We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayman Brac Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Save
You added Cayman Brac Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dive Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a small place not big enough to be called a island. The resort is about 200 yards to the side of the end of the runway, which dominates the Brac. Airport noise is almost nill in that there are 1 or 2 flights a day. You can bicycle around the brac in less than an hour. The resort is small also, maybe 50 rooms, a dinning room, a pool, bar, dock, SCUBA center, and beach. I was on a Dive Shop trip with 15 others, so we had our own boat. Excellent reefs. Great diving, great boat, great crew. You sit on a bench at the stern the crew brings your gear, you strap on and step in. On return, at the top of the ladder the crew takes your gear and returns it to your spot on board. Freedom to dive, best prebriefs ever, then stay with the DM or go with your buddy. Excellent food and seconds. Best operation in the caribbean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diverjoe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    132
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
58
195
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

There is just no place like this resort. Talk about a room with a view! Snorting boat is well equipped and folks are eager to help. Last nights Barbeque and band were incredible. I feel God and his beautiful nature here....
Sure hope I don't have to wait 3 years to come back here

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank8675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I traveled to Cayman Brac for a wedding and stayed here; the wedding was also at the hotel. I was not pleased when we first got here, as the hotel bills itself as a "resort" but has very little amenities that a resort would offer. Over time the place grew on me. The hotel itself is small, 40 or so rooms, with one small pool. The room we stayed in on the second floor was dated (no fridge, microwave, or closet) and decorated with shabby furniture and wall art. However, the room was clean and our cleaning woman was friendly. One annoying thing was that our AC was programmed to go no lower than 70 degrees, which sucked during the hot and muggy nights. After a couple of days, we realized that practically everyone (other than us) was there for diving. So, the hotel and beach are virtually dead during the day. The beach has a couple of hammocks in shaded enclosures. But, you cannot swim in the water, as it is extremely rocky; obviously disappointing for us. As for food, we didn't eat at the buffet but opted to eat at The Tipsy Turtle Pub, which is basically like bar food, with some decent selections. The wait staff there are extremely friendly and nice. Overall, if you are not a diver and want a secluded beach hideaway, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Try a Savanna Dry cider at the Tipsy Turtle Pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I visited Cayman Brac again on a short trip, but nevertheless I was taken away by the beauty of nature and the friendliness of the people. We stayed in room #113 and we had a lot of space to move around. We took advantage of the cool breeze while lying in the hammocks, taking in the view of the calm sea and the beautiful sky. The restaurant at the hotel (The Palm) served a heartwarming breakfast for a reasonable price. The chef and the waitress were extremely friendly and down to earth. Due to our flight schedule we need a late check-out and we were accommodated without a problem. The rooms and the grounds were very clean and quiet. The staff was knowledgeable of their product and did an excellent job while sharing information. We used a rental vehicle to drive around the island to see more of the island’s beauty. For dinner, we had delicious jerk chicken with fresh bread made right there on the island. We truly enjoyed our stay and of course we have already made plans to revisit to fishing, explore more caves and to have some fun. The Reef on Cayman Brac is a great place to visit with your family if you want peace and tranquility

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paint_Master263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We traveled to Cayman Brac to experience the top rated diving we had heard so much about. Diving and family time were our priorities, but we also liked the idea of exploring the island and experiencing the local people and culture. We meet all of our objectives and will treasure our memories of the island paradise we encountered on Cayman Brac.

The Brac Reef Resort is absolutely an excellent property, expertly run and staffed by genuinely friendly, helpful, people. The quest room we stayed in was very clean and my standards are tough to meet. Plenty spacious for the three of us and all our gear for a week. No tripping over suitcases or bumping into each other at every turn. For a small island this was a huge surprise. The pool and grounds are also extremely well maintained. Loved the beach side hammocks, massage therapist and bicycles too.

The on site Reef Divers are nothing short of fantastic. The boats are large and comfortable. Well maintained and expertly captained. Brett and Dan made diving at Brac awesome. They take care of every detail and smile continuously, day after day, diver after diver. Kudos to them. The reefs are perfect for recreational diving. Beautiful, healthy, lots of marine life and mostly in the 40 - 60' depth, wall dives deeper as you wish. Didn't have a disappointing dive all week.

We rented a very affordable car and explored every cave we could find. The Brac itself is a must see. Ironshore underfoot is a warning to stay clear of the sheer edge one's approaching.
Sunsets are as brilliant here as anywhere on the planet. I can't wait to visit again.

Not a lot of local merchants selling local cuisine like we found on Grand Cayman, but that's about the only thing I missed not having on the smaller sister island. Visit if you can.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent! The ONLY criticism I have is they gather your BC and Reg in a gear bag the first day and keep it and it is magically set it up for you everyday on the boat when you go to the dock. For the lazy that may sound great but it is my life support equipment and I'd rather be responsible for it and also not have my BC sitting out in the hot sun all day everyday. They say equipment is rinsed everyday but I wondered if they rinsed it like I would have. BUT AGAIN AN EXCELLENT DIVE STAFF and WONDERFULL experience!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubainstructorbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Hts.,ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I would like to Thank Bob Newman and Sharkbuds Dive Adventures for booking this wonderful place to go diving.

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff is very warm and pleasant . They work diligently to make your vacation an absolute great time.

Reef Divers with the valet diving is the best. No walking with your equipment on, to the back of the boat. Carry your mask and fins to the dive platform sit down they bring your BC with tank attached help you put it on and in the water you go. A special thank you to Brett, Beeca and Dan for all the hard work and showing us some spectacular dive sites.

The dining experience was also one of the best we have had. We have been on some cruises over the years and match the quality of the food that was offered to be right there with the best.
The food is offered buffet style, with many options to choose from.

I would highly recommend Cayman Brac Reef Beach as a top dive destination. The reefs are still
in good shape with an abundance of fish and marine life to take in and photograph. We particularly enjoyed the trip to Bloody bay wall, the Russian Frigate (The Tibbett's) and
Plymouth Rock.

The only downer of the whole trip was trying to get through customs at Grand Cayman airport. Too many flights coming in at the same time and not enough staff to handle the processing. Another annoying part of this process is Cayman customs agents taking people from the rear of lines and moving them to the front when the non visitors agents were not busy. They shoud have taken people from the front of the line. This was a 2hr. Process. Then another 2hrs. to process
to leave Grand Cayman with long lines in a small airport that is dis-organized. No flow. I would have to give serious consideration to come in a day early and leave a day later than put up with
this poor handling of visitors.

Room Tip: If you want a room with the best view you would want to be on the second level to view the ocean. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayman Brac
5.5 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
5.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
12.8 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
5.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
1110.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
1135.6 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
421.4 mi away
Hilton At Resorts World Bimini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Brac Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Brac Beach Resort

Property: Cayman Brac Beach Resort
Address: 383 Channel Road, Cayman Brac (Formerly Brac Reef Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Brac Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover more than 100 unique reef, wall & wreck dives sites where divers can experience an unforgettable adventure. Our resort is complemented by Reef Divers Valet Diving, which takes care of all of the lugging & loading of your dive gear, as you ride on our custom-built Newton dive fleet. This special resort service is a courtesy to guests, creating the most memorable diving experience. For a true one-of-a-kind diving adventure, the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brac Reef Beach Hotel Cayman Brac
Brac Reef Beach Cayman
Brac Reef Beach Resort
Cayman Brac Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing