We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best honeymoon imaginable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Gary, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best honeymoon imaginable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

There are few words to describe what my wife and I experienced at sunset cove other than truly amazing sunsets and the most friendly and hospitable hosts that we have ever encountered. They are truly a special part of our hearts and we cannot thank them enough for all they did to make our honeymoon unforgettable. Paul and Isabelle went to all lengths to see that we had everything we needed and shuttled us where we wanted to go. We actually had the entire resort to ourselves because it was off season, and it was great! What else do we need to say other than book and keep them going strong! We look forward to staying with them in the near future.

Room Tip: Why would you need a pool and a fitness center on a remote island anyway? They have the most amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you're looking for an upmarket fully catered for experience then this is probably not for you. If however you want good value with clean and comfortable rooms with exceptionally hospitable hosts then this is the place for you. On an island where accomodation is expensive this is a welcome respite in an idyllic setting. Plenty to do and all sorts of activities on offer - especially kiteboarding but paddle boarding, canoeing, fishing and cycling as well - not to mention yoga for you supple types! We had a most relaxing time - Izzy and Paul made it even more memorable - thanks guys - we'll be back.

Room Tip: only 10 rooms available and only some with kitchens - so if you're into self catering book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank randsmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmopan, Belize
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Had to make a quick trip to Little Cayman and discovered Sunset Cove. Isabelle and Paul are great hosts and made us feel welcome and at home. We managed during our short stay to spend some time on the water trampoline...that was a blast...a must try!!! and you should experience the hammocks and watch the sunset...the facilities are clean and the room had a mini fridge and microwave. Breakfast is included as well as airport transfers. My only regret was that my stay wasn't longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelle30372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had an amazing family holiday at sunset cove in Feb 2012.
Paul & Izzy were so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for them.
The views were like a picture postcard, the water was calm enough to go swimming & jumping off the dock, our four year old son even jumped off the dock :)
But if your a kite surfer the wind is still there, I could lay on the sheltered beach, while out in the water the wind was perfect to get the kites out.
You really can be as active as you want, fly kites, kyack to Owen island, snorkel, or just laze on the beach reading a book.

We had the most wonderful time, and we're counting down the days till next year.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roses-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Forget answering your cell phone. Don't bother checking your email. All the chaos of life seems to fade away with the tide when you are at Sunset Cove. If you are looking for serene mornings, relaxing afternoons, and beautiful sunsets, this is the place to stay. If you crave a bit more activity, you can learn to kitesurf right on site! Most days we were fishing right off the dock, wading in the lagoon, or napping in the hammocks. Other days at Sunset Cove, we were kayaking or canoeing or having good conversation with our hosts, Paul and Isabelle, who took care of all of our needs. Whether they were giving us rides "downtown", arranging our scooter rental, or making sure we were fed and stocked on alcohol, Paul and Isabelle were more than accommodating with a warm, friendly smile (and not to mention, they were great company too)! We rented rooms with kitchenettes, which was perfect for the nights we wanted to cook dinner. The rooms were clean and cozy, equipted with cold A/C, running hot water, and a stunning view. The price was more than reasonable for the wonderful experience we had. Sunset Cove was our private paradise, a true getaway. We will definitely be staying here when we return to Little Cayman!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkbella3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I would recommend this not just for kiter's but for anyone who wants to go to an unspoiled paradise. A memory that will want to keep you coming back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philobeto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have travelled the world over and stayed in some amazing places over the years and have to say that this spot is one of my new favs. Little Cayman Island itself is far removed from the hustle and bustle of western civilization and Sunset Cove is the icing on the cake of just that. The tiny little resort is located on its own private cove with a white sandy beach, and perfectly calm, crystal clear turquoise blue waters protected by the waves from the reef. The guest houses were romantically quaint equipped with ceiling fan, air conditioning, full bathroom with hot water shower, and full kitchenette and best of all clean and bug free (at least we didn't see any or have any bites). Ours days consisted of: waking to the sun peering in our beach front window, relaxing to caribbean beach rock tunes while eating a light continental breakfast (included) at the resort breakfast nook on the beach, starting the day with yoga on our private pier as the warmth of the early morning sun and ocean breeze relaxed our muscles and a cool dip in the ocean wicked away the sweat of our workout, spending the morning either diving the world renown bloody bay marine park (dove with Reef Divers a PADI 5 star dive resort on the other end of the island - top notch dive operation) or learning to Kite Board with owner Paul in the shallow calm waters of the cove, and then absolutely chillaxin the rest of the day, swimming in the calm waters, kayaking out to the reef or the secluded / uninhabited Owen Island, or simply reading a book while lightly swaying in a hammock on the beach shaded by the palm trees. For dinner we either cooked our own fair on the beach bonfire or took the short drive down to one of the larger dive resorts at the other end of the island for some great pub food. After sipping on some local caribbean rum or Caybrew beer, stargazing on the beach or the pier far removed from any variety of light or noise pollution concluded an ideal day. Although I can't say enough good things about the resort itself, one of my favorite parts was time spent with the owners Paul and Isabelle. From the moment we met them at the airport with smiling faces (they offered to pick us up as soon as I booked on line and let them know when we would be arriving), they were amazing hosts. They taught us everything we needed to know about the island and local life and treated us like friends from past coming to visit. They knew all the locals and hooked us up with whatever we needed - rides into "town" for groceries, booze, diving first thing in the morning, and took us to their favorite watering holes to meet their friends and grab dinner and a pint. Absolutely lovely people! And that is why I give Sunset Cove a 5 star rating - perfect blend of tropical, secluded, relaxing caribbean island life mixed with the adventure of diving and kite boarding with fun and great people!

Room Tip: having the kitchenette was great to prepare our own simple lunches and keep our beer and rum cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
2.3 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
16.1 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Property: Sunset Cove
Address: 34 Wonder Lane, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic place for couples, friends and families on Little Cayman. A friendly, serene, relaxed place to chill. We have lots of fun things to do directly from the white, sandy beach at Sunset Cove. We have kayaks, canoes, stand-up paddle boards and luxury beach floats available for rental, so you have everything you need right at the resort. You can kayak over to Owen Island and snorkel or hang out on the beach. South Hole Sound is a lovely, reef-protected, sandy, shallow area with ideal conditions to enjoy most any watersports. We also have bicycles available for 1/2 day or full day rental. There's something for everyone! Or on a lazy day, you can indulge in a massage or lounge in one of the hammocks at the resort. For your dining pleasure, we also have The Beach Bum Cafe which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing