We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not for value for money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but not for value for money”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Brac Reef Resort is situated on the other side of the runway from the airport. A taxi ride from the airport costs US$9/CI$7. As with most hotels in the Cayman Islands, it’s situated on its own beach. However, the beach isn’t great for sea-bathing as there are rocks and reefs close to shore. You can only enter the water up to about thigh deep. It is, however, good for snorkelling and the area is great for scuba diving if that’s your thing.

The rooms are decent but nothing to write home about. There are only a few channels on TV and the signal reception isn’t great. The service in the hotel is mixed: some people were very friendly and gave great service whereas others were decidedly average. Breakfast was a decent affair with a waffle and omelette station, variety of fruits and fruit juices, cereals, breads/bagels, sausages, bacon, eggs, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. I didn’t eat dinner or lunch there but did order food from the bar. That was decent. The hotel also has a guest laundry service where you can wash and dry your own clothes. It’s $2 per load (washer and dryer each). If you have the hotel do it, it’s $12. There are no dry cleaning services on the island (or so I was told).

The hotel provides free wi-fi throughout the hotel. It’s not particularly fast though. Just good enough to do the basics of checking email and the like. Overall the hotel is a pleasant stay but I’m not convinced that it is good value for money. At $120 per night I’d expect a bit more. I’m not sure what the other hotels cost on the island though. It may be that that is the norm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudders08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    151
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
66
221
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Words cannot describe how much I enjoyed my visit to BRBR. It is, by far, the best vacation I have ever experienced. The setting is absolutely beautiful. The accommodations are superb. The dining is excellent. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Scuba diving is my passion. The sites on Brac offer an incredible variety of underwater options, from beautiful walls to awesome swim-throughs to gorgeous shallower coral fingers and sand channels. I cannot remember when I've seen more sea turtles.

Great diving, superlative dining, impeccable service and Caribbean hospitality.

Special kudos to my new friends: Leanna, Mirna, Tom, Dennis, Junior, Joanne & Jinky. They made my surface intervals very comfortable.

Especial thanks to Hellen, Barbie, Mick, Erik, Beccy and Steve at Reef Divers.

See you next year.

Room Tip: The lower rooms allow direct access to the beach and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rummy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful time. 10 days of tropical beauty with outstanding diving.

If your lucky you will get the Coral Sister and crew. Barb, BJ and John are fantastic. There is nothing like being greeted every morning with big smiles and genuine excitement about the day ahead. They asked what we wanted to see that day, then did their best to show us. I'm still in awe over Psycho the Eel. Free swimming along with the divers, following John like a dog. Amazing.... Of course, I cannot forget seeing my first hammerhead with BJ, and to top that a flying gaunard.

Can't say enough about the diving and our crew.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank scubalover70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was my first visit to this resort and my 3rd visit to Cayman Brac. The grounds were very well maintained and clean. Every meal was buffet style, which is not my preference but the food was really enjoyable with a fair amount of variety. If you just need a cheeseburger, you can bust out and order that cheeseburger in paradise at the bar. Minor complaint is that the kitchen doesn't open until 7:00 and I prefer my 1st cup of coffee earlier. I could have brewed a cup in the room but didn't. There are kayaks and bicycles to rent for non-divers or non-diving days.

For divers, the onsite Reef Divers operation is one of the better I've had the pleasure to meet. The Dive Masters were truly fun to be around. The diving itself seems to have degraded from 20 years ago when I first visited the island. I think it is due to predation by the introduced lionfish. I remember a lot more angelfish in previous visits. Nonetheless, still a great location.

Word of caution, the wifi is sloooow.

Room Tip: Second story room have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

OMG what a great way to spend time diving. we have been her two weeks and booyah! Dive staff is unbelievable, service is above and beyond! If you just want to dive this is the place to come and stay. the locals are great, market down the road, great historic sites to visit.

Room Tip: if you have knee or back ask for a bottom room by the pool. otherwise all the rooms are great and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Every detail was perfect. The rooms were nice and clean,and the diving was the best anywhere.
I would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a dive vacation. The food was excellent and always fresh.The staff from both the hotel and dive shop took care of your every need. If you want that pampered feeling than this is the place. We have visited this property many times over the years and have never been disappointed . W

Room Tip: It doesn't matter the room,your never in it . They always have something to do
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liptovsky Mikulas, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I had never stayed in a resort before, so coming to Brac Reef I did not know what to expect but I was pleasantly suprised. The service was excelent. My room was extremly clean, spacious, there was everything I needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was well prepared, tasty, different kinds every day, so everybody could choose what they wanted. Tipsy Turtle bar was a great place to hang out and meet people. There was a dive shop close by, so I could go on a boat with divers and snorkel. The resort offers bike rentals, which was important to me, because I could explore an island my own way. Although I usually travel on budget, I paid a bit more at this resort {still a good deal though}, but it was worth every penny. I would definitely recommend this resort and I must say it is already a popular one. I have met many people who had been at this resort many times before and they are still coming back......

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 305Marcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayman Brac
5.5 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
74 reviews
12.9 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Brac Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Brac Beach Resort

Property: Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Address: 383 Channel Road, Cayman Brac (Formerly Brac Reef Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Brac Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover more than 100 unique reef, wall & wreck dives sites where divers can experience an unforgettable adventure. Our resort is complemented by Reef Divers Valet Diving, which takes care of all of the lugging & loading of your dive gear, as you ride on our custom-built Newton dive fleet. This special resort service is a courtesy to guests, creating the most memorable diving experience. For a true one-of-a-kind diving adventure, the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brac Reef Beach Hotel Cayman Brac
Brac Reef Beach Cayman
Brac Reef Beach Resort
Cayman Brac Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing