We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, local, and comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird Rock Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Basseterre
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, local, and comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks and had a delightful stay. This is a locally owned, older property. In the US, you might compare it to a Motel 6. It is clean, comfortable, and the delightful staff will leave a light on for you. The pool is nice, and down the stairs is a delightful beach with a bar (chicken tacos are fab). We found everyone to be helpful about getting the rooms set, calling cabs, etc.

It is a bit far from anything: you can walk into town, and we did several times, but if you aren't renting a car it can feel a bit out of the way. On the flip side, it's in a nice neighborhood surrounded by homes and we enjoyed walking around. The owner has breakfast there everyday: the Resturant food is good and fresh.

You can rent snorkel or scuba gear here.

The rooms are dated--other reviews mentioned the 1980s--but my big thing is that it was clean, the view of the ocean was amazing, the grounds were lovely, and the people terrific.

We met many lovely locals here: I think a place that locals will go is a good place. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TessHa0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    26
    21
    29
See reviews for
22
39
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Bird Rock hotel in January 2013, not the best on the island but you get what you pay for. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and AC worked. Pictures on their website are not total true to life. Food was ok but portions are very small. If you can eat some where else. Walls are very thin, could hear the TV on in the next room all night long, could hear their phone calls too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel4m2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bird Rock our first night in St. Kitts before staying at the Marriott. It was a decent stay; the accommodations aren't the best but, then again, you are not paying for the best. :)
What you will get is a friendly staff and the best cup of coffee you'll ever have in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sound Beach, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Bird Rock has a full service dive center on the property with and dive boat. It was great to walk from my room right to the boat in the morning. Having traveled the caribbean I would rate Bird Rock as a good local hotel. If you want the crowds, american type amenities $$$ stay at the Marriott. Bird Rock is an good value, with a friendly staff, clean rooms, and good food on property. We stayed 7 nights here on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

When you see the pictures of the place, it looks wonderful. Its NOT its run down, small,A/c barely works, furnishing are wore out, and over priced. $19.95 a nite hotel in the US. Its was all BAD!!! Door to the balcony was off the tracks water tap leaked all night. many empty beer bottles were laying around on the grounds. Any place on the Island is better than this!!!

Room Tip: Stay Away, just vist it to see what might have been.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Parasail4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Basseterre hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very practical accommodations with a great view of the ocean and Basseterre. If you are looking for high-end luxurious accommodations with all of the amenities, this is not the spot. But if you want a basic room with convenient kitchenette in your room at an affordable price with very courteous staff, this fits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scibt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The front desk staff was very friendly. However, having to go to the office to get things out or put things in the safety deposit box was very inconvenient. They are small -- I-pad won't fit. One night I went to the office to get items out of our safety deposit box & the office was dark & locked up. It was 8:10 & there was a sign posted on the door that said they were open until 9:00.
Our first night there we had been flying most of the day & were famished. When we went to the restaurant to eat, a gentleman said we would have to go to the beach bar, even though the book in the room said they were open until 9:00. When we got to the beach bar, no one was interested in taking our order. We finally got served (only from the appetizers menu) but it took a very long time & we felt we were imposing.
When we arrived the next morning for breakfast at 10:50, the waitress made a rude comment about breakfast ending at 11.00. Our last night, we again went to the restaurant & were immediately sent to Diana's which should be open until 9:30. We arrived at 8:30 & were told all we could order were hamburgers. Unbelieveable! We stayed at Bird Rock for a week & never saw the complete menu. They just weren't interested in selling food.
Our first morning we were woken by the maid pounding on the door. She would not quit until we opened the door. We had no sleep the previous night preparing to fly. I guess they have never heard of do not disturb.
Our room didn't have a water view because of trees outside our window. Our stay was disappointing. I know it is off season, but if you don't have it, don't advertise it.

Room Tip: If you want a low priced room, this might be the place for you, but don't expect a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScubamomPlusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basseterre
2.0 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
1.2 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Beach Hotel

Property: Bird Rock Beach Hotel
Address: Pelican Mall, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bird Rock Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a secluded cove overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Bird Rock Beach Hotel captivates you with its tranquil setting and its warm hospitality. Guests have access to a wide variety of water based activities including swimming, kayaking, snorkeling and scuba diving. There are three restaurants including Rocky’s Beach Bar & Grill. The hotel’s 46 air-conditioned rooms are tastefully furnished and include a king-size bed or two queen-size beds, full bathrooms, cable TV, and private balconies with spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. Kids 11 and under say free when sharing with adults. Dive St Kitts, the island’s premier dive operation, is located at the base of the hotel. The private harbor shelters the 32' twin 200HP monohull and is perfectly located on one of the best, easy access, shore dives on the Caribbean side of St Kitts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bird Rock Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Beach Resort
Bird Rock Beach Basseterre
Bird Rock Beach Hotel St. Kitts/Basseterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing