We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience, but disappointing”

St. Kitts Scenic Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.00*
and up
St Kitts Scenic Railway Tour
Ranked #12 of 82 things to do in St. Kitts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The narrow gauge St. Kitts scenic railway is one of the most beautiful train rides in the world. Originally built in 1912 to deliver sugarcane from the fields to the sugar mill in Basseterre, the "Last Railway in the West Indies" now provides a fascinating way for visitors to see the island from the comfort of modern passenger train cars and sightseeing buses. The railway hugs the Northeastern coastline where spectacular vistas of ocean, surf, cliffs, and lush vegetation surround you. The train rolls across tall steel bridges spanning deep ""ghuts"", or canyons, and winds through small villages and farms. Dark green rainforests are skirted by rippling fields of sugar can, with the volcanic cone of Mt. Liamuiga rising above the railway. This unique rail and highway experience allows visitors the opportunity to see the island in a very short period of time. Your guide will point out all the sights as the train passes old sugar estates with abandoned windmills and chimneys.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice experience, but disappointing”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The reason I say it was disappointing was due to the inability to hear and understand the guide. She had a charming accent that would likely have been easy to understand IF the speakers were working, or if there were more of them. It didn't matter if you sat on the lower or upper level...there was still a problem.

Nice train ride thru the area without the problem of traffic, since most of the tracks were behind villages. Still, the townspeople and children would run out to wave hello at us. There was a type of coconut/sugar cookie served that was VERY sweet. The train rides rough and there are no seat belts that I saw. The train has bathrooms on each car and drink service (soft drinks, water, and drinks made with rum available at no extra charge).

After the train ride, there is a bus ride thru the remaining part of the island and a return to the ship. The bus ride goes right thru the villages and towns, and the driver points out different things of interest. We even saw a monkey sitting in a tree, and she stopped briefly in traffic to let us get pics of it.

This excursion would likely be boring to children, as it spends so much time just on scenery. Still, it's a leisurely way to see a good bit of the countryside, and not the "touristy" parts close to the port.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank trouble1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    204
    91
    33
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“St Kitts Scenic railway ...not very scenic!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very disappointed. Sound system was terrible and unless you were in first car it was impossible to understand narration. Very little greenery due to drought....by time they got around to preparing drinks and the length of of time serving, we only had 1 weak drink. Not worth price!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SamiSushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Terrific Tour of St. Kitts”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We took this enjoyable trip on Christmas Day 2013 and had a blast. We rode the afternoon train which started with a half-hour bus ride that gave us glimpses of some villages and surrounding countryside. The train ride was most enjoyable. We sat on the upper level which is open air and perfect for photography. The canopy above the upper level kept the tropical sun from shining down on us and it was most pleasant. For those who like air-conditioning and who prefer not to climb a few stairs, the lower level looked comfortable and had extra large windows. The scenery on this ride is quite nice as most of the trip is within sight of either the Caribbean Sea or the Atlantic Ocean (sorry, the Pacific is nowhere close). The train passes through several small villages with colorful houses and we really enjoyed seeing one family waving from the back step of their house. The sight of a little boy with a big smile waving at us made my Christmas Day. The tall trestles, the black sand beach, and remnants of sugar plantations were other sights that highlighted the journey. It is worth noting that many of the reviews that said "sit on the right side" were obviously on morning trips. The afternoon runs operate in the opposite direction. That said, we liked the opposite side of the car's upper level as the inward facing bench seats faced the ocean. When we wanted to take photos, we stood up and leaned across to the other side. If you find yourself going to St. Kitts, be sure this trip is on your itinerary.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverStar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing ride through the countryside”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This was a really enjoyable excursion with friendly and informative staff. It did seem expensive but we are glad we went. The scenery was lovely and drinks are included. The train ride of 18 miles lasted about an hour and three quarters and then we had a 12 mile bus ride back to the start which was very interesting with the driver pointing out places en route and explaining the history.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Railway Tour nice.....Monkeys Better”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

On a recent cruise that went to St. Kitts, I got off to take the St. Kitts Railway tour. As I walked through the main gate into the city I just fell in love with these darling monkeys. Dressed in little T shirts. So adorable. When you said "Can I hold you?" the little babies reached out their hands, just like humans. I ended up holding over a dozen of them, with them sitting on my head and arms. Too cute.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Kitts Scenic Railway also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to St. Kitts Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing