We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven in the mountains”
other travelers have booked this property
In fields and pastures
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In fields and pastures
On the slopes of Aran Benllyn The house below the mountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
In fields and pastures
On the slopes of Aran Benllyn
The house below the mountain
The house stands watching the world
Sitting room with inglenook fireplace and solid fuel stove
Well equipped kitchen
Bathroom with separate shower
Master Bedroom with king sized bed
Bedroom 2 with views to Lake Bala
Bedroom 3 with views of the mountains
The view towards Lake Bala
Autumn fields
The house in winter
Our VW Polo beside the house at the end of the track
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Llanuwchllyn, Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Sanjay H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven in the mountains”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and daughter call it the best holiday ever. Even Grizzly loved it and has taken to us more after a fantastic week in the mountains. The cottage is ideally located and has all the amenities required for a comfortable stay. The owners are so helpful and give valuable advice on the local dos and donts.

If you looking for a perfect getaway than I would truly recommend this place. People are very friendly and helpful. The caretaker went out of their way, drove up to us and gave us firewood when we ran out.

The cottage has lot of character and the photos do not do justice to the interiors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. Visitor comments help us to make Llechwedd Fwyalchen a really great place to stay.

To ensure that cosy glow of a real fire on top of the central heating system we will try to supply a list of local places and times that guests can buy more firewood.


We hope that you will return to the area during other seasons of the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The access is not great if your in a small car (dirt road up to cottage)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2013
We're delighted that you enjoyed our spacious cottage, where the word "cosy" perhaps best describes the ability of the heating system to keep it 'toasty warm' when it's rather autumnal outside. The glow of the log fire is a bonus. You'll find the tranquillity of the house a joy during all seasons, so please try it again for a spring or summer break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JennCB
Alfreton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday getaway!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have to say that I agree with the previous reviewer - this cottage was truly a lovely place to stay, and if we could we would still be there!

We found the cottage enchanting - clean and tidy, very homely, cosy and friendly. There were clear instructions as to water, heating etc, and the description of the cottage was spot on, in fact it was even better than we had expected!

The farm buildings added to the atmosphere, the shepherd passed by a couple of times and was unobtrusive, and all the local farm people were friendly.

The cottage is ideally situated for visiting Snowdonia and North Wales, and the views are exceptional and breathtaking of mountains and Lake Bala.

Quite simply, we loved it and can only envy the owners - wish we could be there at Christmas!

Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - can't decide on one thing!
Liked least: The road leading to the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2013
We're pleased you liked our mountainside cottage and we're sorry that it's already booked up for the Christmas week this year. Having snow on the hilltops across the valley adds another element to the scenery. We hope you find another opportunity to return to this part of Wales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fino345
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Remote Heaven”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Because the previous review is unfair, I felt I had to speak up for this property. We have just returned from a week at this cottage and it is no less perfect than it was the last time we visited. The beaches, the farmland, the people around the property were all tiptop. Even the cows and sheep that graze the fields around the property were perfectly friendly and accommodating to us city dwellers! I can't help feeling that the previous reviewer blames their own misfortunes on others. We have been to this property before and we will go again – with gusto! That's the kind of review that would assist me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the remote location
Liked least: leaving the property
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will continue to work to ensure that, after their days out around Snowdonia, our guests are delighted to return to this peaceful hideaway. There must be many excuses for a further visit to this part of Wales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK if you do not have pet allergies & can cope with lack of heating when it's cold”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
6
people found this review helpful

01 July 2013.

My husband and myself (both pensioners) and one of our grandchildren (3yrs old) stayed here 22-29 June at £350 cost.

The house and the surrounding views are beautiful. Cottage location is wonderful and the house was spacious and beds comfortable. Kitchen had all the basics one needed. Well done too that there was a clothes airer available. So useful for drying wet towels.

Although the house is isolated, there is a farm building within a few metres from the house, used often by sheep farmer at various times of day/evening. We were never troubled or bothered by the farm activity, just surprised to find buildings used by a working farmer so close to the house yet not visible in pictures given.

We saw this house advertised on eBay (ended listing item number 161030638401). Details we read did not mention the close proximity of the farm building etc, nor did it state that pets are permitted to stay in the house. My family all suffer with allergies and I would never have booked it had I known that pets are permitted to stay. I mentioned to the house owner that from a health and safety point that for the sake of families with allergies, that he should state that pets are permitted to stay. He agreed to include that in current adverts.

It was cold most of the time we were there. The only time the heating definitely came on during our stay was between 7am-9am every day. On occasion when turned to continuous we got heating for a couple of hours. Most of the time the 'continuous' control option did not work and it became very cold especially during the evening. That spoilt our stay.

Dog hairs were everywhere in the large rugs in dining and sitting rooms and although we tried vacuuming them, it had no effect. As well as the rugs, the large bean bag type cushions in sitting room also reeked of dog as did the bedrooms, especially the king size bedroom.

The stone floor in the sitting room is uneven in places so the elderly, infirm or very young would have to take some care.

The garden boundaries are safe. However children under five years and the elderly would have to take care since the garden is uneven in several places, with some drops that could easily cause injury plus there is an UNPROTECTED concreted drop down where the basement window is visible on the side of the property by the front garden. One of us supervised our grandchild continuously when in the garden, for those safety worries.

My comments above are simply for safety reasons since the nearest A&E hospital is at Wrexham (I believe), I think about 30 miles away.

I needed to see a doctor urgently the day after we arrived and found the equivalent of an out of hours GP service in Dollgellau, about 12 or so miles away at the local hospital there.

We found that the side of lake Bala at Llangower (between LLanuchlin and Bala) was a very good site to visit with our grandchild. She could safely play (with supervision) and enjoy the water and less than half hour's drive.

We have been visiting North Wales since the 1970s and the local people and the shops are still as friendly and pleasant as we have always found them.

Just hope no one ever has the misfortune to return from beautiful N Wales to what we had to encounter - a home broken into, burgled, things stolen and property smashed. Then to top it all off, the burglars took our own kitchen fire extinguisher and sprayed our entire kitchen with it so there was a deep blue powder coating across all worktops, floor etc, everything emptied in bedrooms etc etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked least: CH 7-9am daily despite info stating otherwise. Cold rest of day & night. Rugs in living rooms coated in dog hairs and the smell of dogs so overpowering, even in bedrooms, we nearly left the day we arrived.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2013
Sorry to hear that previous guest's pets did not agree with you. We spoke about the heating to confirm instructions at the cottage. Guests always have control and can turn to 'continuous' during chilly weather. The boiler can always keep the house warm when there's ice and snow outside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2013
We're glad you liked our farmhouse cottage and its location for exploring this part of North Wales. We'd be delighted to have you back at Llechwedd Fwyalchen and give you a chance to visit more in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kirsten T
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great walks and outdoor adventures”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2012

I stayed here with friends in the spring time. We were really lucky to have terrific weather and the view from the house was stunning; daffodils, lambs, mountains, the lake- we just had to get out to explore! It was a great base from which to do some lovely walks from the door step- the mountain behind got the heart rate going, but we also did Snowdon and Tryfan which were about an hour's drive away. It was great to come back to a wood burner, enjoy a few drinks and a hearty meal and plan the next day's adventures.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed walking on some of the mountains near Llechwedd Fwyalchen. We hope that you will return soon to try Cadair Idris, the Arenigs across the valley or the Arans which are just above the house. But you might also find time for relaxation on one of the beaches around Harlech.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing