We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic quiet getaway”
Review of Paradise Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Villas
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic quiet getaway”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We couldn't have been happier with our choice for our weeklong getaway trip. If it's low-key quiet and relaxation you're looking for without a "hotel" feel, this is a great place. The managers were genuinely interested in doing what they could to help us find what we wanted on Little Cayman (good beaches, snorkeling spots, scooters, etc.) and helped arrange when needed. The view from the porch or hammocks was flat-out gorgeous. The units are nice, great beds, and the small kitchen was particularly helpful. Restaurant was very good - every day we looked forward to our dinner on the restaurant porch, listening to the waves and enjoying the meal as the sun went down. We'd go back to these villas again without hesitation.

A few tips for Little Cayman. If you want to explore, a scooter is a great way to do it, and you'll need a scooter or car to comfortably get out to the east end where some of the beautiful beaches are. Snorkeling was great, particularly at Bloody Bay. If you're a good swimmer, several excellent dive sites with mooring bouys are accessible to a snorkeler from the beach. These sites are over a "mini wall" inside the bay's main wall, 10-30 down which gives snorkelers great viewing and chances to see turtles and spotted rays. Last, Little Cayman is remote with prices to match. Liquor and grocery store are steps away from Paradise Villas, but byob and staples like good coffee are recommended.

The only possible caveat to mention at Paradise is there will be some prop plane noise 3-4 times a day, for anyone bothered by that. The LC airport is close, and by about 8:30 in the morning the first flight takes off with a few seconds of moderate noise. No noise really early or late, and we weren't bothered at all.

Room Tip: Lower numbers are farther away from pool and restaurant. But neither pool nor restaurant were genera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denverite S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
131
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent a week diving on Little Cayman and Paradise Villas offered the perfect place to relax and unwind. If you're looking for a big swimming beach, jet skis, parasailing. etc., look elsewhere, as in another island. Little Cayman is very low-key. If you want fabulous diving, meticulously clean accomodations, a comfortable bed and a friendly staff, Paradise Villas can't be topped. Our morning routine was to sit on the porch with coffee and listen to the surf. After morning dives, I usually adjourned to a hammock on the beach with a book while my husband used the available wifi to catch up on some work. A couple of afternoons, we borrowed bicycles that Paradise Villas makes available and we went for a ride around the island. After dinner, also usually enjoyed al fresco, we would walk along the beach from the restaurant to our room and stare up in amazement at the number of stars visible.
Food in Little Cayman is somewhat expensive and dining options are limited, so be prepared for some sticker shock, especially at the small grocery store. But the Hungry Iguana restaurant, located next to the Villas, offers fresh, well-prepared meals, the portions are generous, the menu varied, and the friendly staff works hard to accomodate special dietary requests.
The team at Conch Club Divers is a delight! They pick divers up and drop them off at the Villas. They are humorous and have an exhaustive knowledge of the walls and reefs. They provide thorough briefings before each dive, bring tanks to the dive platforms so divers don't have to do the shuffle to the end of the boat, and they are there to remove tanks as soon as divers are back on the platform. They work hard to ensure divers of all certification levels have a great experience.

Room Tip: We heard that Villa one is special and in demand, but I have no insight as to why it's considere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayville, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just returned from our first visit to Little Cayman and The Paradise Villas. This was the most relaxing and enjoyable dive trip we have ever taken.
1. The Villa - you are 40-50 ft from the ocean. Sunrise to your left, sunset to your right! The unit was spotless and just big enough for two. Lying in a hammock on water's edge, reading and relaxing was incredible. Biking around the island - no need for cars. Michele would come in every day to clean and was delightful. Mark & Sabine, who manage the Villas, could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The were always there for advice, directions or just good conversation.
2. Diving - with Conch divers was great. All set up in advance by Mark & Sabine. They pick you up in the AM and keep your equipment so you don't have to lug it around all week. Diving the Bloody Bay Wall has always been on our bucket list and we were not disappointed. It was astounding. Teeming with wildlife, colors, turtles, occasional sharks, Moray's, lion-fish,etc. The guides, Bill (the owner), Tim and Claire were at once fun and professional. One of the best dive outfits we have dived with.
3. The Hungry Iguana restaurant is right next door and had delicious food and good service. We are vegetarian/vegan and they made sure a vegan soup and entree were on the menu every night. They would also modify anything on the menu for us. We ate there every night.
They even made vegan muffins for us one morning.
As you can see, overall, it was a fantastic week. We can't wait to go back. If you're looking for great diving, relaxation, nice people, beautiful sights above and below the waterline, and are not interested in shopping and nightclubs and buffets - this is the perfect place.
Don't miss it!!

Room Tip: Villas 11 & 12 have the best WiFi. Villas 1-4 are the most private. All are identical and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apuerini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I and our adult son spent 3days at Paradise Villas for a family holiday and we were very pleased with our choice. Our son lives and works on Grand Cayman so this was a new area for everyone. You do not have to be a diver to be thrilled with your stay. Our porch view was spectacular and yes you can walk to the essentials. We ate lunch and dinner at the Hungry Iguana and were very pleased and enjoyed meeting Janet,one of the resident Iguanas.Marc and Sabine are gracious hosts and helpful with suggestions as were the rest of the staff. Being water people it was a treat to leave the windows open and listen to the sound of the ocean all the time and enjoy the ocean breeze. Being from Canada our lake water we enjoy is frozen at this time. We would certainly return to Paradise Villas some time and since my son and I do dive we would see another side of the island next time. Oh yes be sure to explore the beach just past the last villa as it is a lovely spot for a quick swim in the ocean!

Room Tip: The middle villas are very handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennellville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our unit was very clean, management was nice. If you are looking for peace and quiet then this place could be perfect. On the downside.....i went into the restaurant to have lunch at 2:35 which is 5 minutes after they stop serving to be turn turned away by the bartender. In most places this would not matter but with no options we were not very happy. WE would stay at the Little Cayman Beach club next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desireewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Paradise Villas in mid-January 2013. We had the very end unit (#1), which we had specifically requested, and it was wonderful. By total chance our stay coincided with a brief lull in Little Cayman's bookings (between Xmas and high season), and the entire week we were there the adjoining villa was empty. Consequently we had lots of privacy and lots of peace and quiet, though to be fair, with only twelve units total, it's hard to imagine Paradise really getting that rowdy even when fully booked.

Except for a father and young adult son who we dived with most of the week, the other guests were middle-aged to older couples who were there to dive and/or snorkel. There were no young children the week we stayed, which, for us, was a plus, but YMMV.

Sabine met us at the airstrip, which, as most people reading these reviews probably know already, is about 50 -100 yards away from Paradise Villas. You basically get off the plane and walk to your villa. As a quick aside, for anyone thinking that being close to the airstrip means noisy, I absolutely promise that it is a non-issue.

The island's only grocery store (warning: $$$$) is another 50-100 yard walk from Paradise Villas, and there's also a liquor store (also $$$$), a scooter/car rental, and a couple of other ancillary small businesses. We split our dining options between items purchased at the grocery store and meals had at The Hungry Iguana (separate review).

BTW, for people looking to save money on their trip, I would recommend bringing as much of your own food (and liquor, if desired) as you can. Even with airlines charging $50 USD or whatever to check a bag, it would be worth it to take an extra bag and pack it full of groceries for your trip to LC.

The accommodations (villas) at Paradise are 1/2 of a duplex cottage, with separate entrances front and back, and shared patio space in the back. The actual room/mini-suite consists of a medium-sized bedroom area when you enter the front, with a decent-sized bathroom and closet area (toilet and shower are separated by a door from the sink/mirror area, which is a plus). The back half of the suite is mostly taken up by the kitchenette (small fridge, microwave, large sink, coffee maker, two-burner hot plate, utensils, pots/pans, and dishes). which also has a dining table and seating for four. A small sitting area (sofa, coffee table) adjoins the kitchenette. Finally, there's the back door to the patio and beach area.

The patio has a table with chairs that is perfect for outdoor dining/drinks, and there's also lounge chairs AND shaded/unshaded hammocks available. The water is maybe 20 yards from your back door, and because there's really not very much boat traffic outside of the dive boats which generally run in the mornings (and you're on one of them, probably) it's basically just the sound of the waves and you. Awesome. Oh, there's also NO jetskis, which frankly have spoiled many other so-called idyllic vacation spots- cough Bora Bora-cough.

I would describe the service at PV as unobtrusive, in a very good way. Housekeeping does its thing while you are out on your AM dives, and nobody bothers you by knocking on your door at odd hours to see if you need anything or whatever. Staff are available if you need them, but we didn't (no problems with A/C, shower, etc.), and they left us alone. Perfect.

We dived with Conch Club all week, and both Matt and Claire were excellent dive-masters and diving companions. As others have noted, they are attentive but not intrusive, safe but not over-protective. The dive briefings are thorough and interesting, and the diving ranged from good (some limited viz) to very, very good, with one particular dive at the Mixing Bowl being one of my fav dives ever! Frankly, my expectations of the quality of diving that we would experience were quite modest, and I am happy to report that they were exceeded on just about everyone of our thirteen dives. It also helped that we were diving with folks who, really, were just a genuine pleasure to dive with, and to put it as succinctly as possible, I do not have a single complaint about our diving experience with Conch Club.

I said it all during our stay and I will say it here: Given the accommodations, accessibility to groceries etc., relationship with Conch Club Divers, quality of The Hungry Iguana, proximity to the airstrip, and fantastically relaxing atmosphere. I do not see why anyone would stay anywhere else on Little Cayman. There's so many places in the world to travel to, and only so much time and money, so, honestly, I do not know if we will ever go back to Little Cayman. But it's not out of the question, and if we do, I can say for sure that we will be going back to Paradise Villas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honu-rangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Ill.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recently, our family of ten (ages11-77) rented four units at Paradise Villas. The cottages were clean, and comfortable with porches in front and in back. A wonderful place to gather to watch the sunrise and sunset. We all enjoyed our week which included scuba diving, snorkeling, bird watching, biking, and exploring the island. The Hungry Iguana is a delightful place to eat and the food was delicious! Our 15 year old grandson wrote us a thank you note and said, "Thank you for
the superb trip to Little Cayman. It was great, I enjoyed every moment I was there". We all agree
and hope to return. Marie

Room Tip: All cottages are on the water with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
18.4 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
21.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Villas

Property: Paradise Villas
Address: Paradise Villas Lane, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our twelve oceanfront villas are located a mere 50 feet from the Sea. They each feature a large front and back porch, air conditioning, and a kitchenette equipped with a coffee maker, toaster, microwave oven, refrigerator/freezer, as well as necessary kitchen dishes and utensils. Our "Hungry Iguana" Restaurant & Bar serves lunch & dinner with daily specials and special requests! So if small, quiet & private appeals to you....contact us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Paradise Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Villas Hotel Little Cayman
Paradise Villas Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing