We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Loveland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definitely would stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

First time in Grand Cayman. Decided to stay at a condo. This is a nice complex. Beautiful pool great snorkel cove nice pool bar and grill. You can walk to Georgetown as well as other bars restaurants. Grocery store close. Definitely have lunch at billy bones. Stop by the Club House sports bar for tasty eats.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjenncincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    77
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
138
54
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We normally stay at 4 star hotels and Sunset Cove is not, it was everything we hoped for and more. Terrific condo, pool, bar. Beach is not as pretty due to coral/rocks. it was so much better than staying at pricier chain hotels down the beach with nicer beaches but overly crowded.
Stingray City is a must, next door was a terrific restaurant X-Q's - highly recommend for dining in or take out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teek64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for a week in June - my mother, sister, husband, and 4 year old son really enjoyed the condo and the amenities. We stayed in a privately managed unit - not rented out by the condo management - but by a private individual. Their condo was absolutely lovely! Beautiful deck with grill and lounge chairs, water hose for washing of your dive gear or other stuff. The unit was ocean front with great views of the lagoon and ocean out front. This condo was located at the end of 7 mile beach just a short distance from George Town - we walked to town one day - but it's quite a walk. I definitely recommend renting a car to get around the island - you could do the whole bus thing - but I prefer a car. The beach in front of the condo is beautiful, and almost never crowded, there are lounge chairs and little palm thatch huts for shade. The lagoon is great for individuals who want to swim in the ocean without feeling that your out in open water. Lots of people brought their pool floats out into the lagoon - though I wouldn't recommend walking barefoot past the sand line.The snorkeling in the lagoon isn't to bad, there were occasionally small rays and rainbow parrot fish. It would be perfect for someone who isn't comfortable in open water. You can snorkel/swim out of the lagoon into open water for some really great snorkeling just a short swim away. There were no currents that I could tell of - we even took our 4 year old out in his life jacket with us and let him snorkel with us. He loved it! We saw lots of marine life, and even a large school of tarpon. The condo also has a large pool with swim up bar (Billy Bones), kid pool, and hot tub. This was one of the BEST condo/hotel pools I've even been in. Kept immaculately clean. Big enough that it didn't feel crowded when people were there. The bar, Billy Bones, serves drinks and food from around noon until about 10 or 11 at night. They don't really stay open late. But, the food and drinks were some of the best on the island. The locals like to come to the bar for lunch and after 5 for drinks. If the locals come - you know it's good. The wait staff were also good. This would be a good place to take a family with any age kids, it would also be good for groups of friends of all ages. It would also be good if you were traveling alone. I wouldn't recommend this for business travel. Note! This is not part of the Treasure Island hotel - which is in front of the condo. Though you can use their pool and vice versa. Also, when cruise ships are in port - they ARE not allowed to use the facilities. There are some older reviews that talk about the cruise ship people crowding the beach and pool. This does not happen anymore. The condo has a "guard" on the beach and at the pool who monitors this. Everyone staying gets a "pool pass" that your are supposed to keep with you when your at the pool and beach. No one asked for ours while we were there - but the guard's presence was enough to keep the cruise people away. This condo is also within walking distance to at least 2 dive shops, and several restaurants (Coconut Joe's), a few bars (O Bar) and an Irish Pub. All in all. Would definitely stay again! Great place we will be back!

Room Tip: Corner ocean front rooms will be quieter than the rooms on the interior of the condo complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladybythelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We just returned from a week, staying at Sunset Cove Condos, on Seven Mile Beach in Grand Cayman. We rented a 3 Bedroom, 2 bathroom ocean front condo on the third floor for our family of 7 (Room 304). After walking the beach and driving all over the island I would stay here again in a heartbeat, if we were to return. We had a full kitchen, enormous balcony on the ocean with a grill. We were able to buy fresh fish every morning at the fish market (a 3 min. drive into Georgetown on the water) and grill it for dinner at night. When traveling with this many people it was much more affordable for us to make most of our own meals rather than going out to eat every day, so we loved having the full kitchen and grill on the deck.

The beach here is much larger than the other resorts nearby because of the containment wall of rocks built up around the beach, keeping the beach from washing out. The resort is also a lot less crowded than some of the bigger name resorts, like the Marriott or the Westin. There were usually one or two other families out there with us at a time each day. So you almost had your own private beach. The water is sandy at the immediate entry point within the rocky alcove. Then it turns to sea grasses and some old coral/rocks. It is perfect for little kids or beginner snorkelers. However, if you want to see real beauty, swim out past the rocks about 50-100 yrds and you will find the reef. Beautiful fish of all kinds, huge parrot fish, Southern Rays, and many other species of fish. Lovely coral formations as well. The water is between 10'-30' deep depending on how far out you go. But when you swim off shore, don't stop until you see large coral formations all around you. Some people were just swimming just outside the wall and did not realize how close they were to the reef. We took blow up inner tubes tied off to one of us, for our kids to hold onto to get a rest so they could come with us (a short swim, but too far from shore or shallows to put your feet down to rest or adjust your goggles for a child when we stayed out for a longer period of time). The inner tube also let any boaters or jet skiers see where we were.

Our kids loved running back and forth between the beach and the pool. Again, we almost had that to ourselves as well. The pool has a couple of small waterfalls the kids enjoyed playing in, and a baby pool if you have little children. There is a swim up bar on the far end as well. You can get something to eat at the tables while your kids play in the pool if you like, though we did not eat here. There are ample reclining chairs for everyone at both the pool and the beach. In both locations are palm trees for shade and one palapa on the beach. With the number of people sharing the beach this was almost always available and then there were the palms if that was taken.

We were a little worried when we pulled up off the highway and saw the back of the resort. It looks like old apartments (see the picture I uploaded of the worn down orange colored building. These are the apartment rentals) that are in desperate need of repair. There are two parts of Sunset Cove on one property. There are units that they rent to locals, foreigners working here, and medical students. These are not very nice looking from the outside at least. However, you drive through the parking lot and will reach the 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom (mostly pool side, some ocean), and 3 bedroom (all ocean front - I would go with these) condos. The 3 bedroom condos are the only ones that have grills on the decks since they are tiered and open above. They are also huge decks, about as big as the living room. We had our dinner outside every night. Beautiful sunset views. The third floor offered us the best views. If you have little children or elderly family in your party, I would recommend the ground floor, so you don't have to do stairs. There is no elevator.

The staff were friendly, and Mike, at the office, was very courteous and laid back. Note that the office is only open for a few hours every day, so you have to time when you need to get in touch with them for any needs. We ran out of gas for the grill and they sent someone up to change it for us. We did not use the weekly maid service so we had to bring our own toilet paper, trash bags, and toiletries. Not a big deal, but good to plan for. They do have enough towels for everyone to use for showering as well as separate beach towels so you do not need to pack your own. There is a washer and dryer too, so we did laundry mid week to keep the towels fresh and so we were able to pack light for our week there.

I would recommend this resort to families with children of all ages, couples, retired folks. It is a quiet resort and we felt very safe. You can walk to some shopping and many different restaurants (don't miss Coconut Joe's across the street). But renting a car is the way to go on the island. We drove all over (on the left side of the road), and were able to see so much, snorkel on many different beaches, and move at our own pace. I hope you enjoy the resort and island as much as we did.

Room Tip: It's worth staying in the 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath ocean front condos if the price is not too much for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jenniebdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed in Sunset Cove in the end of April. We had an ocean view condo on the third floor. The condo was very clean and well maintained. All of the necessities were provided - including dish soap and laundry detergent, which was nice. The bed was quite uncomfortable, and I'm usually not one to have an issue with this. Air conditioning worked well. There was a beautiful balcony/outdoor space. I would consider this a high quality 3 star acomodation. I have no qualms about recommending this place to others.

The beach is ok. As you can see on their website, they have a manmade lagoon. Its pleasant enough to swim in, but I missed having waves crashing on the shore. To get to the rest of 7 mile beach, you have to walk through a rocky patch - it takes about 3-4 minutes to traverse - not a deal breaker, by any means.

The grounds and pool are lovely. The bar/restaurant is ok. We ate lunch there one day and felt like it was pretty average. The Treasure Island Resort immediately adjacent to this property, however, is a total nightmare. It is clearly not fit for tourists - especially not at the prices they advertise.

Grand Cayman itself is nice, but extraordinarily pricey. Definitely rent a car online before you go - we got a really good deal from Hotwire.com and ended up paying $20 less per day than we would have if we rented on arrival. We appreciated the freedom that having a car allowed. And there is free parking at the condo, fyi.

Room Tip: Check the condo website if you are travelling in the low season for last minute discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wanderluster94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Cove condo unit #304 from April 17th-April 27th. We had stayed at these condos on two earlier trips (15 and 16 years ago) and some things have definitely changed. As far as the condo itself, it was wonderful! It was oceanfront, wonderful view. It was clean, beds were comfortable, and decorated very lovely. The condo property is well maintained. The hotel that sits in front of the condos is noticeably worn down and not very appealing. I understand by reading some of the other reviews that the hotel has become "home" to many service workers on the island so the ambience is not as nice as it was years ago. We loved the swim-up bar/pool but "locals" seem to frequent this area and when they were there, service was poor for the rest of us, as the bartender/s seemed more interested in their friends. I guess the plus side of that for us is we spent less money. Highlights for us were dinner at Papagallos and going to Rum Point. Disappointments: a) Mother nature wasn't very cooperative during the week we were there, so I was unable to do the snorkeling that I had so hoped to do. b) The island is much busier, seems to have lost some of the "island feel" and c) didn't enjoy eating my dinner with chickens/roosters under my table at some restaurants. The water, however, is still as magnificent as I remember and I already miss waking up each day and looking out over the balcony to watch the ships come in!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mackenna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed with a couple friends at Sunset Cove and everything was absolutely perfect. The condo was very well kept and equipped with everything we would want to spend a relaxing week on the beach! The beach was gorgeous and great for swimming around and doing a little snorkeling. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,925 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Property: Sunset Cove
Address: 299 West Bay Road | Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, Seven Mile Beach 11906, Grand Cayman (Formerly Treasure Island Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Cove resort offers 1, 2 & 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation rental condos on the Southern end of Seven Mile Beach conveniently located to George Town, restaurants, duty-free shopping, nightlife, and water sports. Amenities include the largest swimming pool on Seven Mile Beach with a swim-up snack and cocktail bar, whirlpool, and a separate shallow wading pool for small children. Sunset Cove guests can enjoy both a sandy beach with a protected swimming cove as well as a terrific snorkel reef just outside the cove. Take in beautiful Cayman sunsets from the beach, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunset Cove Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing