We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Rocks

Black Rocks
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
St Kitts 360 Island Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #26 of 80 things to do in St. Kitts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hardened lava formations at the base of coastal cliffs.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
413 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We got alot of great pictures here. We bought coconut candy and tamarind candy from a lovely little lady. Good views of other islands from here. A few little shops to buy thing if that what you are looking for.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelman360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    66
    29
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tough to find but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Super cool giant black boulders being smashed by Atlantic surf. Local vendors serve street lunch and crafts. If brave and athletic like us, you van climb down the cliff and climb the black rocks (not if you have kids!) instead of just looking at them. Tough to find and poorly marked, we had to ask three people where they were. Thankfully all were friendly and pointed us in the right direction.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Expatinkitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, friendly people...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our experience in St. Kitts was hugely positive. The people are very friendly and the sights are amazing! The Black Rocks on the Atlantic coast of the island are spectacular. Our tour guide stopped at this small village where we were able to take in this magical place. It's a must for anyone visiting St. Kitts.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Missouri
1 review
“Some Great Photo Ops - If You're A Little Adventurous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I took a tour of St. Kitts with Javin James on November 26, 2012. One of the stops was the lava rocks near Sadlers in the northeast. We stopped at the little shops at the top and noted the prices were pretty good if you want a souvenir. Javin then led us down the rocks. He was excellent at pointing out the exact best path from rock to rock. We successfully made it to the bottom with nary a slip. I would stop just short of calling the scenery breathtaking, though it does provide for some really good photo opportunities. It is also possible, maybe even likely, that you will get in the path of the spray from the sea hitting the rocks so consider that if you bring along a good camera. I would say that this is probably a must-see if you're in St. Kitts, have 30 to 60 minutes and are in reasonably good shape.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown NJ
Level Contributor
208 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Only place we ever seen anything like this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visited St kitts during our Caribbean cruise. We rented a car for the day to go sightseeing on 11/09/12. We stopped a several spots that day. Driving was easy on St Kitts.

We made a quick stop at the black rocks to see the black volcanic rocks at the ocean edge.
The view was spectacular and unique. We stopped for a few minutes to see it and take a couple photos and went on our way..
There were various vendors selling food and souvenirs there in parking lot. There are locals with pet monkeys if you want to get photo for a couple dollars donation.

It was a nice place for a quick visit. This was the only place on a caribbean island we ever seen anything like this. Don't plan to spend more then 30 minutes there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jmjbrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Rocks also viewed

St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Black Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing