We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local.”
Review of The Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ship Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Aberdaron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were stopping about two miles out of Aberdaron and always called at The Ship for a late lunch after we had been out in the local area.We usually head for mid-Wales as its local to us and the nearest bit of coastline but this time we had a cottage near Aberdaron.As I was saying we nearly always called at The Ship for lunch which was always served quickly and was always nice and hot.The Ship has a very good menu but Im afraid we didnt tast much of it as we never got past the Cheesburgers!!!.These were accompanied by a couple of pints of WPA which went down a treat.
If we ever moved to Aberdaron The Ship would be our local without doubt as its got a good atmosphere and friendly locals ( saying that the ones we met were from Liverpool and Wigan ) :) . Cheeres Alun see you again sometime.
Rog & Sheena from Church Stretton.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doger12003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 193 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Alun and the staff made us feel welcome and couldn't do more to help. Unsure about others bad experience but this is the second year we have stayed and the place gets better. Yes the bathroom in our room was small on the second trip but your not going to go to Aberdaron to stay there to stay in the hotel all day. he room was clean and fresh and inviting and the sea view was a bonus! Excellant place to stay on the penisula and yes its best if your a national trust member to get free parking but Alun moved his signs so we could park right outside as well, you just have to ask. Breakfast was hot and freshly cooked and the dinner / sunday lunch was filling and very tasty. Have now booked again to stay in October to celebrate anniversary. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenRich_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but went for a meal there while on holiday nearby. the place does not take bookings, apparently, so we turned up in the hope of getting a table. After standing at the bar, while staff went to and fro ignoring us, we asked a young lady if there were any tables- she just replied 'you'll have to ask the boss'. As we had no idea who or where the boss was, we carried on standing there like idiots trying to gain attention. Surely, as a member of staff, she could have asked the boss herself. As we carried on waiting we asked asked another young lady if we could have a drink, she told us that she wasn't allowed to serve drinks, but made no effort to find someone who could. Again, we were left standing there like idiots. Eventually, we managed to gain the attention of a gentleman who was also doing a lot of to-ing and fro-ing- turns out he was the boss. He asked us to sit down, as he didn't know yet if we could have a table- informed us sometime later that we could eat there but would take a while. Eventually we got to sit down and our starters were promptly served- 4 prawns in batter and a bit of salad, for my partner- not impressed with the portion size, but they tasted nice. My crab baji's were ok and better value. Our mains were a bit on the small side- my partner's red mullet was tiny- about 4 inches long- he said it was very good though. I had chicken wrapped in bacon, stuffed with veggies- again not very big and not sure if chicken was locally produced as it didn't have a lot of chicken flavour- although food was cooked nicely, we felt it was a bit overpriced for the portion size. The dining room was very cramped and we waited in a side room crammed with sofas and chairs. On the way to the toilets, I found a completely empty dining room which was much more spacious than the space we'd all been crammed into. We found the landlord quite friendly enough, but didn't enjoy being left at the bar by disinterested, unhelpful staff at the beginning. After this experience, we won't be staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank weekender051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of the village of Aberdarn which is a fantastic location, however, there is no parking at the hotel and you need to park in the local paid car park.
The room was perfect, clean and well presented with a view of the sea. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was great. You will need to reserve a table for an evening meal, it gets very busy with non-residents. The owner of the hotel was very helpful and has obviously worked very hard to build up the business. Breakfast was also very good. All in all, would stay there again.

Room Tip: There arn't many sea view rooms, so be sure to ask for one if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladywithasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

On arrival we noticed that the only available parking facility was in a national trust car park which was situated across the road from the hotel, ( £9 ) per night. One of the hotel's employee very kindly offered to move her car from her hotel parking space for us to park the car for the night.
We had a double room overlooking the sea which was comfortable.
Our evening meal in the hotel's restaurant was of good quality and value for money as was the breakfast.

Room Tip: make sure you choose a room with a sea view which is astounding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I pose this question because the high number of 4* and 5* reviews are at odds with the average condition of the rooms and the very dodgy service when they are busy. I too could easily be seduced by my love of the area where I always enjoy a fantastic 5* break but that is not giving an accurate picture about the hotel itself. I was very pleased that they had more customers than they could cope with but as a resident who has pre-reserved a dinner slot I do not then expect to have to join in the scrum and waiting list with everyone who has turned up on spec. Yes, Alun is a lovely guy, and the food after all the waiting is good, but if he is reliant on repeat business he is not going the best way about it. Our room had a lovely view but was otherwise distinctly average with a miniscule bathroom. it was disconcerting that the fire exit door on the top floor corridor dispayed a handle hanging off and what appeared to be a plank outside wedging it in the almost closed position. I will return to Aberdaron but may be staying elsewhere on the peninsula (and not across the road where I have stayed many times but reviews now suggest is not the best experience).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Visited the Ship for lunch on a Tuesday lunchtime. The crab sandwiches were very nice albeit service was a bit slow. We visited on the basis that we fancied a local pint and the hotel claims to be listed in the Good Beer Guide. However, when we visited, no ales were available - not even bottled! Either this is simply lazy or poor cellar keeping but either way, very disappointing. Given that the hotel bar's view is of the main road through Aberdaron, I could have 'enjoyed' a pint of mass produced fizzy rubbish anywhere in the British Isles.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PointyHairedBoss78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdaron
21.7 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
301 reviews
21.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty Ty Newydd
Gwesty Ty Newydd
#1 of 3 in Aberdaron
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Woodlands Hall Hotel
Woodlands Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Edern
53 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Egryn, Abersoch
The Egryn, Abersoch
#4 of 12 in Abersoch
152 reviews
13.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#9 of 10 in Pwllheli
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Hotel

Address: Aberdaron LL53 8BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Aberdaron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdaron
Price Range: $100 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Aberdaron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing