We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirates Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I'll begin by saying we have already booked our stay for next April! We have been diving in many spots around the Caribbean, plus Hawaii, but nothing compares with Pirates' Point. Beautiful, friendly, relaxing, with a very sane dive schedule. It is a 20-bed resort on the beach with off-the-chart gourmet meals, airy, roomy accommodations, and an off-the-chart professional dive operation. What makes it very special are the people - friendly, warm staff who cannot do enough for you while you're there and remember you with smiles and hugs when you return. Jeff and Dianne in the kitchen never fail to ask what dietary needs anyone has, and they cook to please! They uphold the amazing menus and recipes started by founder Gladys Howard, who studied at the Courdon Bleu with Julia Child. The dive masters are also running the dining room and the dive shop and the office. They are each uniquely involved in island life and more than willing to share their knowledge. For example, Mike is a resident expert on Iguanas, and he is more than happy to give folks a tour of iguana sites and talk about what Little Cayman is doing to protect this endangered species. Since there are only 20 beds at Pirates' Point, you can get to know the other vacationers well. And by now, having enjoyed 5 vacations there, we have lots of good dive friends, some of whom like to come back when we do. The smallness also means small dive groups of 6 or 8 people. Most are knowledgeable and quite experienced, so the sightings, sharings, and learning opportunities are very rich, and almost everyone is exceptionally careful with the reef. This year we saw wonderful juvenile activity, which gives you hope for the reef's health. Jawfish with eggs in mouth, a tiny juvenile spotted drum that looked like a piece of flotsam at first, a pair of courting groupers caressing and kissing, and much, much more. On one ascent to the boat we came through a school of red squid. Importantly, we saw our dive masters guiding groupers (with their hands) to places where lion fish were lurking, so the groupers could catch and eat them. This is a big step from last year, when the dive masters captured the lion fish, stunned or killed them, and then released them to waiting groupers. Progress! Caymanians are also finding that lion fish is tasty, grilled or in sushi. Which brings me back to the gourmet food. So many fresh and delicious salads, I always come home with great ideas for our summer menus. Grilled fish, chicken, steak, pork, and for those who are conscious about anti-oxidants and such, the berries and nuts and whole grains and dark green leafy's and in abundance. Happy to say I ate without fear and came home having not gained a pound. Maybe that was due to those afternoon bike rides not to be missed. Sharing of diving pix after dinner, and of course the traditional Mexican Train dominoes game add to the sense of community. The only thing missing this year was wonderful Gladys Howard, founder of the resort, who was off the island for a bit. We hope she's there next April!! Here's a shout out to all those good folks at Pirates' Point, and if you are reading this and haven't been there yet, you need to hasten to their website at once and sign up!! You'll be so glad you did! If you are contemplating a dive on Little Cayman because of their famous Bloody Bay Wall, Pirates' Point is hands down the best resort on the island.

Room Tip: We like the cabanas on the beach side because we are starved for salt air off the incoming surf, liv...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Pirates Point Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 497 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

We just returned from our third dive trip to Pirates Point Resort. This is just a terrific place to dive and also dine. The island is small at about 10 miles x 1 mile, with only a few resorts. Things we love most about Pirates Point: (1) The small staff of very friendly and helpful folks who really get to know you and put themselves on the line every minute to make sure the guests have a great experience. Each one has been on the job for several years, up to 29 years for Gay and Ed. The five divemasters are all good at finding the unusual and unique fish and critters on the reef, and truly enjoy diving themselves, it's obvious. Very helpful at getting everyone into and out of the water, too. (2) The gourmet food prepared by two talented chefs, Jeff and Diane. Wow, keep putting more weight in the BCD. Three meals a day, starting with something like eggs benedict for breakfast, homemade cinnamon rolls, coffee cakes, mango pancakes; followed by a lunch of pork loin, or something else equally delicious, and the dinners, always top notch, steaks, BBQ, Mexican food, grilled fish, wonderful salads and vegetables, and always a homemade dessert done in five-star restaurant style. (3) The small number of rooms - ten or so total, which leads to a homey atmosphere, guests get to be friends during the week, open bar is part of the dive package. (4) Not least of all, the diving, because that is really why we go to Little Cayman. The Bloody Bay Wall has some of the most huge barrel sponges and coral formations, with abundant fish life. While we were there in April, we really saw a lot of juveniles of all our favorite fish, the long-snout butterflies, sharp nosed puffers, banded butterflies, trumpetfish.....no current, easy diving in groups of no more than six or eight. Also saw jawfish in the sand with eggs in the mouth, sand tile fish, flounders, southern rays, many, many turtles, and an occasional shark passing by. All the dive sites in Little Cayman are in good shape due to rotating them out of use occasionally and the mooring ball system in place on the island. Due to some fluctuating weather we dove both the north and south side sites and all were well worth diving. Not for the five dive a day Rambo diver here. They offer two dives each day, in the boat at 9 AM, doing the first deep dive by 9:30, your computer and air are your own limit, surface interval on the hook and then back in water for second dive around noon, again dive your own limit, then back to resort for a late lunch and gear rinse, then nap, bike ride, pool, walk around the island, clean up for happy hour and dinner, what a vacation! The only thing missing this trip was owner Gladys Howard, off island for a little while. She is a HOOT! and we missed her a bunch. The evening domino game was still fun but just not quite the same. "Coffee in the bar - it's decaf!" Will we go back? You bet, already looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are non A/C but cool enough with the ocean breezes. They do have some rooms that...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AltoNMDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have had six visits and just booked our 7th!

Small groups, great, gourmet food, and super diving and divemasters!

Room Tip: Quite a variety to chose from, open on the water, rooms a little further back smaller but with AC...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 660DavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

It's all true! Pirates Point is truly a warm and intimate resort, relaxed and friendly, and with great food. And the all-inclusive dive package, which includes 2 dives a day, all meals and alcohol, is very good value.

Rooms are spacious, well laid out and very comfortable. There are lots of hammocks throughout the property and they're well used :-) The food is truly delicious, plentiful and varied. Fish tacos for lunch one day, Southern fried chicken for lunch another day, sushi and tuna night (the highlight) will keep you suspended in delicious anticipation for your next meal.

My husband and I have dived once a year every year for the last 10 years but we learned a few things from the dive instructors that we didn't know we didn't know. We met some really nice fellow guests during our week at Pirates Point and hope to meet up with them at some point again in the future.

The staff are welcoming and generous and they truly care about your experience at Pirates Point. You not only know them by name, but you get to know them well by the end of your stay. I felt comfortable enough, even as a first-timer, to ask for mint and limes from the kitchen and make mojitos one night!

Most guests come back year after year (we met people who'd come back the 14th time, the 10th time, the 4th time, etc., etc.) and we can see why. They make friends with other guests and the staff so going back is really like going home. Often people who've met at Pirates Point go back together. If we go back to Little Cayman, we won't consider going anywhere other than Pirates Point.

If you'd like to dive in the Caribbean, Little Cayman is probably the best place to dive. And Pirates Point is definitely the way to go! Even if you don't dive, it's a lovely place to relax, unwind and meet interesting people. A real vacation! Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are lovely. They have a sea view and lead directly to the beach. Though they...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pokkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Wow, what a trip!!! They do such a great job here. I am truly able to relax enjoy the diving and forget about the rest of the world. The diving is great not only because the dive sites are superb, but also due to the fact the staff runs a very good operation in getting you in and out of the water. They have a great boat for handling divers and they never have too many divers on the boat. you are allowed to dive as long as you like for each of the 2 dives as long as you do not go into deco and maintain at least 500 psi and on Little Cayman you want to stay down as long as you can.
The rooms are very nice and well maintained. They have a nice pool if you want to swim after your dives. They have hammocks in the shade where I seem to fall asleep every afternoon while reading. The resort is right on the shore, so you can go snorkling in the afternoon or grab a bike to ride around the island.
The dining is superb, it compares to any good restaurant in a major city. The number of guest they allow is small so by the end of the week, you feel like everyone is part of your family.
The dive staff not only handles the dives, but help with the work at the resort. You get to know each of them and they always have a good attitude and are willing to lend a friendly hand.
I always feel guilty when I leave as I never feel like I have paid them enough for everything they have done to make my vacation, truly a vacation.
This is my third trip to Pirate's and I know I will be going back again!

Room Tip: get a room on the ocean to enjoy the nice ocean breeze
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hartman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I heartily agree with the positive comments of other reviewers here. I could just end there, but I thought it would be helpful to add in some points not mentioned before and emphasize others.

First, Pirate’s Point is an unparalleled VALUE among Little Cayman dive resorts. It is an ALL inclusive property in a world of nickel & dime supplemental add-ons – All boat diving, all bar, all meals (including wine). – NO surprises!

The property itself is UNIQUE -- Pirate’s Point is the only dive resort on Little Cayman located right on the ocean. You can snorkel and hunt lobster by simply stepping from Pirate’s Point beach into the water.

You leave to dive at 9:00a.m., after breakfast. Lunch is served whenever you return. You dive your computer, not the chef’s lunch schedule. – You use the same boat every dive so you don’t have to swap gear, and your position, from boat to boat.

Guests always have access to the dining room before sunrise to pour fresh coffee and shuffle down to the beach to watch the glowing sun rise out of an azure sea. Ahhhhhh…
It is not unusual (every trip I’ve been on) to have a Champagne/Sushi reception in the owner’s beachfront home.

Pirate’s Point is INTIMATE – As other reviewers have mentioned, being at Pirate’s Point is almost like staying with family. And most guests develop an instant rapport with one another, like being at a neighborhood cookout.

The staff to guest ratio is outstanding. The resort holds 20 guests maximum and there are always at least 7 permanent staff members to serve you. -- You’ll think you are the ONLY one in the world they treat this good, but that’s their secret. They deliver this intimate service to ALL their guests throughout the year.

Pirate’s Point food is FRESH and 5-STAR QUALITY – Gladys Howard, Pirate’s Point impresario and owner, demands fresh vegetables, fruits and fish (personally selected by the chef from local fisherman) – special dietary requests are cheerfully accommodated. – The quality of dishes on the dinner menu is mind-blowing, and award winning. Beware of desserts, they’re rich and irresistible!

Last comment on food: I must admit that at the end of the trip I was ready for a piece of dry toast and glass of skim milk after the richness of the food at PP. But that’s OK, it’s only ONCE A YEAR!

GO before the outside world runs over this one-of-a-kind treasure -- It can’t last forever -- Should be on your bucket list!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The diving in Little Cayman is stellar; I don't need to tell you that.

Pirates Point was absolutely fantastic, exactly what I was looking for.

It is small (10 rooms), immaculately clean, and staffed by warm, welcoming folks who will go the extra mile to make sure your vacation is great. The resort is a on big sprawling compound where you never feel crowded; the staff are open and friendly and make you genuinely feel like they're happy you're there. They take amazing care of all the details, so all you have to do is sip your drink and tell another story. They teach you things you didn't know you wanted to know; they help you become a better diver. They also make you gain weight, because you never have to carry your tanks or gear or suitcases, and they feed you fresh, delicious home-style food 3 times a day.

If you are looking for bars to cruise and discos to party in all night, don't come here. If you are looking for a high-end, exclusive resort where anonymous minions silently serve you, this is not the place for you. Pirates Point is more like going to a family reunion (except in a tropical paradise): You know, complete with all the characters: the slightly deaf old aunt who plays a mean game of dominoes, the gruff uncle who just happens to be a world-class chef, assorted cousins who've come from all over the place and have fascinating life stories, and are eager to hear *your* fascinating life story.... And the guests are equally as colourful. You'll get to know everyone as you dive together, mix each other drinks in the bar before dinner, and sit down to meals at family-style tables and stuff yourselves on the incredible food that is laid before you. You'll meet people you don't want to lose touch with. You'll make plans to come back together on the same week next year. You will waddle back to the airplane with a full belly, a list of new friends, a whole bunch of amazing memories, and a smile you just can't wipe off your face.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NursePamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
19.4 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
94 reviews
22.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
14 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Point Resort

Address: 328 Guy Banks Road, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range: $235 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate's Point is an excellent choice for those who want to get away from the crowd and have a vacation truly focused on relaxation, some of the best diving in the world, fabulous food, and great comradery. We offer all-inclusive packages for divers and non-divers alike. We strive to provide our guests with a gracious and welcoming atmosphere where comfort, safety and leisure are our top priority. Pirates Point has a private, spacious dive boat and well trained dive staff. Beginners and experienced divers are welcome. Great snorkeling is found right in front of the resort. Guests also enjoy fishing, swimming, nature trail hikes, bicycle rides, picnics, iguana and bird watching. Pirates Point offers accommodations that are simple, tasteful and immaculate. Our features include: • 11 rooms in cottages • 4 of the 11 rooms are oceanfront with oceanside porches • 5 of the 11 rooms offer air conditioning and are set back from the oceanfront. One of the rooms is designated for singles only (no single supplement). • 1 large oceanfront room with air conditioning ideal for 3 people ($10/day usage fee on AC) • 1 large ocean view room with air conditioning suitable for 4 (parents with children only) ($10/day usage fee on AC) • Daily maid service is provided ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pirates Point Hotel Little Cayman
Pirates Point Resort Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing