We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well situated holiday park, clean caravan on arrival sadly the pool was a big let down”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morfa Bychan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenacres Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We've just returned from a weekend break here, and overall we were impressed. The site is well situated for many tourist attractions in the area. On arrival our caravan was spotless. Sadly this parks let down is the swimming pool, which is the only on site entertainment we as a family ever use. As mentioned in other reviews you have to access the pool via the amusement arcade so plenty of opportunity for major pester power, the pool itself is to small for the size of the site and in a rather poor state of repair. The water was really murky,my children even wearing googles kept accidentally bumping into people. The shop on site is also quite expensive if you need provisions either visit the Tesco in Porthmadog or take a short walk and visit the Spar shop which is just off the site on the many road in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somersetbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

922 - 928 of 959 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2011

Just returned from 5 day break with extended families in 2 caravans, one standard as dog was included, one luxury. Both lovely and clean. Standard smaller than luxury but still had all the same fittings. Very pleasant reception staff on check-in. Huge park. Great for families. Spotless everywhere. Good security. Nice staff on night duty on barriers. Would recommend and would visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paddyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed here on 1-4 April 2011. We booked via the newspaper promotions and upgraded to a luxury, this had not central heating and was very basic. When we questioned what a luxury was they said it meant that no pets had stayed there!?! The site itself was excellent, the best haven site we have stayed at. The beach is 5 minutes’ walk, the pool was very clean and the baby pool was lovely and warm (like a bath). The club house and entertainment has much improved from previous years. The outside decking area with crazy golf (a little over priced) and kids play area was fantastic, in hot weather the splash pool would be great too!
All in all we had a great break, would definitely go back, but book a private caravan to avoid disappointment. Kids did not want to come home (ages 3 and 7)
Great location, great park!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank LindsandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Collected vouchers for THE SUN and posted them off. Allocated Haven at Greenacres.
Staff friendly on arrival allowing us to book in before 4pm. Caravan spacious and we had been upgraded to a larger caravan with heating throughout although we only initially paid for a 2 bed with heating in the lounge.
Caravan dated, carpet dirty (through age), otherwise clean and well stocked for cutlery, pans, glasses and crockery.
Didn't think much to the entertainment, but then its not our cup of tea really, but we had to try it.
We lasted about 15 minutes in the swimming pool, the water was cold and murky.
Lovely area to visit and although my review isn't fantastic we would use Haven as a base again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCH_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at this Haven site mid October and we were pleasantly surprised. We had previously stayed at Cala Gran near Fleetwood and it was like those holidays from hell you read about. This however was totally different.
The park is situated right next to the beach, with the Snowdonian mountain as the backdrop and was very picturesque.
If you stay this time of year I would recommend booking a caravan with central heating. We didn't, and we only had a small gas fire in the living room area to heat the whole caravan and found the bedrooms were cold.
The clubhouse had a shop, amusements,a bar & restaurant, and a stage/entertainment area. I would stay away from all of these as they are all overpriced. They do have kids entertainment on stage but it gets repetative day in, day out.
I would stay here again because of the outstanding beauty of the area and the site itself is very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcadbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Just returned from a 5 day "Sun" holiday.Stayed there last year in a caravan that was filthy and taken out of service after we left.Tried again this year and paid extra to upgrade to a "luxury" van.What a disappointment,carpet very dirty,curtains hanging off their tracks and mould on every curtain.Faults were reported to management who arranged to have the carpet cleaned,curtains were re-hung andnew curtains put up in the main bedroom.
I just wonder what Havens definition of luxury is?Do they just charge more and hope people will not bother to complain and only do something after a complaint?
The saving grace is the location close to an excellent sandy beach and within easy reach of the wild area of Snowdonia National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeemerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Just got back fron greenacres with my family we had a 3 year old with us she had a brilliant time caravan was beautiful entertainment was personal choice staff all very nice park was very quite had beakfast in mash and barrel one day it was very nice no complaints will be back in may 2011

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EgyptGreengarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morfa Bychan
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,508 reviews
2.4 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
716 reviews
15.6 mi away
Brynteg Holiday Home Park
0.2 mi away
Garreg Goch Caravan Park
Garreg Goch Caravan Park
#2 of 3 in Morfa Bychan
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenacres Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Black Rock Sands, Morfa Bychan, Porthmadog LL49 9YF, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Morfa Bychan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Morfa Bychan
Price Range: $109 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenacres Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Also Known As:
Greenacres Holiday Park Hotel Morfa Bychan
Greenacres Holiday Park - Haven Wales/North Wales - Morfa Bychan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing