook to order and you get in line to order and then go sit at tables and wait. Tables are long, picnic type, so you might be sitting close to another group. Very casual and GREAT SUNSETS there too. They usually have live music too. I think they are only open Wed-Sun. for dinner, but check that info.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NyCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprat Net also viewed

St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to Sprat Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing