We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most relaxing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Meridian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Meridian
Certificate of Excellence
raceland, LA
1 review
“Most relaxing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

Condo was wonderful!! Very clean, well appointed with everything we needed to cook meals. Grocery store right across the street. Beautiful private beach. Very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsumom1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful three week holiday at The Meridian, Grand Cayman. Our son ( 20 yrs) and daughter (17 yrs) loved every minute of their time in Cayman. We all spent long days on the beautiful beach, swimming in the crystal clear sea. The villas are immaculate and the staff outstanding - Lee is second to none in hospitality and attention to detail, nothing is a problem and she will do everything she can to make your time spent in Cayman a truly memorable experience. We will be going back to Cayman and nowhere other than The Meridian will suit us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

My husband and I took our son (26) and his girlfriend for a week to the Meridian having spent a week in Orlando beforehand. We did our research on Trip Advisor and other sites on the internet and came up with the Meridian as our first choice. We were delighted to find that we had chosen well. We have travelled extensively in the Caribbean and stayed in apartments and hotels and were thrilled with the Meridian. The apartment itself (a 2 bedroom on the fifth floor - number 30) was large, airy, beautifully furnished and stocked extremely well. All the apartments are individually owned and furnished so each one may not be stocked the same, but ours was great. It may be a little thing, but to have non-stick pans, kitchen scissors, a blender, plenty of cooking dishes and non -stick oven trays were a real bonus. It really was "home from home" and we really appreciated it. A big thank you to the owners. The maid came in every day and changed the towels. The sheets were changed every other day. Pool/beach towels were changed every day also.
Another bonus was that all the balconies in the Meridian have mosquito proof net around them. The mossies are a real problem at night as we found when we tried to bbq (3 great huge gas bbq's out by the pool.) We had to cook outside, but eat inside. My husband had to use lots of mosquito spray before going out. July and August are worst, but I think that all year long the mossies are a problem.
The apartment aside though, the beach has to be one of the best in the world.. It certainly was equal first for us (equal to Grace Bay in Turks and Caicos - though I understand this is now a lot more developed that when we visited). The Meridian is certainly placed perfectly in the best part with white sand, the clearest and warmest water you could wish for. Plenty and sun beds and umbrellas. The Ritz Carlton was 4 blocks away (north) and the beach there was so busy I could not imagine why anyone would want to stay there. Having said that, it was quite nice to go between 5 and 7 pm for a pitcher of margaritas and a bowl of nachos for 25 CI dollars.
Must does whilst in GC. Go to Stingray City and swim with the rays. We went with Dexter and Fantasea tours - a great afternoon out.
The turtle farm was also worth the visit.
The down of Grand Cayman was that despite visiting many islands in the Caribbean we did find it very expensive. Everything is priced in Cayman Island dollars. You can pay in US dollars (the rate was about 1.55 during our stay) but you pay more than the price shown. A tip would be to buy some duty free at the airport before flying to GC as liquor (only available from liquor stores, not the supermarket) is very expensive - about 25 CI dollars for a bottle of rum or gin. By the way, supermarket and liquor stores were both across the road from the Meridian - everything you could want available.
Sorry this is a long review, but we always rely on Trip Advisor and thought it only fair that we did our bit to help other potential visitors to GC.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

My Family recently spent 12 nights in Grand Cayman ( June - July ) staying at The Meridian. The Meridian is a condo and was a great choice. The Condo unit is roomy, the majority are 1800 sq. ft. and ours was on the top floor (the condo unit has 6 floors) and was 3800 sq. ft. Lots of room for everyone. The location is in the middle of 7 mile beach and the beach itself was wonderful. A great plus for the 7 mile beach sand is even though it was in the 90's everyday, the sand was not hot on your feet.
Even though The Meridian is a condo, Monday - Saturday you get room service where they make your beds (change bedding twice per week) clean the whole condo unit and put your dishes in and out of the dishwasher if you cannot be bothered.
There are 4 BBQ's, two on either side and they are hooked up to a central propane tank, so there is no worrying about running out of propane while you are cooking. The BBQ's are cleaned every morning and were always in pristine condition.
The manager Lee and her assistant Pat have a A+ staff that keep the grounds clean, the pool and hot tub always working, and any problem you may encounter, I have full confidence that Lee will solve it quickly and in a professional manner. Lee and Pat were also great in suggesting places to eat. All of their suggestions were excellent.
There is a exercise room with all types of equipment and there are two elevators, so you really don't have to wait.
Fosters which is one of the major grocery chains is a 2 minutes walk behind the complex. This was very handy, not having to drive every time you need or forget a item.
Unless you like to eat out every single meal, I do not see why any one would prefer staying at a hotel over The Meridian.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m3rlind0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

My husband and I and our 2 children (ages 12 &14) stayed in the Meridian penthouse (#34) from March 14 thru 21, 2009. We were over the top thrilled with our accommodations. The condo was very spacious and tastefully decorated with a yellow and blue colour scheme. We had maid service every day and the condo was always left spotless. You can't beat the view from the balcony which overlooks seven mile beach. The balcony is a room by itself with 2 couches, 2 double chez lounges and a table with seating for 8. The waterfront has beautiful white soft sand and the water is crystal clear and very sandy and shallow. We brought our blow up rafts and floated in the calm water daily. It was like being in our own backyard in our pool. The Meridian is conveniently located along the main strip. It is in between the Ritz and the Hyatt Beach Suites. There is a condo on either side and we found this part of the beach very quiet with very little boat traffic. The advantage of staying at a condo is that you can prepare breakfast and lunch in your room. The IGA is located directly across the street for convenient grocery shopping. Our dinners were fantastic. I would highly recommend Deckers on Tuesday night for all you can eat Caribbean lobster tails; Ragazzi for paper thin wood burning oven gourmet pizza, Calypso Grille for fresh fish and sticky toffee pudding for dessert, 7 at the Ritz for gourmet dining and excellent service, and Yoshi Sushi for Japanese food. We rented our car from Andy's Car Rental located directly across from the airport. You can take taxis but we preferred to have a car and our disposal. My husband and daughter enjoyed scuba diving with Red Sail Sports. The went on 2 afternoon 1 tank dives. They rented an underwater digital camera from a store in Georgetown called Cathy Church. You rent the camera for the day and return it after your dive. They put all your pictures on a disc for you to keep. Overall, we really enjoyed the Meridian and would not hesitate to go back or to recommend it to other families. We did travel with another family so our kids were not bored but I could see how this could be a problem for families with teens and no friends to amuse them. It was a total trip of R&R!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RHimelfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

Spent 2 weeks here with 4 adults & 2 children (5&2). Have stayed other places on Grand Cayman & enjoyed them but this was the best. Beach is clean with gradual decline so kids could play safely. Pool area is directly off the beach so going back & forth was easy. Maid service was excellent.This is an expensive vacation as prices on the island are high but if you are willing to spend, this place was terrific.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steverino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

My wife and I, along with our two teenagers stayed in a 3bed 2nd floor apartment at the end of December and over New Year.
The apartment was clean, spacious with every conceivable kitchen applicance you could need.

The master bedroom and the lounge enjoyed a large patio overlooking the stunning 7 Mile Beach.

The complex has a nice pool and jacuzzi and is located in a great spot. Across the street are various restaurants and a supermarket and 3 doors up the road you have The Ritz Carlton hotel. The beach was stunning and the sea warm.

No complaints whatsoever, although both the apartments and basic living costs in Grand Cayman are really high. This was not a cheap holiday.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank simongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meridian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meridian

Property: The Meridian
Address: 917 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach 11202, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
32 luxury oceanfront two and three bedroom villas. Fabulously appointed, full kitchens, oceanfront BBQ grills and dining/relaxation areas. Hot tub overlooking the sparkling ocean. Fully equipped gym. Underground parking. Most villas have free USA/Canada/UK phone service. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Meridian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meridian Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Meridian Grand Cayman
The Meridian Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing