We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Beach Bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill

Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill
Ranked #4 of 101 Restaurants in St. Kitts
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Beach Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We love Shipwreck - very casual, right on the beach where you can snorkle, very good food (love the fish tacos and gyros), friendly people and monkeys and mongoose right by the bar! We go here everytime we visit

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb321114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    180
    42
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henniker, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Beach Bar to Watch the Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We read about Shipwreck and planned to hit an early sunset dinner on our second night in St.Kitts. We got there and found a perfectly rustic beach bar on a beautiful beach. The staff were very friendly, the food was excellent and a good value and the sunset was stunning. We went back on our last night, had a another good meal and sunset and saw 20-30 monkeys coming down to get fed. Its a fun place. It seems to cater to St. Kitts vacation "regulars" but its a laid back place so its not off-putting. We'd highly recommend a sunset drink or meal at Shipwreck.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“VERY casual, but just the right atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you are looking for a very casual but fun place, it's here. Write your name on the walls, as thousands of others have done. The food service closes down at dusk (we got there too late, so we headed to the bar instead) It is on South Friars Bay, where you can do a bit of snorkling. The beach chairs are for rent, but you can also find a place on the sand. Prices and food were very good, also had vegitarian options. The wild monkeys come by and visit in the late afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kodak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Ilet, Gros-Islet, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fun beach spot. An easy excursion.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

this was our off day on a cruise and we had nothing booked. We decided we wanted a relaxing, quiet afternoon. Grabbed a cab at port and for $4 per person we got a nice little drive, stopping at some scenic places and then dropping us off at Shipwreck. Taxi driver asked what time we wanted her to return, which was very nice to know we had a ride back. The restaurant bar is fun and friendly with a pretty good menu for a beach restaurant. Fair prices and the food was pretty tasty. The beach has chairs for rent. The black sand is neat. The snorkeling area has a lot of sea urchins but we were warned ahead of time and stayed on the swimming side. there are water things for rent. Snorkels, boogie boards etc. All cheap. Just a very easy afternoon with no worries!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacmo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Love this place! Toes in the sand, cold beer in my hand, beautiful water, beautiful vista. The monkeys and mongoose visiting for their mid-afternoon snacks added to the day. The food was bountiful and good. It was exactly what I was hoping for in an afternoon of "ahhhhhh."

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgorey828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing