We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pirates Point Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirates Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Pirates Point is staffed by long term folks that work very hard to make your island experience great. The food is excellent and if you have special dietary needs, they will meet them. Meals are served at a specific time and a specific menu. It is more like being at a friends who is cooking all your meals and you come to the meal with everyone else. The bungalows are kept clean. Ours needed a bit of maintenance in the ceiling, but nothing that effected the quality of our stay. No TV and no phone in your bungalow is great. Only some of the bungalows are air conditioned. If you are heat sensitive, get one with an A/C in the spring and summer. Although there is a constant breeze, it would be tough if you are used to having A/C to sleep everynight. The A/C worked well, though they request you turn it off when not in the room. So it takes a while for it to cool down when you first get in the room. The scuba diving is excellent and the boat and dive masters are top notch. The airport is very convenient, as is frequent air service to Grand Cayman. Relaxation is the word here. Pirates Point is small and private. You can spend the day and see very few people, none if you want, because the bungalows are separated from each other by trees and space. Pirates Point is casual and definitely a small island experience. It is not the high rise hotel or condo experience, so don't expect it or the frills that go with that. Little Cayman is small and if you are not wanting to scuba dive or rest, you may want to seek a more developed island. Little Cayman is not the island for you if you want the night life scene. Shopping is very limited. The car rental is expensive, but fun, if you want to drive the appox. 20 miles around the island to see the remoteness of it or vist the few other sites on the island. An amazing amount of people return here year after year, so that is a testament to the level of service and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PensacolaESC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    16
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
74
196
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

First, let's make one thing clear. The people at Pirates Point clearly and specifically solicit good reviews on TripAdvisor. Most of the people who have written a review for Pirates Point do not know that there are much better accommodations within just a few blocks of Pirates Point.
Pirates Point (hereafter PP) says they serve 'gourmet food'. That couldn't be further from the truth. I'm not picky either. For 3 of the 5 days we were there, we had chicken for dinner (We were chickened out!). At NONE of the meals do you have much of any choice; including breakfast. At breakfast (and other meals) you eat what they serve, or do without. If you want oatmeal, cereal, or even scrambled eggs, forget it. Additionally, the amount of food is poor. They make ONLY enough food to provide a moderate serving for each guest - and not a spoonful more. Even the salads are not much more than enough chopped up lettuce for each person. And, like other foods, you can ONLY put ONE salad dressing on your salad - because that's all they have - whether you like it or not. Food absolutely is NOT gourmet. It is adequate, but that's it. Their accommodations are adequate, but not nearly comparable to accommodations that exist elsewhere on the island for the same price. The resort is so cheap that they have signs in the rooms telling you that you could be charged extra if you leave the AC on when you are out of the room! Come on! All the staff at PP are VERY nice people - except for a guy named Ed who acts like everything is a pain for him and that he would be much happier if he never saw another tourist. The resort should definitely keep him away from the guests. The diving... They say that they give you more diving than other resorts on the island because they let you dive your whole tank - until you run low on air. Other resorts on the island are just as liberal. However, unlike PP, other resorts on the island offer 3 dives a day; whereas PP only offers 2 dives. PP must drive you about a mile to a dock where they dock there boat. They do not have a dock at their resort and they refrain from telling anyone that. On the boat, they do not get your gear for you, or take your gear back to the racks after a dive - as all the other resorts on the island DO. The boat service is the poorest on the island. They don't even draw a map of the dive sites as the other resorts do. For the money, there's absolutely no question - we will be going back to Little Cayman Beach Resort which has PLENTY of great food, very nice accommodations, 3 dives a day with top notch boat/diving service, and (like PP) very nice people. Once a person goes to Little Cayman Beach Resort, they realize just how overrated PP is. Gourmet Food at PP... No way.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. Insects can easily walk under the doors. Showers and fixtures are old and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Hunter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent a week diving at Pirates Point. The staff was very attentive to all the guests needs. The diving was first rate with in water visibility of over 80 feet. We dove Bloody Bay wall all six days of diving. Can't say enough about the fabulous meals we had for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Never had the same thing twice. This is the second year we have spent at Pirates Point and it was good to see Gladys Howard back reigning over the domino table.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms don't have A/C but with the constant breeze don't need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Wonderful resort - relaxed schedule- great dive masters - no one in a hurry - great food and interaction with other guests. When I first started diving my wife and I went to a new place each year then we found Pirates Point and have been back for six years and are signed up fopr next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I came to Pirates Point with my wife, family and friends, I was looking forward to a simple dive vacation but I got much more than that! Staying a Pirates Point was a great experience, the diving was very good and the food was out of this world! First for the diving, we did two dives a day and were back by lunch. We all felt very safe with the dive masters who were friendly, knowledgable and always looking for interesting things to point out under water. The 42ft diving boat, Yellow Rose III, was very clean and comfortable, it was custom built for Pirates Point. Now for the food, the best way to describe it is, it's like eating at a gourmet restaurant three times a day. The chefs are passionate about what they do and it shows in their food. Pirates Point has won several cooking competitions in the Cayman Islands. There were several times that people from other resorts on the island came to join us for lunch and dinner. All of the chefs are always happy to talk to you about the food and share tips on the cooking. A word of caution though, all of the food is very rich and delicious, so, you may want to jump on those free bikes and do some riding around the island. There are many more great things that can be said about Pirates Point, many of which already have been said, simply put, if you're looking for a great dive experience, good food and family feel, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: All rooms are close to the beach, you won't be disappointed with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Pirate's Point offers an all-inclusive experience, with a communal feel. Safety is a priority, and with deep depths surrounding the beautiful Little Cayman reef, that's a very good thing. The dive masters are happy people; if you've had an 'unhappy' dive master, you will know what a difference that makes. There is no arrogance, no disinterest. These are genuinely smart, experienced, and very likable divers. The diving is great; there are the 'big' things like sharks, turtles, rays, to see, and 'little' things, like nudibranchs and seahorses to find. Then there's the dining. The chefs at Pirate's Point love what they do, and it shows in their food. Artistically presented, it's as good as it looks. And even better, they love to share with guests their skills and secrets. After dinner, be sure to take advantage of Gladys's (the owner) invitation to play dominoes (Mexican train). It's a nightly tradition, and makes getting to know your fellow divers fun. When you're not diving, take advantage of the free bike rentals and bike the island, or walk the nature trail Gladys helped develop. Or, create a piece of art with found objects to enter into the Pirate's Point Art Contest. One thing you'll notice is that at least one couple, if not more, staying at the resort has been to Pirate's Point before. Many times. People love this place and return for a reason; plan your trip and find out why!!

Room Tip: Ocean-front rooms are available, but with hammocks and chairs by the beach and pool, it won't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first time visiting Pirates Point in Little Cayman but it won't be our last. My wife and I are experienced divers but this was our son's first dive trip since being certified so we wanted to go someplace that not only offered great diving but that would also give him the extra attention a first time diver needs. I was nervous - having picked the resort only from internet reviews - but it was perfect. Little Cayman is quiet, relaxed, and feels worlds away (though only 100 miles) from the crowds and cruise ships on Grand Cayman. Pirates Point is small too - only 11 rooms. The staff - Gaye, Michelle, Bob, Mike, Martha, Jeff, Diane, and of course Gladys made us feel like part of the family. The dive operation was simple, efficient, and unhurried. We were able to get as much or as little supervision as we wanted. On most of the dives we were in groups of 3 or 4 per dive master at the most. And did we mention the food? It was excellent, healthy and plentiful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
0.6 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#4 of 4 in Little Cayman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
18.9 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Peter's Bay
Saint Peter's Bay
#5 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
23.3 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Point Resort

Property: Pirates Point Resort
Address: 328 Guy Banks Road, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate's Point is an excellent choice for those who want to get away from the crowd and have a vacation truly focused on relaxation, some of the best diving in the world, fabulous food, and great comradery. We offer all-inclusive packages for divers and non-divers alike. We strive to provide our guests with a gracious and welcoming atmosphere where comfort, safety and leisure are our top priority. Pirates Point has a private, spacious dive boat and well trained dive staff. Beginners and experienced divers are welcome. Great snorkeling is found right in front of the resort. Guests also enjoy fishing, swimming, nature trail hikes, bicycle rides, picnics, iguana and bird watching. Pirates Point offers accommodations that are simple, tasteful and immaculate. Our features include: • 11 rooms in cottages • 4 of the 11 rooms are oceanfront with oceanside porches • 5 of the 11 rooms offer air conditioning and are set back from the oceanfront. One of the rooms is designated for singles only (no single supplement). • 1 large oceanfront room with air conditioning ideal for 3 people ($10/day usage fee on AC) • 1 large ocean view room with air conditioning suitable for 4 (parents with children only) ($10/day usage fee on AC) • Daily maid service is provided ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pirates Point Hotel Little Cayman
Pirates Point Resort Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing