We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Cayman Brac Museum

Cayman Brac Museum
Ranked #7 of 40 things to do in Cayman Brac
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Cayman Brac Museum, the oldest Museum in the Cayman Islands opened its doors to the public on December 3rd, 1983. Through the years our efforts have been focused on preserving the unique history of Cayman Brac & Little and creating informative exhibits. The Museum’s home is the Old Government Administration Building built in 1933 which housed the Post Office, Customs, Treasury and much more under one roof before it was replaced by a new building in 1983.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I visited for the first time in September and it was wonderful. I remember some of the items. Brought back a lot of my childhood memories. GREAT!!

1  Thank Angelique0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Angelique0316,

Thank your for your review. Our slogan is "Keeping in touch with the past" and we are thrilled your experience evoked those memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 51 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2012

Its a nice little museum which features mainly common artifacts of daily life from the past 100 or so years. Its run by proud members of the local community. There is a limited collection on display of somewhat unremarkable items however the items are nicely displayed. So there is plenty of potential and it time they may expand their collection/displays. There is no admittance fee however as with most museums, you can make a donation to its' operation.

2  Thank I_McI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

I_McI,

Thank you for your review and suggestions. We have since completed the installation of a new interactive exhibit. Come back and see us sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is the kind of museum you go to when you want to learn the history and culture of a small community, run by the proud members of that community. The museum is small, so it doesn't take too long for those who don't get into museums, and it is the oldest museum in the Cayman Islands. It is housed in a one-story former government building. Upon entering, I was immediately greeted by staffer/curator, who apologized for the dust and construction materials as they improve the museum. No need for apologies! This place clearly communicates community history and pride - especially in the room dedicated to the Faith Hospital. It's free, and I was glad to leave a donation.

2  Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Howinbubba,

Thank you for your review. We have now completed our new exhibit and would love for you to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Perfect for small children, the museum can be visited and enjoyed in a small amount of time. The porch swing was the highlight for our two year old and four and half year old grandchildren though they only lasted a few minutes on it!

2  Thank Addmarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Addmarya,

Thank you for your review. The swings are a great pit stop and past tradition of our islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is a very small museum in the center of the island on the north side. The museum director provides some information and commentary as you look at the exhibits, such as old phones, old medical devices and old catboats. Since the island was settled in the 1800s, the history is relatively recent. The building was once used for court and the bar is still there. There is no entrance fee but there is a place to make a donation. It is definitely worth a stop.

2  Thank Scullyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanBracMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cayman Brac Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Scullyster,

Thank you for your review. Come visit us again in the future. We have added a new exhibit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayman Brac Museum also viewed

Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Cayman Brac Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing