We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guided hike up Mt Liamuiga”

Grey's Island Excursions
Ranked #4 of 44 Tours in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grey's Island Excursions is owned and operated by Thenford Grey who is one of the premier tour operators on St. Kitts.This award winning company offers tours & excursions that include "The Tour", "Volcano Tour", "Rain forest Tour" and "Capital and Beach Splash".Grey's Island Excursions focuses on offering the highest quality tours at a value price point which is why we have thousands of satisfied customers and positive reviews.Thenford Grey invites you to "Come experience St. Kitts with US!"
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This review is overdue but when we visited St Kitts last year we contacted Mr Grey who arranged for us to hike the volcano mountain. Mr Grey himself collected us & en route showed us a few sights before the climb. David was an excellent guide, informative & patient when I was tired. I'm not super fit but ok & for me it was fine. Our group was just myself & my husband as it was low season.

Thank SXR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"thenford grey"
in 223 reviews
"grand tour of st"
in 65 reviews
"mr grey"
in 54 reviews
"brimstone hill fortress"
in 75 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 69 reviews
"romney manor"
in 135 reviews
"great tour"
in 84 reviews
"morgan freeman"
in 8 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 85 reviews
"older brother"
in 7 reviews
"timothy hill"
in 44 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 40 reviews
"true gentleman"
in 10 reviews
"cruise critic"
in 16 reviews
"capital city"
in 9 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 27 reviews
"small bus"
in 8 reviews
Filter

558 - 562 of 709 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thenford is a gracious, articulate and insightful man. We had the pleasure of booking "The Tour" with his company on 8/30/13 and he indeed provided a thorough experience of beautiful St. Kitts. We never felt rushed or pressed for time; he made multiple stops so we could capture some wonderful photo memories. We received exceptional service and gained a great deal of knowledge about the island and its history. I especially appreciate the extra attention he gave to my 11 year old -- making sure that he too understood the highlights of the tour.

1  Thank Kar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Off the ship I was tossed up with taking Thenford Grey's tour or the taxi drivers $20 4 hour excursion around St Kitts.
After meeting Mr Grey I could tell he was a very compassionate individual who very much cares for his guests, and it was a great honor and pleasure being on his tour bus to see St Kitts site.
Drove along the coast after seeing the heart of the city, pointing out many places, as well as many stops, BUT my favorite was visiting Brimstone Fortress, the views were breathless, and just fabulous!! I definitely would recommend this site, if you go on your own there is a $8 admission fee for visitors. Mr Grey does offer this admission fee with his fees, as well as water and soda, snacks he provides as well!
Also the top of the hill (resort side of the island) is also breathtaking, where you see where the Caribbean ocean and Atlantic ocean nearly kiss! JUST beautiful, both sites we just barely missed the rain, which is very common in the Caribbean.

2  Thank tammyBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenang06, Manager at Grey's Island Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed "The Tour" and we do think that a visit to Brimstone Hill Fortress National Park (World Heritage Site) provides memories to last a life time. The entire team of service providers at GREY'S ISLAND EXCURSIONS say a big thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hike to the top of the old volcano in St. Kitts was great. It took about 5 hours to get up and down. Just make sure you are in good shape as not everyone made it to the top.

Thank jlas000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenang06, Manager at Grey's Island Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We are glad to learn that you were among those who made it to the summit of Mount Liamuiga. Do keep yourself physically fit as I am sure that there will be more mountains to climb in the future.
Thanks for choosing GREY'S ISLAND EXCURSIONS for your visit to St. Kitts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited St. Kitts for a day on a cruise of the Southern Carribean. The day prior had been spent on a full day tour of St. Lucia and I knew we'd be exhausted. Not wanting to push my luck with a 6 year old in tow... we decided to book the abbreviated half day tour in St. Kitts.

We took the Capital and Beach Splash tour. Henry was our driver and he was simply lovely. He is a native of Nevis and had lots of interesting information to share and clearly loves the island.

We had a narrarated tour of the port and capital and then made a stop at Palm Gardens (gorgeous by the way....) We eventually went to shipwreck beach which was a nice black sand beach with amenities and a small bar. It was not crowded at all and we were not hassled at the beach.

As luck would have it we were the only ones signed up for this tour so we had Henry all to ourselves. As a result he was flexible and accomodating. He even stayed at the beach while we swam and snorkeled.

We weren't sure if we would like St. Kitts when we booked the cruise but we absolutely LOVED it. Such a pretty and uncrowded place. We'd love to return for a longer stay and if we do, we'd definately book with Grey's again.

Many thanks for a great day.

2  Thank ASHMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenang06, Manager at Grey's Island Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey's Island Excursions also viewed

 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Grey's Island Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing