We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed until mid 2009”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Certificate of Excellence
SteelerTraveller
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Closed until mid 2009”
Reviewed March 3, 2009

This resort was severely damaged by the November 2008 hurricane and tornados that struck the island. I was just there Feb-March 2009. Many, many beaches on the island are gone. Hurricane debris and damage at every turn. Make alternate plans.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteelerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    151
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
66
221
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

The Brac Reef offers a great private retreat to the recreational scuba diver. This quaint older property is kept extremely clean throughout and you are sure to make new friends with divers and staff alike by the end of the week! Unfortunately, the well-known double decker pier is destroyed and no longer functional… currently a reminder of Hurricane Gustav. It will be reconstructed later this year.

Divers love to eat, drink and nap after a day of diving, so I recommend napping to the sound of waves in the swinging hammocks located right next to the water or use the floating pool mats (with drink in hand)! The rum punches are great… super smooth and sneaky. Palm trees and nature debris clean up was still underway, but didn't negatively interfere with our stay. I was, however, surprised to see no one cleaned up the sea grass along the shore near the piers as it looked bad and was full of sand fleas. See for the eagle ray swimming around the piers at dawn!

Our divemasters for the entire week were Ian and Barbie who are awesome. Try to get Barbie on your boat! She’s a blast! “Love Your Buddy!” The valet service spoiled us rotten! Get a full-body massage at the spa… it is fabulous and your muscles will appreciate the attention!

The food was fantastic! Although I’m not one, Vegetarians should be thrilled at the variety of non-meat options. The soups and desserts were a favorite by everyone and we actually gained weight while there. No fridge in the rooms. Candy bars, chips, soda & bottled water available near the lobby.

Leave a memento by painting a rock, shell or piece of wood. The ground is littered with evidence of great times from those who came before.

Diving was wonderful and the weather fabulous. There is really nothing much else to do on the island (we rode bikes and rented a car so we know this to be true). But, if you want fabulous dive sites throughout the week in a laid-back tropical setting with good food, fun times and interesting people, then the Brac Reef is THE place to be. See my photos to see and believe.

  • Liked — Diving, Privacy, Food, Beach, Friendliness, Natural Setting
  • Disliked — Double Beds, Sea Grass on Beach, Check Out at Dive Shop (Unorganized)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Odumland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We had an absolutely fabulous time at the Brac Reef Resort! The diving was first-rate...if you've never tried "valet diving" you'll never want to do any other kind. We felt really spoiled. The food was excellent and the staff is pleasant, professional and great. While the resort itself is older, it is well-maintained and small enough to feel intimate and friendly. We intend to go back as often as we can.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dive_G0ddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We went the week after Gustav hit the island and the week Ike went thru Cuba. We lost two days of diving, but the resort and the dive operation went the extra mile to make our stay great.

Our package was 3 meals, 7 nights, and 17 dives. One day the boats could not go out because of rough seas due to Ike, but the dive shop arranged for two shore dives that day. Then the next day they also did an extra dive to try to make up for the lost dives.

Food is excellent, buffet style, lots of choices of food and desserts. It seemed that we just ate, sleep and dive, every day. We gained weight.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and try to help you with everything you need and make your stay pleasurable. This is mainly a dive resort.

  • Liked — Work very closely with Dive operation and it is in the property. Very helpful and friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank czapata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Returned to Brac Reef Resort as it is on my short list of places to return to when I want to be sure that you will have a good time. With the Resort’s dedication to diving, you meet up with some great people and you always learn more with other divers to chat with. The week could have started badly when I discovered that my recently “serviced” 2nd stage was filling with water. Tim (aka. Mr. Fix-it) at the dive shop corrected the problem and showed me how to take care of it myself in the future.
The Dive Masters, Ian, Suzie, Mick and Chloe, on our boat Ocean Sister were exceptional and I was hearing the same about the Dive Masters on the other boats in Reef Diver‘s well equipped fleet. And the valet service makes getting in the water so much easier and probably a lot safer than having a dozen weighted divers waddling across the deck.
Favorite sites included Capt. Tibbetts Wreck and the trip over to Bloody Bay off Little Cayman. And the Night Dive is not to be missed.
I completed the Nitrox class with Dive Master Chloe and under her instruction I had no problem scoring 100% on the written test.
Overall, Reef Divers on Cayman Brac appears to be well run. The thoughtful staff makes an effort to address guests by name. Some helpful advice I would give is to guests is to try and learn the Dive Master’s names and mark your gear in a way they can ID it and bring it to you.
There is good coordination between the Dive-op and the Restaurant, even adjusting hours for night dive days. Food ranged between excellent and super-excellent. The accommodations are spacious rooms with divers in mind with plenty of places to hang wet stuff. The only disappointment was the way the week flew by and all too soon it was time to dry off the gear and pack it away for the flight home.

  • Liked — Quality accomodations with an excellent Dive Shop and excellent Dive Sites Close-by.
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nautibeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

The Resort and Reef Divers were great. Unfortunately our trip was delayed by hurricane Gustav which hit the island on 08/30. We had to wait several days before we were allowed on the island. The resort was ready for us but the island was closed to visitors.
When we were finally allowed on the island, the resort went the extra mile to make our stay pleasant. The food was very good and plenty to eat for both meat eaters and veggie heads.
They cleaned up the resort pretty fast for the damage that had occured from Gustav. It was sad to see their double decker dock took most of the damage and was unusable.

Reef Divers also quickly got their boats running and treated us great. The diving was fun and did not want to leave.

The negatives: Cayman Airlines seemed to jerk us around when trying to get to Brac. First we can go, then they said no. When trying to reschedule our flights, we were told they were all booked up. There was one person from our group that got on an early flight and said the plane was empty. We finally waited for standby and got there.

Except for the hassle of trying to get there after the hurricane, the trip was excellent. I know there was a hurricane and they had to take care of the damage but some straight communication would have been good.

  • Liked — Diving and the food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kliscinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We just got back from a week Brac Reef Resort. Our package (7 nights/3 meals/3 dives/3 drinks per day) was a decent value. Though we usually like to explore the local cuisine/culture, we were really happy with the all-inclusive package. Cayman Brac is so small and only seems to have about 3 or 4 restaurants - after a full day of diving it would have been a chore to go find dinner!

The resort was simple but clean and comfortable, with a courteous and helpful staff. They are in the process of building a new bar that I think will block the ocean view from some rooms, which is a shame.

The food was very good. A nice variety of salads, fish and meats at every meal...and the desserts were outstanding. I don't eat meat and I was able to find something tasty at every meal. The restaurant and bar staff were so friendly and they knew us after just one day. Great service!

The real reason to go to The Brac is of course the diving...Reef Divers was the most professional dive operation I've been with in over 10 years of diving. Their “valet” service was a pleasure – just roll out of bed, grab some breakfast, show up at the boat, jump in the water and start breathing! After each dive, they change your tanks and then make sure your gear is dunked and ready to go for the next day. The boats are big, comfortable and well-equipped (I liked the fresh-water hose on the boat to rinse off after each dive). The divemasters draw a sketch of the site on a white board and give an elaborate briefing before each dive. You have the option of buddy-diving or following the divemaster. The divemasters usually go up before the divers, so if you stay with them the whole time you will have shorter dives...this was a concern for me before getting there, but even when we followed the divemaster, we never had a problem as there was always something interesting to see when we got back to the mooring. The divemasters were always looking for ways to make your experience better, whether on the boat or in the water.

They have a great dive shop just in case you forget something, and their resident “photo guy” goes on each boat once a week and takes professional photos and a video of your dive that day (it was free with our dive package, but so good that we would have bought it anyway)...They keep you on the same dive boat all week, so you're with the same divemasters and divers, which adds a comfort level. We had a really good group of people on our boat, so that made the experience much more fun.

The grounds were clean and there were hammocks scattered about the property for relaxing in the afternoon...not a great beach for swimming, though - many urchins and sea grass. They have a nice tradition of guests leaving a painted rock behind as a memento of your trip...and there are hundreds all over the resort!

As they say, we will definitely go "back to the Brac."

  • Liked — Not too fancy but great service
  • Disliked — Their beach
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayman Brac
5.5 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
74 reviews
12.9 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Brac Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Brac Beach Resort

Property: Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Address: 383 Channel Road, Cayman Brac (Formerly Brac Reef Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Brac Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover more than 100 unique reef, wall & wreck dives sites where divers can experience an unforgettable adventure. Our resort is complemented by Reef Divers Valet Diving, which takes care of all of the lugging & loading of your dive gear, as you ride on our custom-built Newton dive fleet. This special resort service is a courtesy to guests, creating the most memorable diving experience. For a true one-of-a-kind diving adventure, the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brac Reef Beach Hotel Cayman Brac
Brac Reef Beach Cayman
Brac Reef Beach Resort
Cayman Brac Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing