We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for Everyone, but def for me!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sprat Net

Sprat Net
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sprat net is wonderful restaurant located approximately 20 minutes north of Basseterre in Old Road Village. It is right on the water and is open for dinner. The owners are fishermen who go out in the morning and then serve their daily catch in the evening. They serve bbq lobster, ribs, chicken, steamed catch of the day fish, and wonderful pizzas. It is casual with ample seating and a beautiful view of the Caribbean Sea. Prices range from $10US to $30US for dinner. They also have a full bar.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not for Everyone, but def for me!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We made the drive to Sprat Net on a Wed Night for a local band and I'm glad we did! We ordered, ribs, shrimp and fish (the whole fish). It was all delicious! Price can't be beat either, $20 dinners, $2 beers! Music was excellent and entertaining as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank d75angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    71
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Worth the trip from Frigate Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went here having not bothered to make the 20 minute trip from our base on previous visits to St Kitts. Well worth it and we'll go again. Good atmosphere, locals, vet students and tourists. Live band. Big portions, well cooked. Fab lobster! Next time we'll go at sunset because the views must be great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chobhamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good food, lots of locals, good music. Great location to watch the sun go down. Prices are reasonable as well. A little bit of a drive but worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not so good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were very disappointed with this restaurant. We had to wait a long time. The lobster was tough & chewy. The shrimp was OK. Maybe we were there on an off night? Very pricy for what we got.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubamomPlusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliday, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best food/ sunset ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I was wowed by the quality of the seafod and the sunset! Our bus driver recomended this restaurant and I was not disapointed! It was quite a drive from the Marriot, but worth it. Upon our arrival we ordered and were quickly served our food. I had the red snapper and lobster. Much to my surprizse I got two tails, a large porition of fish, corn on the cobb, half of a baked potato and a jonny cake. My daughter had the barbeque chicken with the same sides. We ate outside under the stars!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jabberman_76366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprat Net also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
 

Been to Sprat Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing