We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirates Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This was my first time to Little Cayman and the Pirates Point Resort. It was a wonderful experience. This is a 10 room resort with no TV or radio so the none diving time could have been long and boring but to my surprise it was neither. In the meeting/bar room there was a variety of conversation pieces, games, and of course the chief made appetizers all set out to entice a very leisurely and enjoyable time to mix and mingle with the other guests. That was entertainment in itself. The resort staff gave intimate hospitality, professional help and knowledge above and below the water. The food was another great experience. It was all five star. Oh! yes the diving. One of the best diving areas in the Caribbean and the staff and their knowledge made the diving a special treat.

Room Tip: There were rooms were A/C and rooms with fans, your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 508 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

We've been to Pirates Point many times over the last 15 or so years and have never been disappointed in the food, the accommodations, the staff (terrific), and the overall ambience of the resort. Little Cayman is probably not for everyone nor for that matter is Pirates Point. If you want night life, go elsewhere. If you want to be entertained, it's the wrong place for you. But if you like good food - really good food - peace and quiet, a wonderfully helpful, congenial, and highly professional staff, excellent diving and dive guides (maybe the best we've been with and we have dived all over the world), and dominoes in the evening (not joking), it is the place for you. Moreover, you are likely to find among the 85 percent repeat clients, people just like you with whom you are likely to become fast friends. There are few places in the world like Pirates Point. If it seems right for you, then it probably is and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ocean view units do not have air conditioning but have good ventilation and a real caribbean feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The owner is very rude, she is quite deaf and screams loudly at customers. Would not recommend giving her any business, it could ruin a trip to Little Cayman since she is omnipresent!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
6  Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratept, Manager at Pirates Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

We suspect that your interaction with the owner was over the phone, since we were closed from mid August until the 29th of Oct and your trip was in Sept.
Gladys Howard does use a hearing aid and occasionally has trouble hearing people on the phone. She usually explains the problem to the caller and asks that they try calling back (hoping for a better connection) or contact us by email. We are sorry if neither of these options worked for you and that your experience was not a positive one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Little Cayman was really wonderful! I personally preferred Little Cayman over Grand Cayman. It was the secluded and less developed type of place I was looking for.

Pirate's Point Resort was fabulous. It was cozy diving resort with a family like atmosphere, with really great food. The people who run it are very organized and friendly. Most nights, Gladys, the owner of the resort, would have domino games which we joined for 2nights. It was so fun and gave us a chance to be social with the other resort guests. Pirate's Point gives a lot of personal attention to their guests, from food to social activities.

The diving was also fantastic! Their gear was in good shape and the dive masters were awesome and very knowledgeable. They really take the time to help you improve in your technique and skills to become a better diver, which I really appreciated. I completed my Advanced Open Water Certification on the last day there! The Bloody Bay Wall, where they took us diving, was a great reef wall abundant with marine life with beautiful massive sponges, a lot of reef sharks, turtles, rays, seahorses, lobsters, crabs etc. We did some snorkelling by the resort and by Point of Sand, but the diving cannot compare!

Pirate's Point was very friendly, the island was beautiful and natural, and my boyfriend and I had a really great holiday!

I would definitely stay at Pirate's Point resort again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank motraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

PPR is small, intimate and quiet. Like so many others, we try to get to PPR at least once a year. We've been repeat guests over the past 14 years.

Great Diving: The dive crew at Pirates Point manages to quietly help each guest become an excellent diver. This equates to hour bottom times for all as well as safe, fun, eco-conscious diving for everyone. If you want to perfect your skills and buoyancy or just get more comfortable in the water, you could not be in better hands. Gay is off the charts talented, but each member of the staff, Martha, Bob, Mike and Michelle, is great. They love diving in Little Cayman's preserve and want you to love it too.

I just had some cattle boat dives off a cruise ship in nice locations, but the dive crews ignored the novices and we had emergency returns on 2 out of 4 dives. Experiences like these just makes me appreciate PPR that much more.

Food: Getting fresh meats, fish, veggies and fruits in the islands is very difficult and expensive. The food at PPR is the best on the island and it's excellent. Jeff really outdid himself on my last visit.

Digs: The resort has that 1950s florida feel to it. The rooms are comfortable but not luxurious. The ocean front duplexes have fans but no AC, are spacious and fairly private, with a shared ocean side balcony. Some AC rooms are in a quad. These rooms are not as spacious and with little view.

Schedule: Breakfast then 9-1:30 Dive, lunch, pm to yourself - biking, walking snorkel, hammock, reading....then dinner, it's quiet and relaxing.

Local - bird and iguana watching are big for those interested.

Lionfish update: Weekly culling is keeping the reefs in great shape, and creating some interesting shark behavior.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Pirates Point lives up to it's excellent reputation. In short, the diving
is terrific, the staff very helpful and the food up to the standards of a
gourmet restaurant in a large city. This is a very laid back, relaxing and
unhurried resort.

Getting there is easy with quite a few flights to Grand Cayman. The
flight to Little Cayman is on Cayman air which seems to run on time and
often.

The resort is close to the airport and sits by itself on about 1 mile of
beach. Everything about the resort is of good quality, clean and in good
condition. The atmosphere is relaxed but runs on time and efficiently.
Most of the guests are repeat visitors.

Diving: Bloody bay wall is incredible! Visibility seemed to be greater
than 100 ft. and there is very little if any current. Parts of the wall
are a dramatic vertical drop to who knows where. There is a huge variety
of small and medium fish with a large friendly groupers as well as turtles,
eagle rays, sting rays and sharks. Healthy sponges and soft corals are present in
larger numbers and more variety than I have seen anywhere else.
We did 2 morning dives starting at 9:00 and back by lunch at about 2:00.
The first dive was on the wall to a maximum of 100 ft. finishing near the
boat for as long as you want but back on the boat with 500 #. The second
dive was to 60 ft. again no time limit. Good quality rental gear and
computers were available. No afternoon dives and we did not ask for a
night dive.

Our gear stayed on the boat and the dive masters were very helpful getting
in and out of the water. The dive leaders went at our pace and did a great
job of finding small critters. Safety is an obvious concern with good
briefings, head counts and everything else you would expect of a first
class operation.

Accommodations: Large, quiet, very comfortable rooms, some ocean view
without AC and some garden view with AC. All rooms are within 100 ft of
the lounge and dining room and in very good condition. The maximum number
of guests is 20. A medium size fresh water pool overlooks the ocean.

Food: Breakfast and lunch were very good with a lot of variety. Dinner
was truly of gourmet quality and presentation. The chef sought out
comments and was quite willing to make alterations.

The staff: Starting with Gladys Howard, the owner, everyone was very
helpful and eager to be of service. They were also very fast and
efficient, so much so, that trying to help them, I just got in the way.

If you are looking for great diving, great food and a relaxing vacation
this is the best I have experienced.

Room Tip: Only in the highest heat of summer, the AC rooms are a good idea, otherwise ask for an oceanfront ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wlathamde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I have been to Grand Cayman a few times and always wanted to go to a sister island. After reading about the resorts and the diving on both islands we choose Pirates Point and very glad we did.

Can't stay enough about this unique , wonderful place. Gladys and her staff are the best, that's why so many people go back. Enjoyed everything;Gladys and her great stories , dive masters very knowledgeable - my husband received his certification thanks to Martha, food exceptional, met great interesting people, learn from Mike about the study and preservation efforts being done on the Rock Iquanas, I snorkeled off the boat -it was fantastic, we celbrated a guest birthday-Bob made it intresting with his many hats.Gay and Michele were always so helpful.

Gladys and her staff are number 1 in service and just making sure that the guest come first. Wished we were there this week to celebrate 25 years of Pirates Point.
Would go back, wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zipNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
19.4 mi away
Le Soleil d'Or
Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
97 reviews
22.2 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#2 of 3 in Cayman Brac
14 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Point Resort

Address: 328 Guy Banks Road, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range: $235 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirates Point Resort sits on 7 acres of secluded sandy beach in an unspoiled island. With a total of 11 rooms and 9 staff, Pirates Point is able to achieve the perfect balance between privacy and a family environment. Diving in the Bloody Bay Marine Park has never been so easy and comfortable. Our team of highly skilled dive guides will ensure you have a wonderful time and, if you so wish, become a more experienced diver. One of the unique aspects about diving with Pirates Point is that bottom times are not enforced. Meal times at Pirates Point are a highlight of the Little Cayman experience. Our gourmet chefs prepare each meal thoughtfully, impressing our guests with both traditional recipes and inspired creations. The success of Pirates Point can also be measured by both the high percentage of returning guests, and the long-term staff. Coupled with the blissful setting, this will no doubt make Pirates Point "Your island home away from home". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pirates Point Hotel Little Cayman
Pirates Point Resort Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing