We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Serious Divers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird Rock Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Basseterre
Belton, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for Serious Divers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We couldn't have asked for more friendly and helpful staff. Accommodations were comfortable and clean with ocean view. Terrific coffee. Transportation alliances extremely helpful and Dave took us anywhere we wanted to go. Our vacations are all about diving and 5 star amenities are unnecessary for us because most of our time is spent around or under the water. If you want to dive, this is the place to be. Dive St. Kitts is ultra convenient.

Room Tip: If you have any leg issues, request a ground floor room. We requested a basic room with queen bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    27
    21
    30
See reviews for
22
39
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

My second time staying here. The hotel itself is quaint and could use some updating, BUT the location is great: convenient to Basseterre (a 30-min. walk or $12 cab ride); 10 mins from "The Strip," a cluster of restaurants & bars on Timothy Beach in Frigate Bay; 10 mins. or a $15 cab ride from the Bradshaw Int'l Airport; and, Dive St. Kitts is right on-site with dive/boat trips, kayaks, and snorkeling gear. Snorkeling in the small lagoon/beach at the hotel (down a steep set of stairs!) is great around the rock shore and breakwater but, if you're looking for a wide, white-sand beach,, then this is NOT the place! Rocky's Bar & Grill, down at the beach area, has a great selection of alcoholic drinks (IF you can get them before Capt. Crabby does!) and has wonderful bar snacks--and GREAT bartenders (LaToya, Devon, and Mr.Maldean). The staff, whether at the bar, restaurant, or in the office, are TREMENDOUS and truly make your stay easy, relaxing, and fun!!! Food at the BRBH is wonderful as well. All-in-all, a relaxing, fun, pleasant Caribbean vacation!!!

Room Tip: opt for a top floor room (buildings are only 2 stories, with 3 rooms per floor) for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, TN
Level Contributor
321 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

On the water, but not a beach. Primarily for people who want to dive. Rooms are clean but Spartan. They could use a few more electrical outlets in the room as well as a place to open your suitcase. They do have free WiFi and a restaurant. They are half the price of some in town. The view of the harbor is spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Foxtrot-BandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was one of a group booked into this hotel by a travel agent so our first impressions weren't good. The first great disappointment was that there were no Tea/Coffee making facilities in the rooms.
The hotel could be so much better if a little money was spent on updating the accommodation and clearing and landscaping the grounds. The view from the rooms was lovely especially when watching a stunning sunset.The staff were friendly and helpful and always had a smile.
There were not enough sunbeds around the pool,and none on the beach when we arrived but they did find a few more after a couple of days.
The beach bar had a better menu than the main restaurant but closed at 6 so we didn't eat there much. The bar had no atmosphere so we had early evening drinks outside one of our ground floor rooms overlooking the sea.

BARIS BAR SITUATED A COUPLE OF HUNDRED YARDS AWAY ON THE RD TO BASSETERRE WAS THE BEST. Nothing to look at, but good food (the best red snapper) , cheap drinks, Lovely people and a pool table where the locals will challenge you to a West Indies v England series.

Incidentally our age group ranged from 50 -70

Overall an ok Hotel. Good for divers and couples but not for groups.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esemkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Basseterre hotels

skookumchuck
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I checked on TA before I booked and it was better than I expected by a mile.
Up front, I will say that if you have any mobility problems, and cant do stairs, this is not the place for you. I am a diver so booked because of "Dive St. Kitts" being on site (reviewed seperately),
but 2 minutes from your room to the dock is as good as it gets! Upon arrival I was checked in quickly and had a huge room which included a kitchen, and full size fridge with a nice ocean view.
Without exception all the staff were great. Nuff said. I wish I could remember names better than I do, but Devon and Latoya from "Rockies Beach Bar" come to mind, sorry to the rest of you great folks there who really deserve a mention. I had dinner 3 times in the restaurant and it was excellent on every occaision. The menu, while limited, changes daily and I had to try the Mutton Stew. It was great, but FYI Mutton here does not refer to sheep as I thought, but is actually Goat.
The hotel is about a mile from the nearest store, and 2 from the edge of town, so unless you really like a good walk then you need a taxi. ( I recommend Smokies Taxi Service, 664 3786)
but the front desk will get one for you PDQ. All in all, clean , comfortable, nice view, good food, just a bit out of town, and lots of stairs. Also very quiet when I was there, last week Jan 2013. Will go back.

Room Tip: If you dont mind stairs ask for top floor. (Only 2 stories anyway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DiverRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a genuine two star hotel so don't come expecting luxury. Those guests we saw who were unhappy had set their sites too high. You get what you pay for and for a very reasonable rate you will get a place to sleep and some of the basics like a small pool and beach. The bar is only open in the afternoon so the evenings are very quiet. Food is quite good but the restaurant is very dull and you are usually alone in the dining room.

We recommend renting a car while staying here so you can get to restaurants and towns. This hotel is off the beaten track and a good distance from the city and other beach attractions. If you're a diver, it's perfect. Walk down the steps and jump on the dive boat. Enjoy your day with Capt Crabby and the crew.

This hotel is very clean. The rooms, the grounds, the pool -- all immaculate. I don't mind a basic place as long as it's clean and well taken care of. The staff at Bird Rock are the friendliest I've seen and seem to genuinely care that you are happy. Thanks for great morning coffee tray Ms. Abbott!

Room Tip: Worth it to get a room with kitchen. More space and convenience. There's little around Bird Rock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PMdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks and had a delightful stay. This is a locally owned, older property. In the US, you might compare it to a Motel 6. It is clean, comfortable, and the delightful staff will leave a light on for you. The pool is nice, and down the stairs is a delightful beach with a bar (chicken tacos are fab). We found everyone to be helpful about getting the rooms set, calling cabs, etc.

It is a bit far from anything: you can walk into town, and we did several times, but if you aren't renting a car it can feel a bit out of the way. On the flip side, it's in a nice neighborhood surrounded by homes and we enjoyed walking around. The owner has breakfast there everyday: the Resturant food is good and fresh.

You can rent snorkel or scuba gear here.

The rooms are dated--other reviews mentioned the 1980s--but my big thing is that it was clean, the view of the ocean was amazing, the grounds were lovely, and the people terrific.

We met many lovely locals here: I think a place that locals will go is a good place. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TessHa0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basseterre
2.0 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
1.2 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Beach Hotel

Property: Bird Rock Beach Hotel
Address: Pelican Mall, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bird Rock Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a secluded cove overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Bird Rock Beach Hotel captivates you with its tranquil setting and its warm hospitality. Guests have access to a wide variety of water based activities including swimming, kayaking, snorkeling and scuba diving. There are three restaurants including Rocky’s Beach Bar & Grill. The hotel’s 46 air-conditioned rooms are tastefully furnished and include a king-size bed or two queen-size beds, full bathrooms, cable TV, and private balconies with spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. Kids 11 and under say free when sharing with adults. Dive St Kitts, the island’s premier dive operation, is located at the base of the hotel. The private harbor shelters the 32' twin 200HP monohull and is perfectly located on one of the best, easy access, shore dives on the Caribbean side of St Kitts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bird Rock Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Beach Resort
Bird Rock Beach Basseterre
Bird Rock Beach Hotel St. Kitts/Basseterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing