We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and innovative flavours in a welcoming hotel - worth a 3hr drive even if only staying one night.”
Review of Gwesty Ty Newydd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwesty Ty Newydd
Ranked #1 of 3 Aberdaron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a really friendly hotel on the sea front in a beautiful place. Don't let the lack of atmosphere in the dining room put you off. The food is obviously made on the premises, uses fresh ingredients and includes fascinating and unusual combinations of flavours. The side salad tends to be a bit unimaginative - but that hardly matters given the overall quality and imagination in the main courses. Portions are generous. I am amazed the kitchen copes when the place is so busy.
The rooms are up to the minute and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevDSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Gwesty Ty Newydd
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 271 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Aberdaron is a fantastic place but the “hotel” is certainly not. The hotel does not have a car park so you can either take the double yellow risk or walk from the public carpark. It’s a short walk but not so great in the rain with cases etc.

Reception, have no doubt it’s a pub with room aka an inn. Probably an acceptable price would be £50-60 per room. Poster in the window “bar staff needed”, too right its chaos. On arrival after pushing passed the drunks on the door and bar (its early afternoon and it’s as lively and noisy as a Witherspoons pub on a rugby international) there were no pens on reception to fill in details, the young girl did not have a clue how to operate the booking computer either.

Dinner was generally shocking experience for the price. Very noisy with the drunks overflowing from the bar. Under-damped room so the noise is amplified. You order food from the waitress who is keen to get you out asap for the next sitting. If you want wine or drinks you have fetch your own bottle from the bar, it’s a slow experience
.
Overall if you fancy a couple of pints and a crash out bed with your mates it would be fine if the price reflected this. If you want a chill out hotel and anticipate quality this is not the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 80tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Aberdaron this past week. Had a lovely house overlooking the village it was stunning. The idea was to eat out once or twice and cook the rest of the time. BUT we ended up eating out most nights as the food here was amazing. The service was great and the staff really friendly. I can see why it gets booked up. However even though we didnt book the staff always managed to seat us and we were never rushed out. Wish it was on my doorstep.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A party of 17 including 6 kids went for tea last night ... The waitress was fantastic to the point of working out what the children were having and bringing their food out first , the service was first class we all got our food at the same time and everyone's dish looked amazing and beautifully presented .. I had the rump steak and I have to say it was the best steak iv ever had ! Would go back time after time , it's a hidden gem in Wales

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegasbabyChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family popped into aberdaron to have a look around. Went into the gwesty for a few drinks and it was super. Service was pretty good but the main attraction was having a nice cold beer on the open balcony over looking aberdaron bay and the sea. The sun was out and you could have been anywhere in the world.priceless! Have stayed overnight in the past and the rooms are modern and well kept.

Room Tip: Front room overlooking beach.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_b582711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Came here for Sunday lunch so glad we ended just for drinks instead.
Why do they're squeeze meals in such a short time period why not spread it to later until 16:00 and make it more relaxing place.
We sat behind us a large family party with a young child shouting her mouth off and digging her cutterly into the table. The rest of the diners were not enjoying this loud environment. The staff did not offer to assist the family out or spoke to them about this child spoiling the environment for others. If we paid for a meal here this child would have spoiled it.
We left and went for a lovely place next door at The Ship very welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank PG566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Great service and helpful advice for dog owners. The rear patio was fab and overlooked an extremely picturesque bay. It really is a stunning location, lovely village, helpful locals and a short drive from a gorgeous view of Bardsey Island

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkBarcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdaron
21.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
20.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdaron
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Egryn, Abersoch
The Egryn, Abersoch
#4 of 12 in Abersoch
150 reviews
8.5 mi away
Wylfa Guest House
Wylfa Guest House
#8 of 12 in Abersoch
82 reviews
3.4 mi away
Moel Yr Wyn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Ty Newydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Ty Newydd

Address: Aberdaron, Aberdaron LL53 8BE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Aberdaron
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdaron
Price Range: $128 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwesty Ty Newydd 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iain and Wilma, offer you a warm welcome at Gwesty Ty Newydd. The hotel is situated in the picturesque and historic village of Aberdaron on the Llŷn Peninsula, North West Wales. Gwesty Ty Newydd directly overlooks the bay and sandy beach of Aberdaron, which is one of the finest and safest beaches on Llŷn. Stay in comfort in this fine hotel, enjoy fantastic views and savour the delights of freshly caught Bardsey lobster and crab, afternoon teas with home baked cakes and watch the sun go down from the terrace or in our newly refurbished lounge whilst enjoying a drink from the fully licensed bar. Dine in the restaurant enjoying meals cooked with the finest fresh locally produced ingredients whilst savouring views over the sea towards the islands.You will be guaranteed a warm welcome at Gwesty Ty Newydd whatever time of year you choose to visit us on the Llŷn Peninsula, and every season has a beauty all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gwesty Ty Newydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Ty Newydd Hotel Aberdaron
Gwesty Ty Newydd Aberdaron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing