We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet little get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Box 56, Stake Bay, Cayman Brac   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cayman Brac B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Quiet little get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had forgotten to write about this place. We stayed for 10 days at Mango Manor for our first real southern vacation back in 2004. I learned to snorkel here although the dead coral which lines the shoreline is a bit tricky to navigate on your way into the water. Hiking is a bit of a problem as well unless you come equipped with a good pair of hiking boots because the island is made of dead coral and can really carve up your running shoes when you leave the roadways to explore. The history of the area is very interesting and if you corner George you can settle in for some great stories. George is an Islander, born and raised, so he has many experiences to tell and is quite the character. Ask him to show you how to cut a coconut but stand back. He really can swing a machete. We stayed in the main house and enjoyed morning breakfast before setting off for the day, and there are some really great cafes to eat for lunch and dinner. George and Lynn also have a chalet with a kitchen for those who prefer to be by themselves and I checked that out before we left. I found it to be very clean, well laid out and close to the water, read other reviews that stated that a car was important, but my husband and I are hikers and walked most of the island during our stay without issue, (except for the bull in the field that we wanted to cross) We had a wonderful time here, relaxing, soaking up the sun and doing some great snorkeling at a fabulous price.We are busy exploring new areas of the world but always thought we would return to Cayman Brac someday. Enjoyed.

Room Tip: don't forget to look both ways when you are crossing the street. This is a British Colony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vonnie3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in Sea Dreams Villa just a short distance from the B & B...and wish we never had to leave! From the initial mails back and forth with Lynne, being greeted by her at the villa personally, and our final goodbyes - this was an amazing experience! The villa has everything you could possibly need, is roomy, spotlessly clean, and feels like home the minute you walk through the door. Although there wasn't a sandy beach, there was access to the water both on the property, as well as at the boat launch just a steps away. While snorkeling just off our shore we saw many fish, a few stingrays and a sea turtle! Lynne was kind enough to arrange a rental car for us, share restaurant recommendations, and let us know where we could get groceries, etc. for our visit. We were treated like family, and had a few welcome visits from Lynne and George just checking on us. The hospitality we were shown cannot be described. These are two people who have made a lasting impression on us for so many reasons. If you are looking for a "get away from it all" vacation, this is where you need to be. We spent eight full days "extremely busy doing absolutely nothing"! We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cariman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Comfortable, warm, friendly, great breakfasts customized for you, very clean, beautiful grounds, pretty gardens and very unique property. Good location and nice beach area with chairs and gazebo for relaxing. Snorkeling out the back door. Lynn is a terrific hostess and a fascinating person and she makes sure you are content, have all questions answered and all of your needs met. Its a nice house and very quiet. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltyNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

If you are looking for a hearty, made-to-order breakfast, spotlessly clean rooms, a charming house, a beautiful garden and the friendliest hosts, then Walton's Mango Manor is the place for you. The breakfasts always had at least 2 fresh fruits, plus juice and coffee. Lynn's oatmeal was the best I have ever had. She served mango-maple syrup with her pancakes and fabulous French toast in the formal dining room. George and Lynn Walton were two of the nicest and most interesting people we have ever met. They made us feel like family instead of guests. They know everyone and every place on Cayman Brac. Lynn arranged for a rental car for us, as well as a private tour of the island. The rooms are tastefully decorated and have private baths. There is a large, comfortable living room, front porch and kitchen available for guests' use. It is a short walk through the lush backyard garden to the ocean. During our visit, we met other guests who were repeat visitors to Walton's Mango Manor, and we could see why. We can't imagine staying at any other place on Cayman Brac. This is truly a gem of a place.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem for you, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scullyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
212 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We did not stay in the building that housed the bed & breakfast, so can't comment on those facilities. We rented the stand-alone villa called Sea Dreams.

Sea Dreams was a two bedroom, two bath villa with full kitchen and a living room/dining room area. It was very attractive, light and airy. The villa is about a 15 minute ride from the airport and is on a very quiet, safe side street facing the ocean. There is a small beach area with a pretty gazebo, but not good for swimming because of the coral lining the shore. The snorkeling is said to be very good, but the winds and surf were high when we were there, so we cannot speak to that. A car is a must.

Lynne and George Walton are very gracious hosts. The grounds are very pretty. George has even built Lynne a beautiful temple on the grounds, the only one in the Cayman Islands, if we are not mistaken.

Cayman Brac is a rugged island. There are only several beach areas. Hiking boots are a must if you plan on doing any serious hiking. Make sure you go looking for the Cayman Brac parrot. Find papayas trees with ripe papayas, go early in the morning or late in the afternoon and you will probably spot some.

Check out Cheffete for a local, little restaurant. It is on White Bay Road. The sign listing that day's specials is on North East Bay Road.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeylinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

If you like B&B's as opposed to hotels or resorts, you won't be disappointed at Mango Manor. Cayman Brac is quieter and even more laid back than Grand Cayman and Mango Manor fits into the mould very comfortably. The owners made it very relaxing for us and when work is finished on the gazebo on their private beach, this will offer a welcome additional facility. Our only fault was that the A/C unit in our room was rather noisy, but apart from that we'd thoroughly recommend it if you want to 'Chill out on the Brac'. PS: try a take-away from Aunt Sha's down the road - brilliant!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank slowdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

I've stayed at Mango Manor 3 times now, and I really would like to recommend it strongly. First of all, Cayman Brac is completely different from Grand Cayman. The Brac is really a peaceful place, very relaxing. Mango Manor has a very nice beach. Actually it's rocky along the water but there is a nice sandy area with a gazebo and hammocks and an easy entry point for the water. Good snorkeling there. Walk up to the concrete entry a few 100 yards up to the right and swim with the current back down. Can't get better than that!
The "manor" is a nice home-like structure. I've only seen one other guest there. It has nice amenities, nothing fancy, but very comfortable. A few doors down is the grocery, which is very convenient and well stocked (even sells lunches; you can make dinner in the Manor kitchen). I stayed there not long after the bad hurricane and all was good at the Manor and the island seems to have well-recovered; it looked like the government really helped.
This is a very relaxing and well-taken-care-of B&B on a wonderful island. Lynn and George are terrific (they have a home nearby, but don't intrude) and attentive. Have fun! Absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayman Brac
17.3 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#3 of 4 in Little Cayman
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 4 in Cayman Brac
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: Box 56, Stake Bay, Cayman Brac
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing