We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent taster to the wonderful Wales...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Railway Cottage
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A magnificent taster to the wonderful Wales...”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here for three days and I simply had to write this review. We have stayed in so many 5 star hotels and I have to say the Railway Cottage has been the best experience I have had in my life. This is a perfect introduction to Wales, our wonderful hosts Dusty and Ros open their B&B to you with nothing but perfection, the room is beautifully decorated, situated next to a river and a beautiful big garden. They have lots of wildlife in the garden and share their garden with doves, woodpeckers, hens, other rare birds and a quirky duck. Can you imagine having breakfast whilst looking at doves and woodpeckers and other birds feeding in the garden? Well the answer is yes if you stay at the Railway Cottage. The breakfast is locally sourced and I promise you, you will not be disappointed. The hosts are nothing but wonderful and the room is spacious with everything you could ever desire.

If you do visit Wales, you simply must stay here otherwise I am afraid you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book fast to avoid disappointment. The owners can be contacted directly if you do a main engine sear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eager T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Possibly the nicest and most welcoming B&B we have ever stayed at. Ros and Dusty are warm hosts that could not do enough to make sure we were comfortable. Locally sourced breakfasts, beautiful gardens (with a river flowing at the end of it). I could not think of a more relaxing place to stay. All I can say is: stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay, and we wish we had booked for longer. This is not the average B&B as you have the full use of a large bedroom, conservatory, shower room (with underfloor heating), and a small utility/dressing room with a fridge and microwave (which is ideal if your planning to spend a day out in and around Snowdonia and want to have a ready meal when you get home). You are free to wander around their lovely garden, admire the chickens, or follow the railway & river to the National White Water Centre and Llyn Celyn Reservoir. As commented by others the food, service and friendliness are second to none. Well done Dusty and Ros.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at The Railway Cottage Frongoch Wales. This is by far the best bed and breakfast that we have ever stayed at and would Highly recommend to any couple or single person that needs B&B for a night or week or longer look at The Railway Cottage. Everything was SUPERB in every way and Breakfast was second to none.
If only all B&Bs were like this, Our room had a conservatory adjoining it we had a fridge a microwave everything you would ever need. Lovely gardens lots of birds and chickens feeding.
We really thank Ros and Dusty for a fantastic week and look forward to a return trip in the future,
Two very happy customers Tony & Sally.

Room Tip: This is in a nice quiet cul-de-sac
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

From the moment we entered Dusty and Ros's lovely home everything was perfect. Set in interesting gardens with hens, greenhouses and wild animals in the evening, the self contained rooms are full of helpful details such as guidebooks and other reading materials, a fridge, stove, hot water bottles, fruit, sweets, a tray for dirty boots and oh heaven - heated private conservatory overlooking the garden. Sheer bliss. Then the freshly cooked breakfast with home made bread and preserves, and the friendliest conversation from the most welcoming and sophisticated hosts. Dusty and Ros have done so much with their lives. It is possible to walk directly from the house as well as the many walks around Bala. I forgot my sunglasses and got them sent back to me. Just totally wonderful five star comfort for such a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms are wonderful and have conservatories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights for my boyfriend’s birthday in June. Ros and Dusty were fantastic. The accommodation was delightful and lovely that you have the use of the conservatory as well as your own entrance. You choose what you'd like for breakfast the night before and it's then ready in the morning - my boyfriend said it was the best cooked breakfast he's ever had - and he's had quite a few! Ros and Dusty were really helpful advising us about the area and recommending some nice restaurants to eat in. My boyfriend even got a birthday card from them on the day of his birthday! Fantastic and would recommend to anybody. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmops1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Ros and Dusty welcomed us to the "Railway Cottage" with a warming cup of tea and slice of Welsh cake which was much appreciated and opened the door to a first class stay in Snowdonia.

The service was second to none and the standard of accommodation was first class. Dusty's generous breakfasts were much appreciated and the local produce was both succulent and tasty.

Thank you Ros and Dusy we will certainly recommend you to our friends and family......

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireGolfGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frongoch
2.5 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
36 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
139 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
#4 of 15 in Bala
56 reviews
2.4 mi away
Frondderw Country House
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Tair Felin Farm
#3 of 3 in Frongoch
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Cottage

Property: The Railway Cottage
Address: Frongoch, Frongoch, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7NT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Frongoch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Frongoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Railway Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Railway Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing