We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and personal”
Review of Cayman Brac Museum

Cayman Brac Museum
Ranked #7 of 40 things to do in Cayman Brac
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Cayman Brac Museum, the oldest Museum in the Cayman Islands opened its doors to the public on December 3rd, 1983. Through the years our efforts have been focused on preserving the unique history of Cayman Brac & Little and creating informative exhibits. The Museum’s home is the Old Government Administration Building built in 1933 which housed the Post Office, Customs, Treasury and much more under one roof before it was replaced by a new building in 1983.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Really enjoyed exploring this tiny and welcoming museum. Explained history of island and helped provide insight into local culture, personalities and environment. Guide was friendly, informative, warm and engaging. Well worth a visit. Shame one couldn't take any pics or there were not any postcards of exhibits to purchase (future business idea?) Also, an array of local foods to purchase next door would do roaring trade I am sure! ("Heavy" cake, pineapple upside down cake, conch fritters, etc) and more oral history and local books please... would enhance this delightful experience further.

Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Jane F,

Thank you for the lovely review and suggestions. We will certainly pass them on for consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"on display"
in 4 reviews
"interesting history"
in 4 reviews
"island life"
in 3 reviews
"first hand accounts"
in 2 reviews
"small collection"
in 2 reviews
"island tour"
in 3 reviews
"small island"
in 2 reviews
"artifacts"
in 9 reviews
"donation"
in 8 reviews
"hurricane"
in 31 reviews
"curator"
in 4 reviews
"stories"
in 6 reviews
"tools"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 8 reviews
"clothing"
in 2 reviews
"overview"
in 2 reviews
"devastating"
in 4 reviews
Filter

48 - 52 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

this is a great spot to enjoy the history of the Brac. Staff is a great resource for local knowlege.

1  Thank djbdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

djbdds,

Thank you for your review. Our staff take great pride in our programs and the history and culture of our islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My six year old son wanted to visit. He found it interesting and the tour guide was very helpful. It was cool to see so many artifacts there were very old.

1  Thank Ken-Lambertus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Ken-Lambertus,

Thank you for your review. Our museum is very popular with school-aged children as well. We are happy he had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a charming, little museum with good local information regarding the interesting history of the Brac. It's worth a visit, but I doubt that you need more than 30 minutes to see and read everything and even that amount of time is stretching it. Make sure to talk to the people working at the museum to get further information on the cat boat across the street.

1  Thank AliYooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

GlassAli,

Thank you for your review. The museum is a very important part of our history and we have since expanded our exhibits. We would love for your to visit again the in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I visited for the first time in September and it was wonderful. I remember some of the items. Brought back a lot of my childhood memories. GREAT!!

1  Thank Angelique0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Angelique0316,

Thank your for your review. Our slogan is "Keeping in touch with the past" and we are thrilled your experience evoked those memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayman Brac Museum also viewed

Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Cayman Brac Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing