We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On My Short List of Places to Return to.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Returned to Brac Reef Resort as it is on my short list of places to return to when I want to be sure that you will have a good time. With the Resort’s dedication to diving, you meet up with some great people and you always learn more with other divers to chat with. The week could have started badly when I discovered that my recently “serviced” 2nd stage was filling with water. Tim (aka. Mr. Fix-it) at the dive shop corrected the problem and showed me how to take care of it myself in the future.
The Dive Masters, Ian, Suzie, Mick and Chloe, on our boat Ocean Sister were exceptional and I was hearing the same about the Dive Masters on the other boats in Reef Diver‘s well equipped fleet. And the valet service makes getting in the water so much easier and probably a lot safer than having a dozen weighted divers waddling across the deck.
Favorite sites included Capt. Tibbetts Wreck and the trip over to Bloody Bay off Little Cayman. And the Night Dive is not to be missed.
I completed the Nitrox class with Dive Master Chloe and under her instruction I had no problem scoring 100% on the written test.
Overall, Reef Divers on Cayman Brac appears to be well run. The thoughtful staff makes an effort to address guests by name. Some helpful advice I would give is to guests is to try and learn the Dive Master’s names and mark your gear in a way they can ID it and bring it to you.
There is good coordination between the Dive-op and the Restaurant, even adjusting hours for night dive days. Food ranged between excellent and super-excellent. The accommodations are spacious rooms with divers in mind with plenty of places to hang wet stuff. The only disappointment was the way the week flew by and all too soon it was time to dry off the gear and pack it away for the flight home.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nautibeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 733 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2008

The Resort and Reef Divers were great. Unfortunately our trip was delayed by hurricane Gustav which hit the island on 08/30. We had to wait several days before we were allowed on the island. The resort was ready for us but the island was closed to visitors.
When we were finally allowed on the island, the resort went the extra mile to make our stay pleasant. The food was very good and plenty to eat for both meat eaters and veggie heads.
They cleaned up the resort pretty fast for the damage that had occured from Gustav. It was sad to see their double decker dock took most of the damage and was unusable.

Reef Divers also quickly got their boats running and treated us great. The diving was fun and did not want to leave.

The negatives: Cayman Airlines seemed to jerk us around when trying to get to Brac. First we can go, then they said no. When trying to reschedule our flights, we were told they were all booked up. There was one person from our group that got on an early flight and said the plane was empty. We finally waited for standby and got there.

Except for the hassle of trying to get there after the hurricane, the trip was excellent. I know there was a hurricane and they had to take care of the damage but some straight communication would have been good.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kliscinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We just got back from a week Brac Reef Resort. Our package (7 nights/3 meals/3 dives/3 drinks per day) was a decent value. Though we usually like to explore the local cuisine/culture, we were really happy with the all-inclusive package. Cayman Brac is so small and only seems to have about 3 or 4 restaurants - after a full day of diving it would have been a chore to go find dinner!

The resort was simple but clean and comfortable, with a courteous and helpful staff. They are in the process of building a new bar that I think will block the ocean view from some rooms, which is a shame.

The food was very good. A nice variety of salads, fish and meats at every meal...and the desserts were outstanding. I don't eat meat and I was able to find something tasty at every meal. The restaurant and bar staff were so friendly and they knew us after just one day. Great service!

The real reason to go to The Brac is of course the diving...Reef Divers was the most professional dive operation I've been with in over 10 years of diving. Their “valet” service was a pleasure – just roll out of bed, grab some breakfast, show up at the boat, jump in the water and start breathing! After each dive, they change your tanks and then make sure your gear is dunked and ready to go for the next day. The boats are big, comfortable and well-equipped (I liked the fresh-water hose on the boat to rinse off after each dive). The divemasters draw a sketch of the site on a white board and give an elaborate briefing before each dive. You have the option of buddy-diving or following the divemaster. The divemasters usually go up before the divers, so if you stay with them the whole time you will have shorter dives...this was a concern for me before getting there, but even when we followed the divemaster, we never had a problem as there was always something interesting to see when we got back to the mooring. The divemasters were always looking for ways to make your experience better, whether on the boat or in the water.

They have a great dive shop just in case you forget something, and their resident “photo guy” goes on each boat once a week and takes professional photos and a video of your dive that day (it was free with our dive package, but so good that we would have bought it anyway)...They keep you on the same dive boat all week, so you're with the same divemasters and divers, which adds a comfort level. We had a really good group of people on our boat, so that made the experience much more fun.

The grounds were clean and there were hammocks scattered about the property for relaxing in the afternoon...not a great beach for swimming, though - many urchins and sea grass. They have a nice tradition of guests leaving a painted rock behind as a memento of your trip...and there are hundreds all over the resort!

As they say, we will definitely go "back to the Brac."

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lesli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Everything that has been said already is true. Great food, Comfortable clean rooms (well air conditioned), Friendly staff and great diving.
You won't be dissapointed if you choose Brac Reef Resort.

Awsome dock and pier, Can be seen in photos! Save your bread from dinner for the Tarpon that show up nightly. The beach and hammocks are very relaxing after a long day of diving. Swimming off the beach on the otherhand is almost nonexistant. There is a fringing reef about 200 yrds out and between the reef and the beach the water is only waste deep at best and loaded with sea urchins.

The dive operation Reef Divers is very good. Very friendly professional staff. It is trully vallet diving. They set up your gear and bring it to you at the back of the boat and take it from you when you get back on board. At the end of the day they hose off your gear and it is set for the next day. Your gear never leaves the boat. The only dissapointment was both night dives were canceld due to rough seas getting out of the channel. I don't know if this was true but that was the answer given at the time.
Our boat captain (will remain nameless as to not get him / her in trouble) Said he / she didn't see a problem but it was canceld none the less. The final desision to go is made by management not the captains.

If you are a diver looking for Great plentiful food, Clean cool rooms and great diving you will not be dissapointed.

P.S.
Be sure to ask Omar for a Bob Marley!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ScubaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We just returned from the Brac (June 22 -28, 2008) where we celebrated our 25th anniversary. We could not of had a better time anywhere in the world! The diving was fantastic and the whole concept of "Valet Diving " with the crew from Reef Divers on the Coral Sister (Ian and B.J.) was top notch. The food was unbelievable. Our most heartfelt thanks to all and we will be "back to the Brac" as soon as we can free our schedules. Highly recommended for a "live aboard" dive vacation on land. Simply the best! Pack light and enjoy 100ft+ visability and some of the most professional divemasters we have ever encountered. The dive sites are pristine. If you want to dive and enjoy incredible food you need to book this resort. Make sure you get the 3 dives per day and the breakfast/lunch/dinner meal plan. You will NOT regret it!! We were almost in tears when we had to leave. We can't wait to "get back to the Brac" Happy Diving

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cindarelly4au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

My wife and I had read so many great reviews about Brac Reef Beach Resort that we had to give it a try. I thought it was no way it could be as good as advertised. Boy was I WRONG! The resort was very clean. Our room was comfortable with plenty of hot water and the air conditioning was plenty cool. But the food? I don't see how they can create such gourmet food and still serve it buffet style. The food was simply awesome! It's the best I've ever had at a resort. If you don't like the food, something is seriously wrong with you. Now on to the diving. Ian and Barb were our guides/captains/friends for the week and they are TOP NOTCH. Believe what you read about the valet diving. The sites around the island are varied and interesting. The boats are large and comfortable.

As a matter of fact, we had such a great time that I just booked a return trip for this November. We weren't planning to take another trip this fall but I can't pass up the 2 for 1 deal they have going.

Come visit "The Brac" and see what you have been missing.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BDSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Resort was great....we had a group of 23 divers, of which the staff and management accommodated every need. Dive shop and staff were professional, courteous and lots of fun, even hung around into the evenings with the guests. Several of us have traveled together before and agreed this was best place yet. Is valet diving, don't have to touch your gear (except mask) from day one until you pack. Boats were easy on and easy off, well stocked with an upper deck for sightseeing. Dive staff was informative and well prepared.

Room was comfortable, clean and had really good A/C. Can rent a small fridge for room (was $5 a night). Plenty of hot water. Computer in lobby, well stocked gift shop. Had a BBQ night, movie night, Karaoke and a manager's welcome party with traditional rum punch and munchies.

Buffets were plentiful, varied and delicious. Should check the desserts before you load up on the meal. Fresh fruits, salads and veggies at all meals, good selections. Vegetarians in our group were equally as pleased as the meat eaters. First dive trip that we gained weight....they have menu dining as well as room service.

The setting is beautiful, the island itself reflected a local pride by its neatness and cleanliness. Worth renting a car for no dive day and checking out caves, bluffs and walking trails.

Resort has bikes for general use. Pool was fresh water and again, very clean with lounge chairs, covered tables and towels (at front desk or dive shop). Spa has two rooms, services were first class, can even get massage on top of dock over looking water. Also has a professional dive photo shop, with photographer on premisis if you have a camera question or problem.

Return flight to Grand Cayman was really early, manager was at front desk at 4:15 am, with coffee, juice and muffins. Understand flight time is going to change and will be more reasonable in the very near future.

Have been to at least 12 other "dive resorts" throughout Gulf and Caribbean, this is first one I would go back to again, tomorrow!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CBailey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cayman Brac Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Brac Beach Resort

Address: 383 Channel Road, Cayman Brac (Formerly Brac Reef Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range: $150 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Brac Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover more than 100 unique reef, wall & wreck dives sites where divers can experience an unforgettable adventure. Our resort is complemented by Reef Divers Valet Diving, which takes care of all of the lugging & loading of your dive gear, as you ride on our custom-built Newton dive fleet. This special resort service is a courtesy to guests, creating the most memorable diving experience. For a true one-of-a-kind diving adventure, the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brac Reef Beach Hotel Cayman Brac
Brac Reef Beach Cayman
Brac Reef Beach Resort
Cayman Brac Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing