We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$353
$252
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort(Seven Mile Beach)
$540
$479
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$569
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$300
$218
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$899
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$304
$295
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$182
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Club(Seven Mile Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,209)
Filter reviews
3,209 results
Traveler rating
2,460
465
189
60
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,460
465
189
60
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar jackthe ritzclub levelbeach sideresort viewgrand caymanocean frontsushi restauranttasting menusteam roomresort feefour seasonsfront rowrum punchpaddle boardsfitness centerbeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,036 - 3,041 of 3,209 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2007

Styling, profiling as only the Ritz-Carlton can do it. The hotel was a pleasure to be at as we met the friendliest, hardworking staff as well as the nicest travellers, locals, and hotel staff you want on a 5-star vacation. No worries when you go to the Grand Cayman and stay at the Ritz, everything from early AM beach frozen cappucino to mid afteroon, watermellon kabobs, to afternoons cooling towelletes to pat off the extra heat from the glowing sun.

Food is spectacular wherever you eat. Periwinkle's was an awesome spot for casual dining as is 7 for breakfast (recommend a balcony breakfast blitz for some fresh waffles overlooking the beautiful ocean). Blue is a beautiful restaurant, but we did not get the opportunity to eat there, considering we've have eaten at Le Bernardin in Manhattan (quite impressed and broke afterwards) but starving for a Whopper soon afterwards, would recommend nonetheless. Shout out to bartender Chris over at the Calypso Grill whose "Calypso Cocktail" was the best on the island, as was the food/view/staff that was very well worth the 15 minute ride from Ritz (make a reservation or this, always full). Reefs Grill was a great place for a Saturday night dinner as they had Calypso live music afterwards.

If you are not the "let's go swim w/ the portobello's" type as I may add, I am, definitely do the late night Atlantis Submarine in Georgetown (Tues/Thurs Only so make advanced reservations only 48 people on voyage) where your Jamaican captain under many laughs will take you as close as possible to an underground wreck (hopefully you do not hit the ship as we did 100+ feet down under)..Def well worth the $$. To end this off, bring $$$ if you are not used to the NYC dinners and realize that everything is in Cayman$ so 1 USD = .75 Cayman $...well worth it though, great island people, awesome hotel, well worth the price, get the ocean front or else you will regret the walk. Prepare to take a Taxi everywhere because mopeds are dangerous and not as happy as Bermuda.....see you next trip!

2  Thank Pepino_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed at the Ritz GC for a week in July. We had stayed down the beach at the Westin 4 times, and thought we would give the Ritz a try.
I will go back to staying at the Westin.
The Ritz is really nice, but worth twice the money? I don't think so. I can stay at the Westin and eat at the Ritz every day.
What I did not like: Ice machines are a real hike away. Although they put ice in your room every day, it is not always when you want it.
The beach is horribly crowded. At the Westin, I could always sit right at the shore and watch the beautiful ocean. At the Ritz, You are lucky if you can even find enough chairs for your party in the 3rd row. Try viewing the ocean from back there. The chairs have canopys on them, but most were broken. You can get free snorkeling gear and floating mats, but they were always all checked out.
The housekeeping is great. The restaurants are superb. The room was a bit on the small side (we stayed in an ocean front room). There was definitely not enough dresser storage.
We did not include the club level amenities, but I heard from some folks on the beach that it was a real pain in the rear. The club level is on the non-beach side, so you have to cross over everytime you want to use it.
The toiletries you get in the room are inconsistent. Some days I would get mouth wash and shower gel, and some days I had to go ask for it. I never got a fresh bar of soap- 7 days!!
Finally, the bed was not that comfortable.
Save your money and stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kerith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

This is THE place to stay on Grand Cayman, hands down, if you cherish your vacation time, and money although could be used to go further, is not the determining factor!!..This place is paradise. If you can figure out how to stay here with a good rate, save a few bucks by eating around the island, and feel like you are not confined by going overboard with an expensive massage, convienient meal in house, etc, then JUST STAY HERE!..This place is magic....you sit on the beach and butlers bring cold towels, fresh fruit, and wait on you hand and foot.The hotel is NEW, Beautiful, Clean, Huge,First Class, and the staff is equal to the task. The beach is beautiful and fantastic snorkeling is 5 minutes down the beach in front of the Govenors mansion .Several restaurant are within walking distance. The concierge set me up with small dive operations that picked me up on the beach at the hotel, and they were the best, most talked about on Trip Advisor!..My wife and I had the most perfect 7 days. We did the Sunday Brunch at 7 and it may be equal to the best assortment and quality of food i have ever enjoyed. If my kids were young, I would have brought them here in a heartbeat because they have fantastic kids programs with most parents loving it so much that they attend as well. I try to do a different island every year and this will be hard to beat..I know that I met several people staying in condos, who were enjoying as I was at a very good rate,and that I have done that and will do it again..but...if you feel like you deserve a vacation and want to stay at one of the only 5 star hotels in the entire Carrabian...not wash or cook, and have a true RESORT Vacation...STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank philrunner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

This resort delivered, as expected. All aspects of this trip were wonderful thanks to the amazing staff at the Ritz Carlton, Grand Cayman. We scheduled this trip to celebrate my wife's birthday and the news that we are expecting our first child.

Thanks to the reviews on this site and the staff at the resort, we were able to take advantage of many things this resort has to offer.

1. Contact the resort prior to your visit. You will be assigned a Guest Relations coordinator who helps plan your stay. He/She (in our case, Alina) will recommend activities, schedule dining reservations, take care of special events and fill you in on any special ideas the resort has to offer. Most importantly, you have a member of the staff anticipating your arrival and this person is constantly evaluating your experience.

2. Ask to see the amenity binder if you are planning a special event. It is a compilation of every special request the resort can fill easily. They have some great options and most aren't too spendy.

3. Golf in the afternoon. Make a 4pm tee time. Show up at 3pm. Hit the range and then they let you go out whenever you want. At that time, you can keep playing as long as there is still light all for a price much lower than the regular 9 hole or 18 hole rate. The golf staff is great. Lessons aren't too expensive.

4. The Spa is worth the money. I was surprised at rates initially but descriptions on paper don't do the spa justice. The staff greets you at the door and oversees your visit throughout. The rest area prior to your treatment is amazing. There are juices, water, fruit and snacks. After your treatment, make sure you take your La Prarie samples. The locker rooms are well designed and accessible to you even if you aren't vsiting the spa.

5. Ask for a fridge to be placed in your room. It is free and you get to keep the honor bar fridge. That tip was from this site.

6. Rent a car. You have infinite freedom and save on all the cab fares.

7. Food at the hotel is very good. Expensive but not much more than anywhere else on the island. Sushi in the lounge is OK. Nothing amazing. We ate dinner on the beach at 7. Well worth the experience. In room dining is very good. Food on the beach comes quickly and isn't too expensive. Visit Calypso Grill, best dining experience on the island. Chicken!Chicken! is fun.

8. Head to the east end of the island. No tourists. Cayman Kayaks is great. The hotel recommended the sunset cruise. Well worth the cost (very minimal) and you stop to enjoy the sunset. Very easy paddle.

The staff knew us within hours of our visit. Everyone wished us congratulations and Happy Birthday to my wife.

This hotel is not the Holiday Inn by Newark Airport. You can't expect this wonderful resort to be anything less than the Ritz Carlton presence on Grand Cayman. Remember, Grand Cayman is an island. Everything costs more on an island. Ritz Carlton isn't to blame that it costs more to transport goods to a smaller island in the middle of the Caribbean. Keep that in mind when you think about prices and read some of the other reviews on this site.

We recommend this resort. I have been to resorts around the world and the RCGC is one of the best.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wcjirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We went here for our honeymoon July 1-8. We chose the Ritz because we wanted a pampered relaxing time together. We chose right! The grounds were beautiful, peaceful. We stayed in the rear building near the golf course in a "Garden View" room, and it was really great, quiet and the patio was nice to sit out and eat breakfast. The bed was SO comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud. We enjoyed the food, really gourmet and great staff, friendly and helpful (they remembered our names!). We enjoyed hanging out at the rear pool. It was a little more peaceful and conveniently next to the Periwinkle restaurant for pooside lounge-chair-dining (which we did alot!). There were a lot of families and kids, but the rear pool was frequented mostly by adults. The main pool on the beach side was beautiful too, and we liked going there for a swim at night. The beach is great, really calm, blue waters and white sands. The location of the hotel on Seven Mile is great, right in the middle of things and a short trip to town (a $12 taxi are one-way). One thing to know about Grand Cayman and the Ritz is that everything costs a pretty penny! We really splurged on this trip. The restaurants, room service and mini bar, etc are expensive. Dinners are about $130 ($US) at Periwinkle including a glass of wine each and dessert. Our pooside lunches with cocktails and room service breakfasts were about $60-75 ($US). If you want to cut down on costs, I recommend walking about 5 minutes south on the main road to the fast food joints or hitting up the supermarket and buying some provisions and keeping it in the minibar fridge. The most outstanding thing is the service here. They have two housekeeping services a day, one cleaning and one turn-down. When you call the concierge they greet you by name and everything is at your beckoned call. Even the rental car (Avis) is in the building and the valet brings it up front for you. Reservations for all restaurants (they have 3 plus a sushi bar) are done through the concierge. We always made reservations semi-last minute and we usually got the time we wanted. The excursions through the Ritz are a lot more expensive, but it is really the great service and small groups that you are paying for. We did one tour through Ritz and we really enjoyed it. We then went on a cheaper tour with an outside tour company, but the service was bad: they forgot to pick us up, the group was bigger and no snacks were provided. We were so happy with our stay! I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is willing to pay for great service, gourmet food, comfortable rooms and beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank flanneryirleandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews