We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First clas beach bar”

Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill
Ranked #3 of 107 Restaurants in St. Kitts
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“First clas beach bar”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

What a joy to spend a day here! The service is very friendly, they cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. The drinks are very cold and the food is wonderful, as good, if not better, than anything close by especially places in frigate bay which are all overrated in our view.
Go, spend the day, watch the monkeys being fed, which are not captive unlike other places (they have done a wonderful job to attract them and keep them coming back) and eat and drink well.
And the sunset is incredible!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_J_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    220
    53
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Beach bar & grill food plus adult beverages for a day at the beach”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I joined my niece here at Ship Wreck Beach for a few hours a couple of days this week and found it quite restful! It overlooks a nice stretch of the Caribbean just over the hill from Frigate Bay. Much like every other bar in St. Kitts, they serve a drink called a "Ting with a sting" which is basically white rum and the St. kitts version of Fresca over ice (Tasty!). They also serve great Fish Tacos with a small salad and beans and rice. Try the local hot sauce they have in the condiments basket - good heat! Our other great choice was the Jerk Chicken with Saffron rice!
What is also cool about the Ship Wreck beach bar is the beach seating under what I would call palm leaf Thatched umbrellas. Very cool...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Verde, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Icy cold beer w a view.”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great service and conch fritters. Server was awesome. You've got to believe the humorous, but serious warning about sea urchin pricks, when you go in the water.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've lived on the island of St. Kitts for a year now and this is by far my favorite spot on the beach.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BWebb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Favorite Bar on our Favorite Island!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Two words: FUNKY MONKEY!!! This is hands down the best drink in the entire world. And I have been all over the world! This is a frozen drink with baileys, rum, bananas and chocolate. I hate daiquiris and pina coladas, but this drink is fantastic. I have been to shipwreck twice and both times it was my favorite stop on the cruise. The beach isn't great, it is small with black sand, but the views are amazing! The food is good and the drinks are fantasctic! Oh yeah, and there are cute little monkeys in the woods behind the bar. Here are some pricing facts:

nachos: $6
bucket of beer: 6 for $15
funkey monkey: $6 small and $8 large
taxi from cruise port: $4 per person, each way (Pay the taxi man half when he drops you off at shipwreck and the other half when he takes you back to the cruise ship. He will arrange a time with you in advance.)

Thanks again for a great visit, we can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FLGolfWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
 

Been to Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing