We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual Trip to Pirates Point - Perfect!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirates Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Annual Trip to Pirates Point - Perfect!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from another week at Pirates Point and had a fantastic time as usual. I have been going to Pirates Point just about every year since 2000. It is the perfect place to dive, enjoy excellent food and meet interesting people. The dive masters are awesome. They take their job very seriously and go out of their way to ensure you have the best diving experience possible. The meals prepared by the chefs are outstanding, some of the best meals I ever had. This as well as the peace and tranquility of Pirates Point keeps me coming back year after year. It would be difficult to find anything like Pirates Point anywhere else in the world. It is truly a special place.

Room Tip: highly recommend the ocean front rooms (one of the 5's)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B00per54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    16
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
76
204
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've stayed three times at Pirates Point Resort through the years. This most recent stay lived up to my high expectations. I love to dive while my wife prefers to relax. Pirates Point Resort was perfect for both of us. I got to dive in the morning along the reef on the north side of the island, typically two dives each day, plus an extra night dive during the week. In the afternoon, I joined my wife at the resort for reading and napping. The meals deserve special mention as the food is always special and the chefs are willing to accommodation special desires and limitations.
It's always nice to see my old friends at PPR, including Gay, Martha, and Michelle, and Ed. It was nice to meet new friends on the staff, including Mike and Bob.
The other patrons are always friendly, a common result when many of the guests are divers. I highly recommend Pirates Point Resort

Room Tip: While there are a few rooms with A/C, you may prefer the rooms on the beach with the breeze during m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I just returned from my 17th trip to Pirates Point and once again it was a fabulous week! The staff is the best!! The dive masters are always helpful and just generally all around great folks. Many of the dive masters have been there for years and it feels like visiting old friends year after year. I can't say enough great things about the food. The chefs take great pride in preparing meals that make you feel like you are in a 5 star restaurant every day. Of course, the diving is awesome too!! It's a great vacation spot and it will not disappoint!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The diving is great - bloody bay wall, mini walls, lots of fish, beautiful coral -- all in clear waters. The schedule is relaxed - breakfast at 8, diving at 9, then lunch & free afternoons. No pressure or rushing. The dive masters are very helpful & point out the things you might miss under water. They are also helpful with diving tips if you need some. The people who return year after year are friendly and interesting. The food is fantastic - 3 gourmet meals every day buffet breakfast & lunch, sit down dinner - lots of good meats, fish, chicken, fresh fruits & vegetables - and they will make vegetarian versions of the meat dishes on request. Nicely stocked bar, appetisers at happy hour, good wines at dinner - too many hard to resist desserts. The dominos get competitive after dinner. Nice cool pool for warm afternoon refreshing. Great simple rooms with nice beds & linens. No TVs but there is a VCR with a selection of tapes. Bikes available for cruising around the island.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. No second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Although we were on Little Cayman for reasons other than diving we stopped in for dinner at Pirates Point. What a great evening!! nice to sit down to a home made meal of steak and veggies after eating in other hotels and restaurants for the previous evenings on Grand Cayman.We were with a group of Canadian Journalists who were so happy that we had ventured out this fun meal.
Love the honour system at the bar as well….just write down what you take and then pay at thend of the night…..only in Little Cayman!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

There are resorts that have diving and then there are "dive resorts". This is a diver's diving resort. The diving is absolutely phenomenal, but would not be possible without the comfortable dive boat and excellent dive masters, very helpful and safety conscious. Each of the ten cabins are spacious and clean and centered around a "clubhouse" where there is an open bar, a lovely dining room where truly fabulous food is served three meals a day plus happy hour snacks, and guest gather to visit and play games each evening. Internet access at the clubhouse, no TV. A dinner bell is rung to signal meals, breakfast at 8 a.m. sharp. The shuttles take the divers the short distance to the boat about 9 a.m. and you get back around 2 p.m. A bountiful lunch is immediately served then everyone relaxes and amuses themselves till happy hour officially starts about 6:30 followed by dinner. It was very relaxing and enjoyable and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms do not have air conditioning which doesn't matter depending when you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCLiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was our second amazing visit. Calmer weather this year allowed us to dive on the north side (Bloody Bay Wall, Jackson’s Bight) on all but our last day. This time owner Gladys Howard was on site and her presence is a necessity if you want the full flavor of the Pirates Point experience. Like the captain’s table on a cruise ship, each night at dinner Gladys invites a different group to sit at her table. She is an incredible source of knowledge about the local ecology, history, and colorful personalities. Speaking about a local boarding house she said, “I don’t mean to say it’s small, but you can sit on the commode and fry eggs at the same time.” Last trip in her absence, staff members took turns imitating her “Coffee in the bar” after-dinner announcement (Ed was the best) but this time we got to hear the real thing. After dinner, most of the guests adjourn to the bar where Gladys runs a cutthroat game of dominos until ten or so. (A habit my wife has now picked up.) Gladys also made sure we were able to attend the island Christmas Bazaar where we found a number of handcrafted specialty items and got to meet most of the island’s population.

As you might expect from the score or so of international culinary awards adorning the dining room wall, the food was excellent. They say the measure of a great chef is their ability to cook eggs and the breakfast egg creations by Diane and Jeff were some of my favorite dishes.

The diving was outstanding. They have the same fish you see on Grand Cayman but at twice the size. One of my goals this trip was to get some decent shots of Nassau grouper and that was easily accomplished on our first two dives. We also saw several reef sharks and nurse sharks (sleeping and swimming). Last visit we saw several lionfish on every dive and the same for Grand Cayman last year. This year, no more than four the whole week so the culling seems to be working. One night Jeff served us lionfish sushi.

Another highlight of this trip was the presence of eight or so divers of the Buzzards Bay Buccaneers from Cape Cod. Wicked domino players with tons of great diving stories. All had been here several times before and dive shop owner Steve arranged for a picnic lunch and a van to take us snorkeling at Point of Sand at the far end of the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
1.0 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
19.1 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1427.8 mi away
Saint Peter's Bay
Saint Peter's Bay
#5 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
22.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Point Resort

Property: Pirates Point Resort
Address: 328 Guy Banks Road, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate's Point is an excellent choice for those who want to get away from the crowd and have a vacation truly focused on relaxation, some of the best diving in the world, fabulous food, and great comradery. We offer all-inclusive packages for divers and non-divers alike. We strive to provide our guests with a gracious and welcoming atmosphere where comfort, safety and leisure are our top priority. Pirates Point has a private, spacious dive boat and well trained dive staff. Beginners and experienced divers are welcome. Great snorkeling is found right in front of the resort. Guests also enjoy fishing, swimming, nature trail hikes, bicycle rides, picnics, iguana and bird watching. Pirates Point offers accommodations that are simple, tasteful and immaculate. Our features include: • 11 rooms in cottages • 4 of the 11 rooms are oceanfront with oceanside porches • 5 of the 11 rooms offer air conditioning and are set back from the oceanfront. One of the rooms is designated for singles only (no single supplement). • 1 large oceanfront room with air conditioning ideal for 3 people ($10/day usage fee on AC) • 1 large ocean view room with air conditioning suitable for 4 (parents with children only) ($10/day usage fee on AC) • Daily maid service is provided ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pirates Point Hotel Little Cayman
Pirates Point Resort Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing