We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious but affordable home on the beach”
Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Luxurious but affordable home on the beach”
Reviewed September 3, 2009

After searching through lots of very expensive self-catering places in Seven-Mile Beach for a 5-night stay with friends, we came across Treasure Island Condos. The condos are privately owned so are all different but ours was spacious, with two bedrooms and bathrooms, a large kitchen diner area and patio. It was great to have a kitchen to make our own food, along with a washer dryer which was very handy. It was only a short walk to various bars and restaurants, and the bus route into Georgetown and along Seven-Mile Beach ran from outside.

Although we didn't go for a sea view condo, it was only a one-minute walk to the beach. The beach is a bit rocky, but good for snorkelling, and there are recliners and sunshades on the beach. You can easily walk along the shore to the wider sandy beaches a few minutes away. The swimming pool area was also great, with several pools, a pool bar and jacuzzi.

If you're looking for a good value place to stay and want to experience the gorgeous Cayman Islands without breaking the bank, Treasure Island Condos is ideal.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    78
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
141
56
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We traveled to the Cayman Islands for our wedding. I have been to Grand Cayman over 25 times throughout my life, this is why I decided to chose it as my wedding location. It is beautiful. This is the first time we stayed at TI condo's. We can remember when it used to be a hotel, which is now apartments/condo's for local people. We were a bit skeptical when we booked because we wanted it to be perfect & had never stayed here before.
It turned out to be exactly what we needed. We had 4 other couples that stayed in the condo's as well. Each condo is privately owned and decorated, they are all different. We had a pool/ocean view condo on the first floor. We stayed for 11 nights so it was perfect because we could cook our own meals. It can be a bit pricey if you eat out everyday - depending on where you eat and what your budget is. Please note that the beach at TI condo's is not the best for swimming, it is very rocky and not easily accessible. My husband, father & brother snorkeled, but they even had difficulty entering the water. If you walk down the beach towards the hotel district it gets much nicer & easier to enter. The pool at TI is beautiful & has a lovely swim up bar that serves delicious snacks. If you are looking for somewhere to stay for a reasonable price with many ammenities, then this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmh114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We had unit 110 which was very large and comfortable. The condo showed some age but overall was fine. Only negative was the sugar ants in the kitchen which persisted throughout our stay which made cooking a little yucky. The beach is very rocky by the condos but we just walked down to the Marriott on the days we ventured into the ocean. The location was very convenient but there is alot to do and see on the island so after a few days of taking taxis and walking, we rented a car and toured the whole island. Do not miss Rum Point. It is paradise on earth. There were no issues with the younger people staying at the resort in front of the condo development. In fact the island was too quiet. We couldn't find a live band anywhere! May is definitely off season which is great if you don't like crowds but if you want a little more activity, you really won't find it anywhere. Overall we enjoyed Treasure Island and Grand Cayman is just beautiful. I think the only other island we found prettier overall was Bermuda. But the Cayman beaches were simply outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdc178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We recently came back from a 5 night stay at the Treasure Island Condos, in Grand Cayman. This was our second visit to the Island and first time staying at Treasure Island Condo. Honestly, our condo, 109, was okay, not awesome, not great, but okay. You could tell the construction was shabb - the bathrooms especially needed to be updated. The pictures on the website make the condo seen much more luxurious then it really was. At least that was our impression, and we're not really upty type of people.

Another issue we had was the beach was very rocky (see pictures). We ended up walking down the beach in front of other hotels/condos where the sand is much smoother and you can actualy get into the water without any gear.

That being said, the things we liked - the pool is very nice and the bar had decent food and drinks. Sunsets were awesome! We had no problems checking in or out and the overall location of the condos is pretty convenient.

In some reviews I read people complaining about the locals living at Tr.easure Island Resort. We had no issues. They were pretty friendly actualy. We have a 10 month baby and felt totally safe day and night. There wasn't any loud music or crazy partyin going on. There are even some local famailes that live there.

Overall the place wasn't bad, but not exactly what we were looking for when we got there. The price is very reasonable though. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mv99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Just returned from 8 fabulous days at Treasure Island Condos on 7-mile beach. We had 50 people attending my daughter's destination wedding and most of them stayed at T.I. condos. Every room that we booked had a view of the ocean or pool or both. Even the first floor poolside units had an ocean view. The resort was very clean and had 2 pools plus a separate but attached kiddie pool, a huge hot tub that held up to 15 people, a swim-up pool bar/ restaurant and an almost private snorkeling beach just steps away from the pool. Our party rented 12 condos and I personally visited 7 of them. Each one was tastefully furnished with bright, clean kitchens, nice furniture and big bedrooms. We had fresh towels delivered every day and a change of sheets mid-week. Every one of our guests thoroughly enjoyed their accomodations. We rented an oceanfront condo which were more expensive and worth every dollar extra. The view was breathtaking and the balconies were huge. If you rent one of these, ask for one with a gas barbecue grill as some had them and others didn't. The first floor beachfront units are great if you have children as the patio extends right to the sand and there are no stairs to climb.
The only negative (but not for our party) is that the beach is rocky and is not a "swimming" beach. You'll need water shoes or flippers to navigate the bottom until you get in knee depp and can swim. Most of our party brought their own snorkelling equipment and the snorkelling was fantastic. If you want a traditional sandy beach, all you have to do is walk up the beach a few minutes to the Marriott where you'll find a huge, magnificent white sand beach.
Another plus is that supermarkets, liquor stores and about a dozen reatuarants are within walking distance, although public buses run up and down 7 mile beach all day and night for $2.50 each way.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piezon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

I loved Treasure Island condos and would definitely stay there again. There were 4 of us in a 2 bedroom and we had plenty of room. The condo had everything we could possibly need and was up to date and clean. It is close to a number of good restaurants and the liquor store.

There is a swim up pool bar call ‘Billy Bones’ that we thought was very fun and we liked their food. There is a snorkeling reef right out front of the condos, which is great but it is a bit rocky. You don’t have to walk but a few feet though to get to the smooth beach area.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our flight got in a little after their office hours and they waited at the office for us to get there. Also, they allowed us a late checkout since our departing flight didn’t leave until later in the afternoon. They don’t clean the condos every day but they did bring us new towels and toiletries every day.

We were very pleased with our choice of stay and I would definitely stay there again or recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggiejlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We were thrilled with our ground floor oceanfront condo at Treasure Island. It had plenty of room, it was clean, quiet (couldn't hear any noise from the neighbors through the walls like we have in some hotels!), the view was awesome, Debbie (the manager) was friendly and helpful. These are not luxury accommodations by any means, but they are certainly well-kept and more than adequate for our needs. (5 adults--2 couples, 1 single) We did some cooking to help defray costs, washer and dryer are also in the condo, if needed. Because the beach area there is rocky, we had no problems with crowds, yet we were still able to enjoy swimming and sunning, and saw several people snorkeling. Close to grocery store and lots of restaurants, also. The website photos were true-to-life; same beach, same view, same accommodations. Hope to go back again and again...loved it!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
597 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,048 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Property: Sunset Cove
Address: 299 West Bay Road | Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, Seven Mile Beach 11906, Grand Cayman (Formerly Treasure Island Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Cove resort offers 1, 2 & 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation rental condos on the Southern end of Seven Mile Beach conveniently located to George Town, restaurants, duty-free shopping, nightlife, and water sports. Amenities include the largest swimming pool on Seven Mile Beach with a swim-up snack and cocktail bar, whirlpool, and a separate shallow wading pool for small children. Sunset Cove guests can enjoy both a sandy beach with a protected swimming cove as well as a terrific snorkel reef just outside the cove. Take in beautiful Cayman sunsets from the beach, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunset Cove Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing