We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon!”
Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz Carlton for two weeks for our honeymoon and had a fabulous time. We went during low season in July, so the hotel was not crazy crowded.
Granted, this was an expensive vacation, but it was our honeymoon, so we really were willing to spend what we wanted to really enjoy ourselves.
First, let me say that the overall property was very clean and the grounds were very well groomed. The rooms were nice, but fairly small for what the cost is to stay there. We stayed in an Oceanfront room. The bathroom was very well appointed with a marble steam shower and soaking tub with double sinks and were furnished with Bvlgari products which was a treat.
The staff is very friendly and very helpful and even though this is a very upscale, somehow they managed to make it feel warm. Every night with turndown service, they would fill the ice bucket and offer chocolates.
The on site restaurants were excellent. We did spend the money to do dining on the beach under a cabana with tikki torches, etc, which was so delightful and our waiter was fabulous! If this is something you are interested in doing it was VERY EXPENSIVE. I think if I remember correctly the bill came to about $700 because they charge you for the set up and then the food and gratuity is separate. But it was a very romantic experience for our honeymoon. Do not miss the opportunity to dine at Blue. We did the chef tasting menu and it was AMAZING!!!
We also rented a car for the day at the hotel at Hertz on site and it was really simple.
The beach is absolutely breath taking and has towel service with chairs that with optional individual umbrellas. There are tons of activities, jet skiing, aqua bikes, snorkeling, etc. I did swim out and snorkel and saw a ton of fish. There is waiter service on the beach and they are always happy to bring you complimentary water and they always are passing complimentary smoothies and juice. They also come around with scented frozen wash cloths to cool you off which was also a nice treat.
We also took the Ritz charter to Sting Ray City, which was much more expensive than some of the charters off property, but it was so worth it. There were 8 of us including the captain and a guide from the Cousteau society. It was an amazing trip and the best snorkeling I have ever done. It was so awesome!
I could go on and on and on, but all and all I would give this a great rating. It was romantic for us for our honeymoon, but it looked like there was a lot of activities for families too. There is nothing like a Ritz Carlton property and this one does not disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCJEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,272
    435
    173
    52
    33
See reviews for
975
1,248
46
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We just got back from the Ritz Carlton in Grand Cayman where we spent a week and it was GREAT. My agent in Greensboro NC recommended this resort and it was worth the extra cost compared to the others. Also, because the agency we used we recevied a $100 resort credit ....... We could not have been happier!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguru25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Normally I consider myself a Four Seasons customer rather than a Ritz Carlton customer. It seems like both, though, have some locations which are somewhat lackluster (RC downtown atlanta GA, FS Houston TX) compared to their more illustrious other locations,( e.g. FS Chicago, and FS Maui). The Ritz Carlton in Grand Cayman also raises the bar for the Ritz Carlton brand and makes one reconsider preferences.

First off, don’t go here if price is an issue. It’s expensive. There is nothing budget about it, although you do get what you pay for. What you pay for is amazingly attentive service and an invigorating, immaculate atmosphere.

At check-in we were offered drinks and snacks, then the lobby concierge Ervin gave us a tour. Throughout the stay, Ervin made us feel like we were the only guests in the hotel . For example he always called my 2 small children and me by name whenever he saw us, asking what he could do to help. He was like a patrolling concierge and always seemed to know what was going on with our scheduled activities and dining. He would intervene if we needed him and didn’t need to worry about things getting done. He was amazing but just one of many people there who seem to genuinely enjoy making your stay wonderful. Everyone was great. We felt like the only guests in the hotel even though the staff seemed to dote over everyone else in the same way. The warmth of the staff overcame the image I usually have of Ritz Carlton as being stuffy and formal, indicated by its usually ornate and traditional decor.

There are two areas to stay, one being closer to the beach and the other across the road by a different pool and the golf course. Being closer to the beach was better for us as the beach is excellent for small children. Be aware that both pools have ledges but are actually quite deep if you have children who can’t swim yet. The beach was very clean with white sand and calm clear water on most days.

For activities, we went on a sunset cruise not associated directly with the Ritz that was nice. We also went on a snorkeling trip to the sting ray city with Marvin’s tours. Both are recommended and we’d do them again.

The La Prairie spa at the hotel was good. Decorated in silver and white, it’s a trippy atmosphere with excellent services. I do feel that the prices were quite high, likely due to the branding, the decor and the fact that they have a captive audience. If you don’t have time to indulge in services at home it might be worth it. It’s probably likely that you can get equally good services elsewhere at lower prices. I did like this spa, though.

For dining, we liked all the restaurants. There is a lot of Wagyu beef on the menu along with fresh fish and good wines. The prices are in line with what you’d expect for this type of thing. The flagship restaurant, Blue, is set up by Eric Ripert of Le Bernardin. Typical of restaurants established by celebrated chefs away from their main venues, he’s probably not there much and the place seemed to be a little bit on autopilot. The current chef de cuisine is a gentleman named Luis Lujan. The food was excellent, if a little bit predictable. We had an all-seafood tasting menu with paired wines which was very good but seemed a little bit expensive for what it was. All fish was extremely fresh, as it also was in the house sushi bar. Of note, the sushi chefs are Korean and Philippine, if you are interested in Japanese sushi.

Sometimes it seems like a hotel could do better to take a chef with talent but a lower recognition level and let them have a more direct role in the kitchen than have a starred name who’s really not doing much to keep the place vital.

All in all, I’d definitely return to this hotel and felt like it was great. Just remember: if price is an issue it would be hard to enjoy all this while looking at the bill.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SKS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton from April 17-22. Initially upon arriving at the airport, I was disappointed to see major puddles following a heavy rain. An airport worker said it had rained like Niagara Falls. Recognizing that most of the Caribbean Islands get a little bit of rain frequently, I wasn't overly concerned. By the time we got to the hotel, the sun was out. We were greeted by the bellman who took our luggage and introduced us to the concierge who took us to the Club Room, where we checked in. It was early afternoon so the lunchtime meal offering was out. Each day there was a nice selection of meat, cheese, some type of panini, soup, salad ingredients, crackers, bread, etc., 4 selections of desserts, as well as soft drinks, water, champagne, wine, beer, rum punch, etc. All that was necessary if you needed something was simply to ask. By the time we went to our room, our luggage had already been placed there. I highly recommend paying the additional to get Club Room Privileges. Morning time there was always some type of quiche, lots of fruit, lots of baked items, yogurt, mueslix, hot cereal, cold cereals, bagels, etc. Evening appetizers were excellent. Each night varied, but there was always some type of sushi, cheeses, a variety of items depending on the day, coconut shrimp, conch fritters, beef tenderloin satay, lobster satay, egg rolls, cheeses, etc., plus a selection of candies, and later in the evening were wonderful desserts and cordials. No compalints -- it was all good. Since we had a beachfront room, we tended to stay on that side of the hotel, although it is not a long walk to the other pool or the club room which are both on the opposite side of the road from the Beach. Not a problem. The room was very nice, the staff everywhere was over the top. Fabulous. The water in the ocean was cloudy following the rain, but after it cleared out it was crystal clear like pool water. There are (limited) floats available for the pool or the beach, but there were plenty of chaises available at both the pool and the beach. In the ocean, there were also some additional floats that were available... so nice - as well as floating table and chairs and floating beds (which could be reserved for a fee). We worked out each day in the fitness center which was very well equipped with plenty of cardio machines and weight equipment. Classes were offered each day, pilates, power weights, yoga, etc. at designated times. In addition to eating in the Club Room, which was more than adequate, we also ate dinner at Bar Jack (poolside eating), Periwinkle and 7 Prime. 7 Prime has the best steaks ever. We did not eat at Blue, but heard from some other people that it was excellent and well worth the price. The pool, at least the one near the beach was deep.... 4 feet in the shallow end and 10 feet in the deep end, which could be a cause for concern if you have little ones that do not swim well. Fresh fruit was offering during the day, as well as popsicles and ice cream treats. Other than my concern for the pool being deep (which was fine for us), the hotel is tops of all the places I have been. It is centrally located in about the middle of 7 Mile Beach, so we walked both directions and didn't see anything that compared. Not only would I recomment this hotel to a friend, I hope to go back in the future. .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy in KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Grand Cayman and stayed at the Ritz-Carlton. This was my second trip to this property and my husband's first. Everything from check in to check out was beyond our expectations. Our flight from Miami was delayed and I was worried that our scheduled transportation would miss us, but as soon as we walked out of the baggage claim area we saw the driver waiting for us. We were served champage the second we checked in. We were escorted to our room and found a lovely welcome basket, champage and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. Just what we needed after a long day of travel! We had a beautiful ocean front room with access to the club lounge. Club was amazing - excellent food and service. We visited every evening for cocktails and by the third evening we didn't even have to ask for our usual cocktails. We splurged with a luxury cabana during our stay - there was always fresh fruit, water and juice for us to enjoy as well as 4 lougne chairs and a table to snack on. We chose to enjoy a cabana beach dinner one night (food service from Seven). This was by far the most romantic experience we have had. We indulged in a couples massage one afternoon. After our service the technicians led us to a private area of the relaxation santuary that was covered in rose petals with two glasses of champage waiting for us. We hope to return to the Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman very soon!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdespard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2010

The hotel, the beautiful beach, the weather, etc. all of these things were outstanding during our trip. When I am asked how my trip was, however, the first thing I share is how wonderful the people are at the Ritz Carlton GC. We met some outstanding individuals with genuine concern for those who were guests. David and the hostess (sorry that I don't have her name) who worked at the Seven restaurant were wonderful. We returned to our room on the last night of our stay to find a card, a CD with Elvis songs that were downloaded and a cake thanking us for our stay. When we had difficulty working the CD player, Rudolph came and assisted us and even sang along to some of the songs. Every employee that we passed always said hello. Our trip was part of a convention and we were truly grateful that the company chose this location and hotel. The people who work there were great examples of how we should all be in our work and personal life.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stilwell3808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Went for our honeymoon and it was spectacular. From the service, to the amenities, to the food, to the spa, to the tennis, this Ritz is a top notch property. Add to that the fact that Seven Mile Beach is one of the best beaches in the world, and that the Ritz is on the best piece of property on Seven Mile Beach, and it's a no brainer to stay here while visiting Grand Cayman...if, of course, you're willing to spend the money.

I agree with the other reviews, this place is expensive. For instance, I've stayed @ the Four Seasons Maui in Wailea and it's not as expensive as the Ritz Grand Cayman. However, like everything else in life, you get what you pay for. Because of this, we went back for our 1st Anniversary last year. All of the staff members remembered us. The guys @ BarJack remembered what we liked to drink. The waiters at Blue and Periwinkle remembered us from the year before. And, probably most impressive of all, the staff @ the Silver Rain Spa remembered what vegetables and juice we liked while waiting in the relaxation room before our massage. They also remembered what music we liked to listen to while receiving our couples massage. To me, service like this is priceless.

There's really nothing negative I can say about this resort - it is truly one of a kind and one of the finest resorts in the world. We're going back in July for our 2nd Anniversary (this will be our 3rd visit to the Ritz GC in 3 years), and I have a feeling that we'll be returning every summer for a long time to come.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, West Indies, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing