We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best Christmas ever at Winta Cottage and...”
other travelers have booked this property
relax in the shade
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
relax in the shade
A guest, Sander Kean OceanPlanet.tv took this pictureital's just beautiful. Netflix
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
relax in the shade
A guest, Sander Kean OceanPlanet.tv took this pictureital's just beautiful.
Netflix
Lulled to sleep to the sounds of the Caribbean Sea lapping the shore.
loft w/ twins
loft w/Queen
Fully equipped kitchen w/concrete countertops
Comfy
open floor plan
spacious bathroom
leisure time
Great shady spot
Welcome and enjoy!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lynnskin
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Christmas ever at Winta Cottage and Cayman Brac.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
6
people found this review helpful

When I booked the cottage, I didn’t realize it was on the Brac, but am so happy that it was. Grand Cayman is commercialized with its over-crowded Seven Mile beach but the Brac is the complete opposite. Laid back and relaxing, it is the perfect place to unwind. The cottage exceeded our expectations. It was just my husband and I, but the space would have accommodated the kids upstairs in the roomy open loft. It was stocked with everything we needed and even had a Christmas tree and lights waiting for us. They have thought of everything. The wrap around porch was wonderful and we were able to catch the sunsets every night! Hammocks and lawn chairs on the beach with a grill for fresh fish. The beach is rocky but we walked a few houses down and were able to experience some great snorkeling right in front of the house. Bring your water shoes.
Snorkeling on the island is great with lots of place to try and the caves are worth exploring. Don’t’ miss Pete’s cave with the walk along the bluff to the lighthouse.
We tried the islands “hot spots” Star Island restaurant, Barry’s and Esperanza’s for jerk chicken, Brac Reef Resort for their nightly themed buffets and great bar (Tipsy Turtle) on the sandy beach. The best bar on the island has to be Barracuda’s…loved Vivian the bartender, she is a doll and everyone on the island knew here. Have her make her famous Barracuda’s shot, who knew a coffee rolled lime could be so good! She is Columbian after all!
If you need to stock up on any alcohol, please take the drive to Island Man Rum Shop. We tried Miss Mary Lou’s but she closed the doors 10 minutes early and wouldn’t let us in. The Rum Shop owner was on the way out and turned around, unlocked the doors and let us spend away. The best customer service ever!
We also had great service at Bluffview across the road from the cottage. Landed without bags on Christmas eve and she was open late with all the necessities.
Had a great trip to the Brac and can’t wait to return and call Winta Cottage home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The porch and the fabulous sunsets!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireille...
Middle Sackville, NS
1 review
“Lovely cottage with amazing view”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

It was everything we had hoped the cottage to be. It had a great location to the beach, snorkeling piers, amenities and restaurants. The main bedroom was just perfect with enough wind to keep us cool on those windy days. Even without the wind, we didn't need to turn on the air condition because the ceiling fan worked quite well. The kitchen has everything you need and the livingroom is nice a cosy. The only thing I would have wished different would have been able to access the ocean directly in front of the cottage but there were too many urchins. But only a 2 minute walk away or 5 minute drive and you are in a snokelers delight so it is not that huge of a negative.
Oh... make sure to visit the bakery for some coconut bread. Yum!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The access to ocean
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewed March 6, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David G
Monroe, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Right on the Shoreline With Nice Sunsets”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We went to Cayman Brac as a sort of last minute decision. We ended up staying in the Winta Cottage because many of the other rentals were either booked or out of our price range. Well, we were not sorry with our decision to stay here. We were met at the airport by someone to show us to the property and our car rental person. (B & S Motor Ventures). Both went smoothly. We have never stayed in a house on stilts before and I think we like it. There were no bugs. It may have been because we were up in the air or that there was a non-stop breeze. Don't know, but I'll take it. The breezes were so strong one night that we had to almost completely close the window in the bedroom, because it was blowing the sheets off of the bed. The sunset is viewable from the deck or on the shoreline. Very nice. There are two showers. One inside and the other on ground level, which we decided that we liked best. The living room was open to the second floor. There was a window airconditioner, but it wasn't installed. I do recall ceiling fans, but we never needed them. There also was no TV. There was WiFi.

Getting into the water can be a bit of a challenge. Part of the concern is the iron shore and the other is the Spiny black urchins. There are black urchins with long spines, like 6 inches or more and then there are ones with short spines, maybe 1 inch or less. If you wear foot protection, like swimming shoes, the little ones are not a problem. They hide in holes in the rock. If the big ones get ya, they will ruin your day. Neither of these are a concern solely at the cottage. They are a concern on most of the island. There are not many "proper" beaches on the entire island, but we did find probably three or so. If you go west of the cottage about 100 yards, there is a place where you can enter the water. Kind of a sandy bottom place. Not huge, but it will get you in the water safely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunsets
Liked least: Sometimes the salt spray collected on the screens
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewed June 28, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing