We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive Service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Cayman Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The resort is clean and the food was good. The main attraction in Little Cayman in the scuba diving and in particular the Bloody Bay area. This was our first trip here and it was a learning experience. If you are going be careful of the time of year. Our last two days were dark clouds and rain. We also had a change in the winds which prevented diving on the west (bloody bay) side of the island. The dive sites on the south and east side were not as good during our stay. They have protected reefs and also i think they are the only island that protects the grouper spawning season. They have a lot of groupers and they are very friendly in general. Like puppy dogs. plenty of turtles and other sea life. We had very good diving and the dive crew is fantastic. They also allow you to venture out on your own during the dives. This was nice because what seemed like a crowded dive boat didn't matter once we got under water. We rarely encountered other groups while diving. I loved this trip.

Room Tip: Not sure about room preference. We booked the basic room and it was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWECRZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 592 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We just completed another stay at Little Cayman Beach Resort. To say that everything is excellent isn't nearly enough! From the front desk to the Dive Operation (Sharon is an Excellent Dive Master) to meals (Claudia, Robert, Tanisha and everyone in the kitchen) to the Beach Nuts Bar (Jose, Grace and everyone) we were treated wonderfully and enjoyed hospitality that is out of this world! The food was even better than the last time we were there!
Oh yeah, and the diving, we were fortunate that the weather was great and we dove mostly on the north side (Bloody Bay, Jackson's Bight etc.). Turtles, Sharks, Pipe Fish, Spotted Hawkfish, Spotted Lobster (hide out in cracks in some, shallower, swimthrus), Spiny Lobster and the usual denizens of a caribbean reef system.
Thank you to Sharon, Caitlin, Dottie, Claudia, Robert, Jose, Grace, Tanisha and everyone else at Little Cayman Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Some of our friends tried out the Ocean View rooms and said they were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This review is long overdue as we visited in May and June of 2013. Our first trip was in May of 2013. It was so fantastic we went back in June! The dive masters are top notch. You will not receive a more in depth pre-dive briefing ANYWHERE. They draw the dive site on a white board and give explicit descriptions of the site. They are very attentive and run a very safe operation. They use the valet type of diving where they take care of your gear. You leave it outside your door on the first day and don't have to think about cleaning it or setting it up for the rest of the week. Ed, Nick, Jo and Sharon were just awesome! The sites are gorgeous and have an excellent variety of under water topography, fish life, coral and sponges. There is something to please every diver in the group.
The staff is genuinely happy and take pride in their work. Claudia is quick to remember you and your needs. She will go out of her way to get you whatever you want. I watched her deal with a difficult guest who asked for a grapefruit, then asked for it to be taken back to the kitchen to be separated for her. The guest was also very particular about all the food, coffee and tea. Not an easy person to please by any stretch of the imagination. Claudia didn't miss a beat and gave her service with a smile each and every time. Samantha, Tanisha and Judeen were also wonderful staff members who did a fantastic job and always had smiles on their faces. Grace, Teresa and Hanna at the bar were also amazing and always had smiles on their faces and ready to fill your glass or bring you a giant plate of food. We will definitely go back again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIdivechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Location: Amazing. Beautiful ocean view, lovely white sand, pretty palm trees, etc. Nice pool and hot tub. Do not plan to swim in the ocean at the resort, though, as there is a prodigious amount of turtle grass.
Rooms: Large, clean, tons of space for your stuff and comfortable beds. Fan & AC quite noisy.
Food: Quite good for a buffet. Salads in particular were innovative and delicious (I thought the grilled eggplant was excellent). Prepared foods fairly heavy on the meat, lots of beef, pork, turkey, even duck. Lamb and veal were offered. Seafood at every dinner. Lots of dessert options. Fruit always available (I especially appreciated the sliced kiwi at breakfast). I personally found the coffee quite bitter.

Front desk/housekeeping/food servers: nearly everyone quite friendly and helpful. Claudia and Addy in the dining room were especially nice, the attendant at the gift shop (didn’t catch her name) was very helpful & knowledgeable about local products, and the chef shared her eggplant recipe freely.

Dive sites: nice visibility (30-50 or so feet, depending on the dive), almost no current, virtually no waves on surface at dive sites, coral reef in much better shape than other places in the Caribbean, lots of big stuff (reef sharks, barracuda, tarpon, even tuna), and some small stuff (lettuce leaf sea slugs, flamingo tongues), and quite a few friendly groupers. Walls are quite incredible—very steep drop-offs and nice topography, some fun swim-throughs and arches, huge barrel sponges, lots to look at. Though I prefer the Pacific by a lot, this was the best I have experienced in the Caribbean (I’ve dived in the Bahamas, the Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Turks and Caicos, Bermuda)

Dive operation: Boats are in good shape, tanks recently inspected. They offer “valet” service, which means they bring and help you put on your BCD/ take it from you when you return, and switch out your tanks. You only keep track of your fins, mask, wetsuit, personal gear, and they even lend you a sturdy mesh bag. There’s plenty of drinking water, fruit & chips. One towel per diver per day. The morning boat departs at 8:10 AM for 2 dives, the afternoon boat for 1 dive at 1:50 PM. The divemasters take turn diving with the group, and they are last in/first out. For the first three days I dove with two divemasters who were leaving the island permanently on my fourth day, and I think it’s reasonable to say they had already checked out. Will & Warren took over our boat for my last three days, and they were quite a bit better. On my very last dive, one guest’s inflator hose got stuck and she made a very quick trip to the surface from 60’ after ditching her gear. They handled it extremely well & professionally, taking care of her and getting her quickly to the clinic and reassuring the other divers without losing their cool.

However, here’s what the US based booking agents do not mention when you ask about the diving: 1. First morning dive is limited to 50 minutes, second AM dive and PM dives, 60 minutes. Surface interval in AM is a brief 45 minutes, and we were even encouraged to splash after 35 minutes. 2. In my opinion, far too many divers on the boat/in the water. I was on their largest boat, at 46’, and in my six mornings saw 17-20 divers. This makes suiting up/getting in not particularly smooth, and then in the water…well, let’s just say you see a lot of other people. 3. Not much effort in controlling the guests once they’re in the water, despite the protected marine park status. Only twice in 17 dives did the briefing include a cursory “please watch your buoyancy.” I was quite dismayed by the too large number of divers who kicked and broke coral, fans, sponges, tunicates, etc. Too many of them had no buoyancy control and would grab coral to steady themselves as they yo-yo’d through the water. I saw one guy hug a turtle, grab the tail of a sleeping nurse shark, and try to get a porcupine fish to puff all on the same dive. Several other divers were of the aggressive photographer variety, swimming into you and knocking you aside for the potential photo op. This was my 43rd dive trip since being certified, and ranks as the one of the top 3 for the majority of fellow divers both disregarding the environment and being inconsiderate of everyone and everything around them.

In summary: really nice resort, but in my opinion, not meant for divers who want to either maximize their bottom time or dive in the company of ecologically friendly divers.

Room Tip: First floor more convenient, pool side rooms are fine, oceanside are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scubawoman33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Third trip in 13 months and diving, staff, food and accommodations all still awesome. I haven't had a better dive company. The staff--all dining and bar staff are wonderful people. The food is tremendous although the multiple desserts can cause some weight gain, so be careful. The bar staff, especially Teresa and Grace are wonderful people who treat each guest extremely well and can accommodate any order. They REALLY know their stuff. We intend to come back--it's become my home away from home in the Carribean--for me, the diving is SO good and this place is so nice that there's little need to contemplate going elsewhere. It's a truly relaxing and special place. Thank you LCBR!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jeffry771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We went to LCBR for ten days, based on word of mouth recommendations from other divers we've met in our travels. It's the nicest property we've ever stayed at: really clean, updated, quiet, well taken care of. I was impressed with the staff's friendliness and readiness; none of this "island time' to get things done. Frankly, it was impressive at every level. This is our first all-inclusive. We were very pleased with variety, quality and freshness of the food. We chose our Oceanview King suite based on other TA reviews and I am glad we did.

Our only complaint with the whole property is the loud air conditioner. As in, bring your ear plugs. I don't know why they do not have the nice quiet ceiling mounted ones you see elsewhere.

This is a really nice place. They make you feel very welcome and like they are happy you are there. It was thoroughly enjoyable.

Here are a few things I'd wish I'd know before hand. I'm an active non-diver, my husband is the diver.
-The dive operation uses big boats with large groups (16-20 was not unusual)so keep that in mind if that kind of thing is important to you
-The ocean is not swimmable at the resort. The beach is very nice, but the extremely shallow bay is full of turtle grass. It is not suitable for recreational swimming or even wading
-The reef itself is a good 1/3 of a mile swim out from the resort. It was excellent snorkeling out there, but a really long swim to get there. As a snorkeler who likes to go out every day, I was really disappointed by the quality of the swimming and distance to the reef from the resort itself. Yes, there are good snorkeling and swimming opportunities on Little Cayman, but you need to bike or rent a scooter to get there.

Room Tip: King Oceanview Suites have a view and an outside seating area. Regular rooms have neither. If you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spokane223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

While it's nice to dive by liveaboard, Little Cayman diving resort is about as close as a land-based operation could get.

Your gear goes on the boats once and you only need to haul your fins and mask the rest of the time the short distance from your room.

That is, if you can still walk, since the food is really great on the full American Plan system. Varied, fresh, beautifully prepared and presented. And the desserts...dangerous.

It's a short half hour to some of the best diving in the western hemisphere on Bloody Bay Wall and Jackson Bight.

Staff is friendly and universally competent.

When not diving, you can also bike and kayak. $5 a day or $10 an hour respectively.

Or you can just sit and watch the blue water. And a small bar scene at night, but don't go to Little Cayman if you're looking for Las Vegas nightlife.

And take mosquito repellent if you are out in the evening.

Our second time here and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
17.8 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
98 reviews
20.7 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
14 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Cayman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Cayman Beach Resort

Address: 1128 Guy Banks Road | Blossom Village, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range: $150 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Cayman Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the world's top dive destinations with the legendary Bloody Bay Wall, paired with one-of-a-kind valet diving service and modern tropical amenities. Welcome home! Enjoy your next vacation at the quaint, tropical Little Cayman Beach Resort, featured in Scuba Diving magazine's Top 100 Readers' Choice Survey for the Caribbean and Atlantic. With more than 50 dive sites, a wealth of marine life, shallow reefs, and utterly astounding walls, experience all your dives with our custom-built dive fleet. Our dive sites and colorful marine life provide breathtaking backdrops to capture once-in-a-lifetime photos. During your dive, you can experience the world-renowned Bloody Bay Wall, rated as the best diving in the Caribbean by National Geographic photographer David Doubilet and underwater cinematographer Stan Waterman, and one of the most pristine underwater sites in the world. Little Cayman Beach Resort has 40 air-conditioned, spacious rooms surrounded by lush tropical foliage. Oceanfront rooms overlook our beautiful turquoise water and reef, and pool-view rooms share access to the cozy lounge areas around the resort. Our dining offers a wide variety of international and Caribbean-inspired gourmet cuisine. Choose to dine in our air-conditioned dining room, screened lanai, or al fresco on the patio with our resident iguanas! During your stay, explore the island and its unique wildlife, take a bike or scooter ride to see the entire island, paddle board or kayak Little Cayman's pristine waters, or simply relax at our calming spa. You'll see why the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Cayman Beach Hotel Little Cayman
Little Cayman Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing