We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NON-DIVER...got married at the resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2006

The resort staff was more than helpful. They were all very warm and hospitable. As a non-diver we found plenty to do and also spent a lot of time just relaxing on the beach. The resort features a multitude of swinging hammocks at various locations on the beach and on the double decker pier. The food was out of this world!!!! It was a very tasty cuisine every morning and evening, with plenty of variety. The pastry chef spoiled us every night with several choices of desserts. It is definelty a nice respite, if you are looking to relax, this is your place. My husband and I got married on resort property on the beach. Trudy set up the appointment with the marriage officer and made sure everything was on track. Ed the photographer took wonderful pictures of us. My husband and I will definelty be back for more R&R.

p.s. The locals were great too...we ventured out one of the few bars on the other side of the island...very warm people.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank SonyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 705 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2006

My wife and I returned form our second stay at this resort this August. The experience was at least as good as the time we stayed nine years ago. The resort is basicly the same, with a few small improvements. Video Ed is still there. The rooms are still small clean motel type rooms. The boats are still extremely well maintained Newtons manned by well trained and attentive divemasters and captains.

This place is not exotic but it certainly is relaxing and offers great diving, food and companionship (heck there are fewer foreigners here than in our home of Atlanta)

Getting here is pretty hastle free though Island Air has given up their inter-island routes. Watch your connections in Grand Cayman. Most travelers leaving The Brac have to leave on the absurdly early 6:00am 737 flight as Cayman Airways does not have enough small flights leaving early.


While there were a few non divers. I do need to reinforce the nondivers comments from a few posts earlier. This a dive resort and while non divers will certainly find the place relaxing and friendly, there is really not much else to do on the island. If you like sitting on a pretty beach all day then you won't have a problem. Folks that need activities best try somewhere else.
Be aware that people will come to dinner in shorts and tank tops. Your dress shoes will stay in the closet. The night life consists of a few hardly soles hanging around the bar while most people turn in around dark to rest up for the next days dives.

A last note about the all inclusive feature. My wife and I rarely stay at all inclusives anymore, but I reccomend taking at least the breakfast and dinner plan here. There are not many other restaurants on the island and the one at this resort in our opinion is clearly the best on the island. I would stay away from the all inclusive alcohol plan here as I doubt if anyone but the hardest core boozer will drink their moneys worth.

C&E
Jeffserson, GA

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Clyderyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

Myself and two friends (we all live on Grand Cayman) stayed here for a weekend. We liked it so much we booked to go back for four days in a couple of weeks. The rooms are clean and comfortable and good a/c although note it is either on or off with no thermostat. Request the rooms with the balconies - they overlook the pool and down to the beach area (view of the sea mostly blocked by lots of well maintained palm trees). The staff at the hotel are excellent and the dive operation was professional and pretty much full service. They will set your gear up if you wish and bring it to the end of the boat just before you jump in so you dont have to waddle around the boat with your gear on. There is always a guide in the water as well and they stay in there for the duration. One of the people i went here with has done something like 4000 dives and used to work in the industry and even he was impressed!

The grounds of the hotel were very well kept - i noticed people cleaning or raking the sand etc constantly which is a good sign. Beach is very nice. There are also lots of hammocks, including two on a dual level 'gazebo' that is over the water. I spent a morning lounging in one with a book and it is total relaxation. There is no noise there except for the waves and the occasional plane taking off once every few hours. Snorkelling is ok - we did see rays etc from the gazebo but there is lots of turtle grass off the beach with sandy areas - often the water is only a foot deep so you end up finning through a fair bit of short turtle grass giving your chin a tickle.

One warning though - the neighbouring resort Divi Tiara has shut down. Expect the reef resort to be busy going forward, but with something like only 70 rooms you are still going to have a relaxing, quiet visit, especially if you take a couple of days off of diving - you will have the place to yourself. Just beware of the cooked breakfasts - it can be a bit stodgy although there is a good range of cereal, yoghurt, omlette, bagels etc to start the day.

So long as you dont expect a 5 star resort (it is a dive resort - practicality is much more important) you will have a great time at the Brac Reef.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jcm9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2006

My wife and I returned home this past week from a wonderful 7 night stay at the Brac Reef, July 15-22. We didn't go to Cayman Brac looking for large hotel amenities, fine dining, nightlife and a wide variety of excursions. We were, however, looking for tranquility...an escape from pagers, blackberries, cellular phones and all that is inherent in a big city lifestyle.

...and the Brac Reef provided a wonderful retreat, easliy the most relaxing vacation we have taken to date.

The Brac Reef is a quaint resort consisting of a mere 40 rooms, 10 of which have terraces (upper level) overlooking the pool and a sandy beachfront. The rooms are clean, the property well maintained and the staff, pleasant. The two level pier is a great place to take in the Cayman Brac sunrise while enjoying that first cup of cofee. It is also a great location for snorkeling at night among the Tarpon and Southern Stingray.

We only dined outside the resort twice, once at The Captain's Table and the other, Aunt Sha's. We, however, favored the food at the resort, whether opting for the bar menu or the buffett.

Reef Divers, Brac Reef's dive operation, was top-notch... professional crew and very nice Newton dive boats. Vicki, Donnie, Rob and Josh provided a memorable experience. My 18 dives were well diversified with Wilderness Wall, Buccaneer Reef, Schoolhouse Wall, Treehouse and the Russian Frigate, Capt. Keith Tibbets my particular favorites. The average water temperatures were 84-86 degrees F with visibility well beyond 100'. The only disappointment was not having the opportunity to dive Little Cayman's Bloody Bay Wall.

Well, if you're looking for serenity...the Brac Reef, Cayman Brac delivers.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank O'Malley&Nala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

Found Brac Reef to be a nice, clean resort, with a WONDERFUL staff. The grounds were beautiful, and were constantly being maintained...this was in contrast to a couple of the other resorts we saw on walks on the beach.

The only issue that I had with Brac Reef is that if you are not a diver, you will feel like a fish out of water at this resort. (This, however, is fairly indictive of the island itself.) All of the activities are geared to divers, with the only thing left for non-divers to do is to lay out by the pool or on the beach, hang out at the bar, or watch TV in the room. For me to go back to not only Brac Reef, but also to Cayman Brac itself, I would need to see something to break up the monotony for non-divers.

Overall, a caveat for anyone considering going to Cayman Islands...if you are not going on a dive package, Grand Cayman is a better option than Cayman Brac. If visiting the Brac, however, I would recommend Brac Reef as a nice, value-priced accomodation.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2006

9  Thank noshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank donscott4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cayman Brac Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Brac Beach Resort

Address: 383 Channel Road, Cayman Brac (Formerly Brac Reef Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range: $150 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Brac Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover more than 100 unique reef, wall & wreck dives sites where divers can experience an unforgettable adventure. Our resort is complemented by Reef Divers Valet Diving, which takes care of all of the lugging & loading of your dive gear, as you ride on our custom-built Newton dive fleet. This special resort service is a courtesy to guests, creating the most memorable diving experience. For a true one-of-a-kind diving adventure, the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brac Reef Beach Hotel Cayman Brac
Brac Reef Beach Cayman
Brac Reef Beach Resort
Cayman Brac Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing