We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful weekend”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Glandwr

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Aberdaron, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew W
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tired accommodation in the right location”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

There's no doubt that this holiday cottage is trying to be all things to all people. It's in a terrific location and largely suited our needs however even on an elongated stay is a washing machine really necessary? It certainly takes up a lot of space in an already cramped bathroom. Similarly, for a short stay could guests not just use a good old fashioned hand wash for the crockery? This would save vital space in the equally cramped kitchen and allow the provision of a microwave.
I'm afraid the peeling paint and obvious mould and damp in the double bedroom just reinforced my feeling that the place is a little unloved. For location, excellent. For quality of accommodation, below average. All above probably reflects the lower price than others in the area. Would I stay again? If the place got a lick of paint, probably!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Layout
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha...
1 review
“Beautiful weekend ”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Myself and my partner stayed at this beautiful cottage for a long weekend to enjoy the Wales v England rugby game. Lovely cottage small but very cosy and had everything we needed. Owner was lovely and made sure we had all we needed. Beautiful views from the main bedroom window, we will definitely being coming back to stay again in the spring while weather isn't best for us to get the caravan out. Amazing village and people and the ty newydd has lovely service and food, i have been coming to aberdaron for 19/20 years would recommend to anyone it has outstanding beauty. Thanks x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seamus212...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed here at the end of August for a few nights with my wife, 2 teenage children and dog. The cottage was just what we wanted - right by the beach, the local shops and pubs. It might be small but the quaintness was exactly what made our stay so enjoyable - a real sense of getting away from it all. The cottage had all we needed to enjoy our stay and the owner has obviously stayed there a lot as it is very well equipped. Very good value. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very cosy and close tothe beach.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk_p...
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dirty.”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived tired after a long journey. The owner’s agent was there by arrangement to show us in. While demonstrating that it was impossible for two people to be in the ‘kitchen’ at the same time, he opened the door of the dishwasher to reveal – to his evident surprise - that it was full of dirty dishes! He had clearly made no inspection of the property to check on the work of the cleaners, who the owner later assured us had spent two hours there, but whose existence subsequent discoveries led us to doubt.
He washed up, with a lot of clattering, and no apology, leaving the sink filthy. In the kitchen were shelves of half used jars of spices and pickles and so on. One of them had a best before date of 2007. We were later informed that this was intentional, to make the place more homely. The agent was off hand and his brusque manner made us keen for him to leave us in peace. Looking round the house we found: an unemptied waste bin in the main bedroom. Used tissues under the bed. Stained pillows. A tangle of electrical leads beneath a bunk bed. A bed side lamp with no shade in the main bedroom. Other lamps which didn’t work and were very dirty. A fire extinguisher with no safety inspection label. The whole place felt grubby.
The website states the dimensions of each room, so we should not have been surprised about the cramped accommodation. However, the design and layout made the kitchen and bathroom extremely uncomfortable to use, and in the case of the bathroom, positively dangerous if you were not nimble enough to climb out of the bath/shower while negotiating a toilet, a sink and a shower screen. The kitchen needed a major rethink and a clear-out. All the drawers were stuffed with ‘stuff’ and the electric kettle had to be balanced between the draining board and the cooker.
Though booked for a week, we left the next morning and found alternative accommodation – a clean one! We wrote to the owner, who promised to investigate; we sent photographs. (We are not the type who do this as a matter of course. We have been staying in Aberdaron for decades and have never experienced any problems with rental properties).
The owner, reasonably enough, said we should have made our complaints known to his agent. However, I maintain that having booked somewhere for 7 days, it is not unreasonable to expect it to be clean. Who wants to waste time arguing with people at the beginning of a very short and much needed holiday? We were tired, as stated, and my husband was quite ill and low on energy. The owner also accused us of fabricating the evidence contained in the photographs we had sent, and either ignored or brushed aside our other points. He also implied that we had returned home as my husband was ill. The owner refused us any refund. Legally, he is correct. Morally, he should be ashamed of himself.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2015
This couple were delighted with the cottage when it was shown to them. There was no suggestion of any complaint while they were here and they left the next morning for clear medical reasons. These subsequent complaints have no substance in fact which is why their unwarranted request for a refund had to be politely declined.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing