We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort food”
Review of Tipsy Turtle Bar

Tipsy Turtle Bar
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Cayman Brac
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Resort food”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Typical resort food, however it is the best you will get in the Island. The service was good, drinks are weak and you have to order doubles for them to be a single. Drinks are stronger at most Grand Cayman restaurants. The resort caters to the guests and will have planned activities next to restaurant which can be annoying if you are looking for a relaxing dinner (ie. Bingo night). The great treasures of Cayman Brac are on the island seeing the sights and not at this average bar. Make sure you go to the dock to see the rays at night if they are there.

Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    26
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best poolside food ever!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Can't say enough good about the Tipsy Turtle. Simply the best pool-side (beach-side) food and service I've ever had. Amazing atmosphere and scenery.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scubatigerfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing food on such a small island”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I ate far too well while I was here. The cooks were more than happy to accomodate special requests. The salads were fresh and always interesting. The prices were quite reasonable considering that all the food is shipped in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat2Lauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great company!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Friendly bar and wait staff. Food items from the bar menu are great - if you walk away hungry, it is your own fault!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JBurrows-Wood B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not just your average bar!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We did not stay at the Brac Reef Resort but we came to The Tipsy Turtle for dinner 3 of the 4 times we dined out! The staff is wonderful; super friendly and happy to be there. The wait staff are experienced and attentive while the bartenders might not know exactly what that obscure drink is that you ordered but they will be more than happy to make it for you if you tell them how. There are definitely regulars, locals, and off-duty staff hanging out which is always fun plus they mix with the guests and are never "clique-ish" or make you feel like you don't belong. If you dive at all with Reef Divers then you might run into your dive master there! They always have good stories :) The food, which is mostly American with some local, comes fairly quickly and is EXCELLENT. My sisters rank the house salad among the best they have ever had! It as also reasonably priced. There's no dress code or anything and you can choose to eat indoors, outdoors (uncovered), or outdoors underneath the open air bar's roof. No issue with bugs (and trust me, if there was a mosquito within 10 miles it would have bitten me). There is also an outdoor event/theme for each weekday night. I believe there used to be a karaoke night but it was not part of the current line-up when we were there. As of our trip during August 2012, the events were as follows:
Monday- welcome party
Tuesday- wii game night
Wednesday- trivia night (my team and I won!)
Thursday- movie night
Friday- BBQ night with live music
After dinner every night, we made a habit out of walking over to the resort's dock with flashlights because on the very first evening we were told there were eagle rays feeding there! We were fortunate enough to observe a number of special visitors, including the eagle rays (2 of the 3 nights), many many trumpet fish, a nurse shark, a large grouper, and several fish that locals had caught (and were more than happy to let us ridiculous tourists take several pictures of as we acted like we had never seen a fish before). All in all, the place was a big hit with my family and I highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stretch423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipsy Turtle Bar also viewed

Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Tipsy Turtle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing