We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caves in Cayman Brac” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cayman Brac Caves

Cayman Brac Caves
Ranked #5 of 39 things to do in Cayman Brac
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Caves in Cayman Brac”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent Day trip from Cayman Island on Cayman airways. Cost 127 round trip. First call Department of tourism CI and they will give you number to call for Cayman Brac Tourism. They will provide you with a FREE guide all day to take you all over island. We did 7 caves, lighthouse, cliffs, long Beach and snorkeled at Police cut. Wear good shoes, freeze some water if you can or buy water once you leave airport. Caves are extremely humid and hot. Peter's cave had horribly difficult steps to navigate, more like boulders, will need a flashlight. Skull cave easy has stairs and looks like skull. Bat cave stairs, easy no bats but near a lot of parrots outside, looks like a batman cave. Rebecca cave easiest of all walk into it. sad because coffin for child is inside it and large 8 inch crabs. Chandelier cave large hardest that we went into. but nicest inside. again need flashlight. plan on getting a little dirty crawling in. Great Cave large nice. e also did lighthouse, very small nice view, the booby birds on cliff are great. No bathrooms and no water so bring all with you in car. We arranged rental car before we left on line. Minivan for day as 50.00 Our guide Keino was wonderful. Guide is free we tipped 100..00 for the entire day. He was so wonderful, informative and great with all teenagers and us older folk. He knew all history and exactly how to get from cave to cave to snorkeling. Island only 12 miles anyway. wonderful day trip would like to have stayed longer. You need a guide to be safe and see it all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mommadoc2420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Creek, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Caves of Brac”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I visited Skull Cave on my first day there with a vehicle. I was hesitant and wasn't sure I wanted to climb up into a cave, but it was awesome, no critters. You could tell people had been in and out of the caves there, but really fun to wander around in. During the course of my week there I visited Bat Cave and Great Cave as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wowie, Zowie!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went and saw a newly founded cave called Chandelier Cave. It is by the mosquito research center. It is not listed on any maps yet. It was AMAZING!! Once you are there and you get into the cave use a flashlight to look around and you will not believe it! There are thousands of stalactites and stalagmites. Absolutely beautiful!! Wear good shoes or sneakers and clothes that can get dirty. When you get there don't go into the entrance right off the road, turn to the left and go into that one. It will blow you away! Definitely worth the time to go see. That was the only cave on the island that we went to see while we were there. I can't imagine any other being more beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtheseaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Limestone cliff caves”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Cave locations are posted off the roadside and "most" have ladders with railings. All ladders are sturdy but several treads need to be re-nailed. Some of the interpretive signs had been vandalized and others cut off at their base. Reason unknown. Remember to wear good sturdy shoes and carry a flashlight.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ranger321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Caves for any level of fitness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

There are many caves on the Brac. We explored 4 of them ranging from easy to access to hard to access. They included Rebecca's Cave(easy), Bat Cave(easy), Great Cave(a little trickier to access) and Neptune Lair (super hard to find and access). The caves were really hot and humid so bring water, a flash light and wear light clothes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thunderpunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayman Brac Caves also viewed

Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Cayman Brac Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing