We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Husband's Favorite Beach”
Review of Cockleshell Beach

Cockleshell Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
St Kitts Sightseeing Tour to Brimstone Hill Fortress with Beach Visit
Ranked #4 of 43 things to do in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lake Havasu City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My Husband's Favorite Beach”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Cockleshell Beach in St. Kitts is my husband's favorite beach. This was our second visit to this beach. You can rent two chairs and an umbrella for $20 from the Reggae Beach Bar and Grill. The waitresses come around and fill drink and food orders. They also have aloe vera massages. My husband got one and said it was a good massage for the price, $35. If you get a massage ask for Shawna, she is very nice and professional. This beach is on the southern side of the island with a view of its sister island Nevis. The ride out is a little bumpy, but adds to the island experience. We had a wonderful time here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachLvr211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    297
    131
    34
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A nice beach”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a long, curving, sandy beach at the tip of the southeastern peninsula of St. Kitts. It faces across the Narrows to the island of Nevis. I thought the beach was pleasant enough, and nice for swimming, but not really outstanding compared with a few of the Nevis beaches, which I personally feel are prettier than this one.

There are I believe two bar/restaurants on Cockleshell Bay, one at the middle and one at the north end. We walked over from Majors Bay, the next bay south (where the "Sea Bridge" ferry docks) but you can't go directly from one bay to the next because of the intervening steep headlands, so it is a little bit of a hike inland and back to get there, away from the lovely sea breeze.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank invertpaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice beach with great restaurant”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our fabulous tour guide Bertram Daniel (869-668-9723) took us here while on our second day of touring with him. A very relaxing day with Reggae Beach Bar for our island drinks and lunch. Since it is on the Caribbean side of St. Kitts, the water is very calm.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebGuyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice small Beach”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a very small beach with crystal clear water and white sand. You can take a massage on the beach with aloe vera for $40, but it only lasts like 15 minutes...Ask for prices for your umbrella, since some places charge $10 and others $5. Chairs are available. There is a bar and restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank caryfajardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Second time is the charm”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Cockleshell beach is also Reggae Beach, home to Wilbur (RIP) and other assorted monkeys. This is our second time and loved it again. Nice beach, except for the boat taxi that comes in from Nevis. The views of Nevis are incredible and beautiful. You can really see the volcano on clear day.The waitresses on the beach are attentive, but not pushy. There are beach venders, but they are nice.The food at the restaurant is good and not to expensive. the cab ride to the beach from town are incredible. Make sure the driver stops at the top of the mountain so you can see the Atlantic and the Caribbean sea, just beautiful! Great photo ops.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherwood D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockleshell Beach also viewed

St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to Cockleshell Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing