We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay and great for a great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and great for a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

My wife and friend stayed here with me for a 7 day stay in Unit # 122 in April 2010. We found the unit very affordable for the price offered and the owner was very nice with great communication.

The condo itself was on a great property with clean areas all around, great pool, great snorkel and chill beach area, hot tub that was shared, pool bar, and great west view for awesome sunsets.

Inside, it was spacious and well kept, with one of the best air conditioners I have ever had in a rental condo for the duration of the stay. The beds were very comfy, it had a safe in the bedroom, a great double walk out balcony on the bottom level which went right outside to a stunning view by the beach.

The only knocks were a host of small moths living in the kitchen cabinets, they were annoying a little, but not something that took away from the experience and the kitchen stove was a little old and did not work very well when we used it a couple of times with burners that were on the fritz, but this again, did not change my mind on this condo or condo area.

Great price, great location, very comfortable, excellent pool, beach, and views! Would definately recommend unit 122 and would gladly be honored to stay here again!

Excellent stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank figurephenatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    77
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
136
53
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

I went to TI condos in January 2010. To give my background, I am a 30 year old physician who rented a condo with friends for a wedding. The facilities were very nice- clean and well-maintained. The Billy Bones bar at the pool is a local hotspot to catch an eyeful of sunbathing beauties. It is still family friendly and not like spring break, but there is definitely a younger presence here. The food at Billy Bones is delicious as they were lucky enough to snag a head chef from another restaurant. Easy walking distance to some shopping and liquor stores. Beach towels are provided by the condos.

The beach has a nice coral reef to swim out to (go out all the way to the buoy). Snorkelers will find a rich array of corals and aquatic life right off the beachfront. The beach itself is not as nice as the Marriott's beach- i.e. it is hard to just walk out into the ocean directly due to the rocks. Go 500 yards to the right and you will be in great beach sand though. A local nightclub, Jet, is about a quarter mile from the condos. This place is great if you like a nice upscale crowd with rocking dance music! This is one of many highlights of the trip for us.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heiljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

The Condos are very spacious and perfectly located for a very convenient holiday. Close to shops, bars, restaurants & the sea and a short enough drive to every attraction on the Island. They are also exceptionally good value.
The pool and bar is not owned by the condo complex but is excellent. Pool is cleaned daily and is lovely and warm with a toddler pool, hot tub and swim up bar too. There are 2 other pools attached to the TI hotel which you can use too. The pool bar is also 3rd party run but has great staff, good value food and a good drink selection. (the rum runner is very nice).
Websites etc that we checked before going all undersold this fantastic place.
Spacious rooms, cleaned daily with bath, hand and beach towels provided. Lovely service from the condo office staff.
True, the coral/lime means it's not an easy walk into the sea but It is however very nice for a quick, convenient snorkel with an array of sea life on your doorstep. You only have to walk for 2 mins in either direction to go straight in on white sand.
Coconut Joes is across the road and offers good food, atmosphere and drinks - try a beergarita!!
Stingray city is a must, the dolphins are held in captivity so it's not the greatest thing and the turtle farm is exactly that - a farm. Good opportunity to get close to turtles and also to taste them. Keep in mind though that they do also release tens of thousands into the wild every year.
A walk to the marriott down the road offers iguanas, turtles and white sand where you only need to go waist deep to have nice tropical fish swimming around you.
All in all, everything you need for a great holiday in Cayman.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewburyRobbieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

After searching through lots of very expensive self-catering places in Seven-Mile Beach for a 5-night stay with friends, we came across Treasure Island Condos. The condos are privately owned so are all different but ours was spacious, with two bedrooms and bathrooms, a large kitchen diner area and patio. It was great to have a kitchen to make our own food, along with a washer dryer which was very handy. It was only a short walk to various bars and restaurants, and the bus route into Georgetown and along Seven-Mile Beach ran from outside.

Although we didn't go for a sea view condo, it was only a one-minute walk to the beach. The beach is a bit rocky, but good for snorkelling, and there are recliners and sunshades on the beach. You can easily walk along the shore to the wider sandy beaches a few minutes away. The swimming pool area was also great, with several pools, a pool bar and jacuzzi.

If you're looking for a good value place to stay and want to experience the gorgeous Cayman Islands without breaking the bank, Treasure Island Condos is ideal.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

We traveled to the Cayman Islands for our wedding. I have been to Grand Cayman over 25 times throughout my life, this is why I decided to chose it as my wedding location. It is beautiful. This is the first time we stayed at TI condo's. We can remember when it used to be a hotel, which is now apartments/condo's for local people. We were a bit skeptical when we booked because we wanted it to be perfect & had never stayed here before.
It turned out to be exactly what we needed. We had 4 other couples that stayed in the condo's as well. Each condo is privately owned and decorated, they are all different. We had a pool/ocean view condo on the first floor. We stayed for 11 nights so it was perfect because we could cook our own meals. It can be a bit pricey if you eat out everyday - depending on where you eat and what your budget is. Please note that the beach at TI condo's is not the best for swimming, it is very rocky and not easily accessible. My husband, father & brother snorkeled, but they even had difficulty entering the water. If you walk down the beach towards the hotel district it gets much nicer & easier to enter. The pool at TI is beautiful & has a lovely swim up bar that serves delicious snacks. If you are looking for somewhere to stay for a reasonable price with many ammenities, then this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmh114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

We had unit 110 which was very large and comfortable. The condo showed some age but overall was fine. Only negative was the sugar ants in the kitchen which persisted throughout our stay which made cooking a little yucky. The beach is very rocky by the condos but we just walked down to the Marriott on the days we ventured into the ocean. The location was very convenient but there is alot to do and see on the island so after a few days of taking taxis and walking, we rented a car and toured the whole island. Do not miss Rum Point. It is paradise on earth. There were no issues with the younger people staying at the resort in front of the condo development. In fact the island was too quiet. We couldn't find a live band anywhere! May is definitely off season which is great if you don't like crowds but if you want a little more activity, you really won't find it anywhere. Overall we enjoyed Treasure Island and Grand Cayman is just beautiful. I think the only other island we found prettier overall was Bermuda. But the Cayman beaches were simply outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdc178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

We recently came back from a 5 night stay at the Treasure Island Condos, in Grand Cayman. This was our second visit to the Island and first time staying at Treasure Island Condo. Honestly, our condo, 109, was okay, not awesome, not great, but okay. You could tell the construction was shabb - the bathrooms especially needed to be updated. The pictures on the website make the condo seen much more luxurious then it really was. At least that was our impression, and we're not really upty type of people.

Another issue we had was the beach was very rocky (see pictures). We ended up walking down the beach in front of other hotels/condos where the sand is much smoother and you can actualy get into the water without any gear.

That being said, the things we liked - the pool is very nice and the bar had decent food and drinks. Sunsets were awesome! We had no problems checking in or out and the overall location of the condos is pretty convenient.

In some reviews I read people complaining about the locals living at Tr.easure Island Resort. We had no issues. They were pretty friendly actualy. We have a 10 month baby and felt totally safe day and night. There wasn't any loud music or crazy partyin going on. There are even some local famailes that live there.

Overall the place wasn't bad, but not exactly what we were looking for when we got there. The price is very reasonable though. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mv99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,846 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Property: Sunset Cove
Address: 299 West Bay Road | Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, Seven Mile Beach 11906, Grand Cayman (Formerly Treasure Island Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Cove resort offers 1, 2 & 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation rental condos on the Southern end of Seven Mile Beach conveniently located to George Town, restaurants, duty-free shopping, nightlife, and water sports. Amenities include the largest swimming pool on Seven Mile Beach with a swim-up snack and cocktail bar, whirlpool, and a separate shallow wading pool for small children. Sunset Cove guests can enjoy both a sandy beach with a protected swimming cove as well as a terrific snorkel reef just outside the cove. Take in beautiful Cayman sunsets from the beach, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunset Cove Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing