We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Previous reviews sum it up..”
Review of Coral Stone Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Stone Club
Certificate of Excellence
Youngstown, OH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Previous reviews sum it up..”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

What can I say that already has not been said. If you are considering staying here be sure to look at condo pictures and unit descriptions at Coral Stones web site. Each unit is different. So if you want a tub or dual sinks in the master bath you need to look at pictures and unit description. Snorkling off the beach is lackluster due to no bottom features but that being said we did see a spotted eagle ray right in front of condo on two differnt days! Walk down the beach toward the Westin and swim out to Governor's Reef. I feel it is worth the 10 minute walk. Yes there are two liquor stores wthin easy walking distance. Plan on paying 2 dollars(U.S.) per beer. 12 pack = 24 dollars. Bottle of Island rum about $30. Sound pricey? Three cocktails at the Ritz ran us $50.00!! Not so bad now is it?! The Foster IGA grocery has most items you should need. Cab ride to/from airport is $23. And yes my credit card did have my cab ride credited to my account! Something I do not recall seeing in a review is the bathroom off of the pool area. Really handy so you don't have to trudge to your room (sand, dripping wet suit, who has the keys). The grills up front actually work! Tanks full and light on first push! We used them twice. If you need a fast food fix there is a KFC in the Fosters plaza area. I tried to cover things previous reviews didn't instead of going over the same old (good) things. Yes I would stay here again and recomend to the best of friends!

Room Tip: Thrid floor for no foot steps/dropped objects noise. Tiles floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TC5020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
133
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Not sure what I can tell you about this place that hasn't already been written....but I'll try! I just got back from a trip with my family (5 adults) and we loved this place. We had unit 36 and it was perfect for us: 3 bedrooms (all with TV), 3 bath, killer beach views, huge comfy sectional (where many of us napped at least once a day) and a huge kitchen and washer/dryer. We are spoiled vacationers so we don't do serious cooking or do much laundry - but you have everything there that you would need, if you felt like wasting a perfect day doing that sort of thing. Actually, the one thing we DID need was a cooler to haul our beer down to the beach, and the unit didn't have one. We went to the office to ask if they had one (they didn't) but the lady there offered to bring her own personal cooler from home the next day - yes, the people that run this place are THAT cool!

We're all pretty well-traveled, but this was a first time for us all in Grand Cayman, and we LOVED it here. There's actually only 1 reason to not book this exact same place again, and that's because I'm a 34 year old dude and had to sleep in the room with the twin beds, as I was the odd man out. Good thing I was too happy to really care! But for real...it would be nice to get a room with at least a full size bed, if the property has one...

Just as everyone else has noted, this place is next to the Ritz and it was really funny to see them all packed in like sardines over there. It's like they're bound by some invisible barrier that kept them off the beach (and even from the the water) directly in front of us. The Ritz had hardly any actual beach that wasn't occupied by loungers...Our beach was wide open and totally uncrowded, even with a volleyball net that rarely got used. We never had a problem getting loungers under the tree (our favorite spot) but most of the covered huts and umbrellas were available, too.

In closing: I would totally would stay here again! It's got everything that you would want in a vacation condo (except a pool bar or restaurant, but who cares??) Also, it is walking distance to the liquor and grocery store, AND you can even take the shopping carts from the store, push your groceries down the road like a hillbilly, and the building will return your empty cart for you! Spoiled, indeed.

Tip: We didn't know that we would get reimbursed for the taxi from the airport, so get a receipt!

Tip #2: Call this number for a taxi: 777-7777. I THINK it is called Ann's Taxi Service...but I KNOW they are the only service that answers every time you call, and when they say "we'll be there right away," they mean it! Usually they would have arrived before we could even get ourselves together and get downstairs. NO WAITING with them !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ripley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our family of four recently stayed in a second floor unit for 10 days. This is an unbelievable property that met and exceeded our expectations.

I have to admit that the property isn't much to look at from the street and parking lot entrance. I was a little worried at first when we pulled up. But the units are fantastic, the beach is first rate, and the clear carribean waters are luxurious.

The unit was exactly as the pictures showed on the website. No hidden suprises. In fact, the unit had even more ameneties than advertised. All high quality cooking utensils and every amenity for eating and grilling at the condo were provided. Great electronics, including ipod docks, smart tvs, stereo, etc. Beds were high quailty, bathrooms well stocked and very nicely updated, and washer/drier was good quality. My only compaint about the unit is that they have tiled floors, which means that noise from above travels down. We had early risers above us with heavy footsteps and lots of stuff being dropped (I assume it was little kids) that woke us up. Some way to dampen the noise from above would be my only issue - but a minor one in the big picture.

The beach is expansive and private. Lots of shade under the palapas and umbrellas. Nice, soft, sand, with very few coral or rocks. Enough room to play volleyball or toss a football without bothering others. Good snorkeling about 50 yards out, with better snorkeling about a quarter mile down the beach by the Westin. Looking at the packed Ritz beach next door made me even happier with our choice.

If you stay here, definitely explore the area. The Sunshine Grill was a favorite of ours. We also enjoyed the Reef Grill, CIMBOCO, and Chicken-Chicken. We walked to all of them, but for some people it may be a bit far to a few of the restaurants. Sunshine Gill is the closest. The Fosters grocery store is very close and easy to walk to, and they let you take the carts back to the condo parking lot. The bus service is safe and efficient for going into town. We also rented a car for two days and hit lots of snorkeling sites, Rum Point, and Starfish Point. I found Andy's Car Rental to be affordable and they even picked me up at the condo.

I highly recommend a Stingray City excursion. Based on recommendations, we used Captain Clinton. It may not be as polished or glitzy as the boats run by the big tour operators, but he was great. Only two other people on the boat and he gave us an extra hour becuase we all were having so much fun snorkeling at Coral Gardens on the way back fron Stingray City. He is a quiet man, but was very kind and good with the kids. He had my teenager drive the boat, which was a big thrill for him. I highly recommend Captain Clinton.

We will be back to Coral Stone Club. These are independently owned condos, so I suppose quality can vary. Also, my caveat is that these are condos, not a hotel. The only service provided is daily cleaning service and there is no on-site restaurant. So if you need to be pampered and waited on, and if you don't want to explore the neighborhood, then a hotel would be a better choice for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texastech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Spent a week with my family at the Coral Stone Club in June 2012. Although it was low season, we snagged the last available property. To echo prior reviews, the beach in front of the Coral Stone Club is ridiculous. It's huge and practically empty. There were always a few people out there, but we never had a problem snagging a chair or a cabana. The sand was gorgeous and soft and the pool was warm and inviting. Each condo is different in terms of furniture, but ours had a large sectional that made it easy for everyone (6 adults, 1 baby) to relax and enjoy the a/c! The condo was extremely clean and well cared for. The cleaning staff was there daily and they were very friendly. The front desk provided us a crib, and when this didn't work up, came a changed it the next day to a pack and play. The manager also lent us her stroller! We paid for groceries and were stocked with what we asked for upon arrival. The screened porch and open air porch were absolutely wonderful for relaxing. We were up on the 3rd floor, but I didn't mind at all - the view was gorgeous. The only downside about Cayman? The cost of the food and drink - it's crazy! Otherwise, I don't have a bad word to say about this condo or the island in general.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkluedke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is an incredible condo complex consisting entirely of 3 bedroom, 3 bath condos. Each unit has the same layout, but are decorated differently. The website has pictures so you can choose what works best for your group or family. Our unit, #35, had two bedrooms with king beds and one with twin beds. The master bedroom has an attached, open balcony that connects to the screened-in balcony that is accessed off of the living room. The kitchen was fully equipped so that you can cook if you so choose (we did one night). At 2100 square feet, there was plenty of room for everyone to spread out. While we had perfect weather for our trip, the condo had a great selection of books and game to keep everyone busy on rainy days. There is a basic cleaning service every day except Sunday. The furniture, beds, and linens were top quality. The location is right next door to the Ritz Carlton and we walked over there one day for lunch. Our beach was wide open and you could always get a beach chair (unlike the Ritz which was packed with row after row of beach chairs). The pool was very nice and had a zero depth entry area. Service was incredible. While we were shown how to use the hurricane sliding glass door when we arrived, on day two we opened it too hard and it came partially off the track. We called for help to the office and a maintenance person was sent up within minutes. Definitely stop in the office for restaurant suggestions. They were able to give us a discount coupon for a great restaurant we visited. We loved the place and definitely did not want to leave to return home. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you have toddlers, pick a ground floor condo so you can go right into the room from the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue1685911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed in unit #35 for 9 nights in late June. The unit was outstanding in every way.

The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. The island was perfect for meals - huge, with super comfortable stools. The living area had plenty of space for our family to sprawl out. We were sad, though, that we didn't figure out that the leather chair reclined until our last night! So so comfortable - how did we miss that? :)

I was surprised on how much we used and enjoyed the screened in porch. I usually woke before the rest of our group and happily spent some quiet time out on the balcony. And every evening, we enjoyed sitting out. We loved the fact that the light had a dimmer and the ceiling fan swirled a nice breeze for us. Most nights we lit some candles and listened to the sound of the water hitting the shore.

The washer and dryer was nice to have - we only packed for 1/2 the stay.

The bathroom towels and beach towels were in excellent condition and replenished daily.

Our entire family was happy with the comfortable beds, quality bedding, and clean, spacious bathrooms. We were pleasantly pleased with the amount of storage available for visitors in each bedroom and bathroom.

Overall, the unit was true to the pictures on the website. The pool was large and well maintained, although, it was a bit too warm (the HOT Caribbean sun everyday). A hose was adding cooler water almost everyday. The beach was incredible - NEVER crowded!!! It was a peaceful, relaxing vacation. I would stay again at Coral Stone Club if we make it back to Grand Cayman.

Room Tip: We loved the 3rd floor for the view, but families with toddlers seemed to enjoy the 1st floor for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Third trip to Grand Cayman but first staying in an apartment. Coral Stone Club was great and would definetely stay there again. 3 bedrooms and plenty of room for 6. Each room has an on suite bathroom and having a kitchen is great for breakfast and lunch. Living room is a great size and leads out onto a screened in porch over looking the pool and Seven Mile beach. The rooms are serviced everyday and they provide beach towels.

Overall this is a great place to stay for a family as you have the extra space not available in a hotel, full kitchen and the ability to eat in and take in a great view over the beach.

The pool is fabulous and we spent many an hour during the day and in the evenings in the pool. They also have blow up toys for the kids in the pool. It also has a shallow end and slooped entry allowing easy access.

Snorkeling directly off Coral Stone isn't the best but you can walk down to the Ritz Cartlton where the snorkeling just off the beach is terrific or go to other spots such as Eden Rock in George Town.

If you are looking for an apartment to stay on seven mile breach you can't go wrong with staying here. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_W_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Stone Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Stone Club

Property: Coral Stone Club
Address: 985 West Bay Road | PO Box 30105, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Stone Club 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Stone Club is the perfect setting for your family vacation. All of our units are beachfront and include a patio or terrace overlooking our zero-entry infinity ledge pool, safe for children yet enjoyable for adults. Whether you prefer to walk straight out on world-famous Seven Mile Beach, or perch higher up for magnificent views of the beach and ocean, our spacious units - each with 2 or 3 bedrooms and 2 or 3 bathrooms - will make you feel right at home, yet somewhere special. Conveniently located walking distance to eighteen restaurants, three spas, a liquor store, supermarket and other shopping, you and your family can easily stock up on items for quick rejuvenation (and wheel the cart into your unit and leave it in our parking lot when finished). Local attractions include a turtle farm, Sting Ray City, and the Caribbean's largest man made wave, located within a skate park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Stone Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Stone Club Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Coral Stone Club Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing