We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Tapas Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nirvana - CLOSED

Nirvana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Chinese, Asian, Thai, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the new Nirvana - now offering Chinese and Pan - Asian Cuisine! At Nirvana you will savour the culinary creations prepared by Executive Chef, Mukesh Kumar and his Team offering authentic Schezwan, Cantonese and Hunan Chinese styles together with Thai cuisine. Also the only restaurant on island that serves authentic dim sum. Located adjacent to the historical Fairview Great House we look forward to welcoming you for Lunch while you relax and enjoy the breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea and our sister island Nevis. Drop by and have a Cocktail, Mocktail or Wine at the bar or poolside. Or simply cap off your day with a sumptuous Dinner. Nirvana is also home to the "Caribbean Cooks Cooking Class". Conducted in our cooking room this presentation will appeal to the "Foodie" in you as you learn to prepare a full Caribbean meal.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tapas Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

During our visit we stopped at Nirvana for lunch. We weren't sure they were open but we were quickly seated upon entry. I ordered fried fish and jerk chicken along with a mango margarita. All were delicious! Grounds are beautiful and pool was a refreshing surprise for a lunch dip!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d75angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran P, General Manager at Nirvana, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for visiting Nirvana. We are so glad you were able enjoy our Tapas. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting coupled with exception hospitality...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I made the short trip from our internationally known hotel. We were thrilled the restaurant was easy to find.

He had the seafood chowder as a starter while I had the pumpkin soup which our server recommended. Both were excellent!

He has the grouper sandwich served with French fries and slaw. My entree was the jerk chicken sandwich with sweet potato fries and cole slaw. Both the chicken and fish were moist and seasoned perfectly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tagman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beauty and elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

What an absolutely beautiful place. We had been emailing back and forth prier to our visit to St.kitts. We were hoping to take a cooking class as well as enjoying dinner there. The weather did not permit us to join a cooking class, but we had a wonderful brunch and the opportunity to meet Chef Janice. Talking with her was so enlightening, she is such a great person.The grounds are just spectacular.We had a great time there. Thank you all .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marlanacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran P, General Manager at Nirvana, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for visiting us after all the terrible rain TS Rafael brought us. We were so happy you were able to dine with us even tho you missed the Cooking Class. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts and Nevis
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Non-existent customer service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had an hour and a quarter to grab lunch before we needed to head to the airport. There were only two other tables of patrons in in the entire restaurant, so we decided it wasn't unreasonable to expect service of soup and sandwiches. 25 minutes after being seated, we inquired about our food and made sure the staff knew we had a plane to catch. 50 minutes after being seated, no entrees, no appetizers and no reasonable explanation. By this point, even if food would have been served, we wouldn't have time to enjoy it. So we decided to pay for our drinks and get out of there. The staff made one last ditch effort to get food on the table, unfortunately, it wasn't our food. My wife ordered a veggie burger and received a beef burger instead. I thought it looked a little too meaty, so being a consummate carnivore, I took a test bite. It's what happened afterwards that dropped this review from a 2 out of 5, to a 1. The server, realizing her mistake, picked up the burger and took it straight to it's intended recipient. In conclusion, if you want a secondhand hamburger at the end of an hour long wait, make a beeline for Nirvana.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran P, General Manager at Nirvana, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review Matthew S. We appreciate all guest feedback.

If we were advised that you were indeed in a rush and needed to be served promptly we certainly would have taken care of your table in a faster manner. We are not a fast food restaurant and unfortunately were not informed until 20 minutes after your order was placed that you had to be at the airport. As you witnessed there were other guests ahead of you that had to be served.

We certainly do not serve second hand food. Nirvana follows strict guidelines and health policies on food handling.
We hope you had a safe trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for slow season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We are staying at the Marriott and as we had a rental car we decided to take advantage and eat further away from the hotel. We had limited choice as many restaurants have closed for the low season (late Aug - October). Our hotel were confused as to whether Nirvana was open or not but finally we got a reservation. We had a really lovely evening. The food was superb, menu choice was a little limited but we enjoyed our 3 courses. The chocolate/banana home made ice cream was delicious, and the feta cheese/melon salad. The setting is utterly beautiful. The chef came out and spoke to us which was very nice. We would definatley go back, and may pop back for lunch before they close for the season next week.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran P, General Manager at Nirvana, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you Karen for visiting us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your "Nirvana Experience". We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing