We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delectable food.....gracious owners....servers need some RedBull :-)”
Review of ciao

ciao
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delectable food.....gracious owners....servers need some RedBull :-)”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We showed up with a group of 16, and were graciously accommodated - seating moved around to fit our group. The owner and her husband were absolutely delightful, and the food was delectable!! The servers were excrutiatingly slow, and the owner ended up doing most of the order taking as well as serving. If you resign yourself to the fact that "island time" is positively snail like....you can begin to enjoy. Was the best gnocchi I have had, and I've been to some incredible Italian restaraunts. The husband (co-owner), created a yummy dessert for the kids that was to die for. Had it not been for the owners being incredibly gracious - this would have been a huge disappointment. I would make this a "must-do" on your visit - just hope that the owners are present or else you'll walk away disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LGershman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    121
    52
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Empty tummy, empty wallet!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

First gastronomic experience on the island and a bit of a let down. The waitstaff was pleasant enough but the lack of value in the meal was a real bummer. We ordered pumpkin ravioli which was quite the artistic presentation. The raviolis resembled lilly pads floating on a pond. Cool, eh? Well, no, not really. The pond was a sea of melted butter. Now I do love my butter but it was the main ingredient in this dish and for the price, I honestly expected a heaping portion of ravioli. The price was way off what it should be for food of that quality and quantity.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessisap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Insulting!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Walked right in, no reservations needed gee, I wonder why? Hostess was pleasant, actually gave me 2 slices of lemon with water!! Ordered Lobster Bisque soup -was not even close to lobster bisque, It was brownish water with absolutely no flavor at all. The 3 toast points were the highlight of that disaster. Husband ordered a house salad with oil and vinegar. They brought the oil and vinegar, but had already dressed it with some other dressing - not sure what it was. I ordered shrimp cocktail for my meal; It was Good Friday. There were 5, obviously previously frozen, shrimp that they dunked in boiling water and threw some cocktail sauce in the middle, they were still HOT. When I asked the waitress about them she said, "Oh, you don't like them warm?" I asked her to wrap them to take home. The tuna, which was to be served with a baked potato, came with roasted potatoes. They were heated up in a microwave- they looked crispy around the edges but were mushy.
The owner offered to buy us a glass of wine, thanks but we really had enough!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palmbeach60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nothing Excites”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I went ehre once in search of an italian experience, this place does not do Italy or their food justice. First the food is just too standard and it lacks the flavour and excitement. Also I am not paying that level of money when I can stay in my hotel and eat at the Italian restaurant there for the same price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, St. Kitts and Nevis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Taste of Food - Italian style”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

my co-workers and I had our christmas dinner at Ciao. The menu gave a wow experience - tasty but not sugary (caribbean flavour) I liked the1/2 lobster termidor but I disliked the lobster avocado salad. The absence of music made the evening a little dull.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank vonco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ciao also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to ciao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing