We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat this one!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cayman Brac Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard to beat this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I have been diving for 8 years now, and have done quite a few dive resort vacations, but this resort/dive operation would be really hard to beat. The resort itself is very nice, the rooms are all poolside, and the service is unequaled. The dive operation is top notch! Hats off to Brett and B.J. The food is out of this world! All this and the friendliest, most helpful people in the Caribbean. BRBR takes the #1 spot as far as dive resorts go. I read some of the bad reviews on TA, and wonder where these people stayed, because it wasn't here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyfever53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    148
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
61
217
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I just spent a week at Brac Reef. We were part of a group of 22 divers. We have been all over the world diving and there is usually something to complain about... Not here. Great carribean diving, clean room, excellent food, curtious and frieldly resort staff, friendly and professional dive masters and all at a reasonable all-inclusive price.

The diving was great, the water was warm and clear, the reef life plentiful. We had large Nasau groupers following us around on almost every dive. This is because the dive masters shoot any lionfish they can and feed them to the grouper (lionfish are an invasive exotic fish in the carribean).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bull Shoals, Arkansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Brac Reef in late September. The staff is fabulous, friendly and hospitable. The food is served buffet style with lots of excellent choices. The room was well maintained; sadly the firm bed was not comfortable and made for achy morning backs. There is a small pool which is nice for relaxing after a morning dive. We enjoyed lunch and drinks at the bar. The resort caters to divers which is why we went and would return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
355 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a great week at the Reef Resort and spent most of my time on the hammocks on the beach. Whether you come for the diving or the solitude, you will have a great stay. The staff are extremely 'homely' and friendly and go the extra mile. Rooms were good and as others have stated a few 'edges' but nothing that distracts from the relaxing atmosphere of the resort.

Food is fresh, plentiful and delicious. You will need to diet before you go. The bar has snacks served until 9pm and again, good quality and quantity. The conversations around the bar are mainly dive related but there are activities every night.

Would I recommend the Reef to friends and family... Of course.
Would I revisit... looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

After a few room changes, we had a great time. It was a lovely hotel with evening activities for some fun. The dining room served wonderful food with service personnel with a great memory for their guests' preferences and lovely attention to detail. The grounds are very nice and are right on the beach. There is a small pool and coin-operated laundry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had good memories of diving in Little Cayman in 2002 and 2005 so we thought we’d try Cayman Brac. We flew Heathrow to Grand Cayman (via a stop in Nassau) and stayed overnight at the Sunshine Suites (good) before getting the Cayman Air prop plane to Cayman Brac.

The standard of the Brac Reef Resort was very high with excellent rooms and food (although we’d have liked some less sweet and cakey desserts). This was good as one couldn’t get to anything else except on the complimentary bicycles or by hire car. There was free wi-fi throughout the Resort (as there had been at the airports). The only real downside was that it was impossible to swim or snorkel off the beach as the water was shallow and there was lots of sea grass, plus sea urchins. Virtually all the other guests were from the USA or Canada. There were evening activities eg open air film shows and crab racing.

There were three big and well fitted dive boats and the rental kit was new and included weight-integrated BCDs which are much preferable, in my opinion, to wearing a weight belt. A slight leak in my high pressure hose was rectified immediately. Unfortunately, though, nitrox was expensive at $10 a fill so we dived on air. This was “valet” diving at its best! Tanks were always carried and changed by the dive leaders, so you just sat at the stern and waited to have your kit brought to you before jumping into the blue, blue sea. As there were only two dive leaders per boat, though, the implication was that the one in the water returned to the mooring after only 30 minutes so as to be back on the boat to help as the divers surfaced (although most of the buddy pairs explored on their own and only a few of us tried to follow the leader). The water was an amazing 30˚C even at depth; I wore a 3mm shortie, whilst many wore even less. By the last day the sea was as calm and smooth as glass.

The “viz” was good-excellent and the diving conditions very easy despite being varied. There were walls and shallower, flatter sites, all within moments of the dock. An unusually “long” ride of 15 minutes took us to the Keith Tibbetts wreck (a Russian gun boat brought from Cuba and sunk to form an artificial reef).

There were lots of big and very tame groupers that followed us around throughout our dives and loved being stroked (a slightly slimy sensation but not unpleasant). This was partly because the dive leaders speared lion fish to feed them. We also saw plenty of reef sharks and barracudas and, on one dive in particular, about 20 big tarpon which were going nowhere fast and just hung around waiting to be photographed. We saw some reef squid, turtles, lobsters, sting/eagle rays and a free-swimming green moray .... plus, of course, lots of colourful fish. We watched jaw fish coming vertically out of their holes in the sand and learned to identify bright green, blue or white lettuce leaf slugs. Having said that, we didn’t think that the fish were as plentiful as our hazy memories of Little Cayman and, although there were large barrel sponges and lilac sea fans, my buddy pointed out the lack of the very colourful soft corals seen in the Red Sea and the Indian Ocean.

We hired a car (minimum hire period 24 hours, driving on the left) to explore the island but, to be honest, there was not a lot to see.

Overall, the negatives were minor and we’d definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurza_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I went with a group of 10 for a dive week and stayed at Brac Reef Resort. The rooms while not large were updated, comfortable, and most important very clean. The air conditioner has a minimum setting of 70 which should be comfortable for most but a couple in our group thought the rooms were warm. You can not beat the view and options to simply sit back and relax be it the hammocks by the ocean or by the pool. The hotel does nightly events to provide some entertainment as there is little else to do in the area. Most people congregate around the nice outdoor bar int he evenings and share stories of their days diving.
The best part was the food. I have been to a number of dive resorts around the caribbean and found Brac Reef to have the best quality and selection of food. The deserts were also excellent. W had a very early flight out and the night before while paying the account (a little different but not a problem) they gave everyone a back with a muffin and apple for the morning so we had something to eat. A nice touch. The dive shop I will review separately.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brad c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayman Brac
5.5 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
12.8 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Peter's Bay
Saint Peter's Bay
#5 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Brac Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Brac Beach Resort

Property: Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Address: 383 Channel Road, Cayman Brac (Formerly Brac Reef Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Brac Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover more than 100 unique reef, wall & wreck dives sites where divers can experience an unforgettable adventure. Our resort is complemented by Reef Divers Valet Diving, which takes care of all of the lugging & loading of your dive gear, as you ride on our custom-built Newton dive fleet. This special resort service is a courtesy to guests, creating the most memorable diving experience. For a true one-of-a-kind diving adventure, the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brac Reef Beach Hotel Cayman Brac
Brac Reef Beach Cayman
Brac Reef Beach Resort
Cayman Brac Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing