We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Little Cayman Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Iguana Restaurant

Hungry Iguana Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little Cayman Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Iggy was a fun place to hang out and I really liked the back porch and outdoor seating area. Thanks Nora for the good drinks and keeping us entertained in the afternoons. I wish you the best!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ski3r4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    46
    13
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tasty fish and chips, gorgeous view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We came to Little Cayman just for the day, by boat from the Brac. I thought the Hungry Iguana was a lovely spot - painted bright white, with a lovely shady and breezy patio with a view of the ocean. Food was served quickly, service was good, and the fish and chips with lemon and tartar sauce was really tasty!! Considering how tiny this island is, I was really impressed :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NDGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beware of food shortages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Little Cayman gets weekly delivery by barge/tug boat of food and so when weather rough in winter the island runs out of things. While we were there the restaurant ran out of chips (French fries). However the food was lovely especially the lion fish fingers, we ate here every day mostly for lunch as cheaper than dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chornayakoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Cayman
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hungry Iguana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My favourite place to eat on the island. Simple food, good friendly service - love having a snack lunch on the verandah...Mosquitos drive me in at night,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C-Seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fabulous location & average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great location really just a 2-minute walk from the tiny airport! There are two different buildings: one is closer to the road and the other is across the parking lot and closer to the sea, with a porch seating area with incredible views. The service was friendly, attentive, unobtrusive, and quick. The overall atmosphere was okay, but did not have quite the hip, Caribbean character I was expecting, but rather felt somewhat generic. An exception to this was what seems to be resident iguanas frequenting the porch, who did seem hungry and anxious for hand-outs; it was amazing to see them up close. The restroom doors were similarly painted with hip iguanas. Other than that, though, it was pretty generic. Parties at tables on each side of us on the porch were smoking, and that was unpleasant.

The food was good. We had lionfish fingers as recommended by others here. They were deep fried and a bit dry, but the spicy jerk mayonnaise sauce they were served with made up for that, so they were pleasant. We also had a jerk chicken quesadilla, served with pico, sour cream, and guacamole. It was large and along with the appetizer easily satisfied two of us. The jerk spices were very hot, but was a pleasant rather burn that lingered on the lips. Prices were typical for casual Cayman Islands eateries.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamitxoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Iguana Restaurant also viewed

Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Hungry Iguana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing