We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Can - Do It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If You Can - Do It”
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Just returned from 5 nights during the middle of October and enjoyed unseasonably warm and very humid weather (89-91 day/79-81 night). We are off-season travelers and found it paid off again. Great weather, although it did sprinkle a few times, forcing us off the beach once. But they are brief and sort of refreshing showers.

The other off-season benefit was low occupancy (and a good room package). The assistant golf pro told us there were only 100 guests, although I'm not sure that was the case all five days as there was a BMW convention part of the time. Still, the Resort side pool was almost always completely empty, there was never a wait for elevators, and we got seated immediately at every restaurant almost every time, with the exception of once at BarJack and having to get an early seating (6pm) at Blue, but that was on a Saturday night and we waited until Friday to make the reservation. We also always got beachfront chaises or our pick of pool chaises at just about any time of day. On the other hand, the Periwinkle restaurant was closed and at one point they were renovating a fountain at the beachfront pool and one inside the hotel, but those weren't inconveniences. Also, there weren't any planned fitness/yoga classes or tennis clinics (except one cardio tennis class), which were a little disappointing.

In thinking about this hotel, I would ask yourself whether you're going to the Ritz Carlton or are you going to Grand Cayman? For my husband and I, this time it was the former. As a result, we never left the property except to snorkel. Next time would be different, but we enjoyed every second of the discreet luxury that this property provides.

Rooms: Exceptionally pretty, quite large, and very quiet. We stayed in Room 453 on the Resort side. None of the usually bummers like scuffs, stains, cracks, non-working or missing stuff - and all of the nice details like light dimmer switches everywhere and a clock (thankfully not digital) that glows when picked up. Beds, pillows, and linens were luscious. As for the debate about Resort vs. Ocean side. If you're traveling with a family, Ocean side is probably a must - you don't want to send kids or seniors on that long walk back and forth all the time. But for a romantic twosome, we didn't see the need to spend $100 per night extra to be on the ocean side. We liked being near the Silver Palm lounge, the Tiffany store, the fitness room, spa, lobby, and Blue. We actually liked making the walk in the Gallery to the beach front.

Staff: The most international of any I've encountered - Russian, Canadian, Romanian, Filipino, Nicaraguan, Irish, just to name a few! All were wonderful and very accomodating. Housekeeping staff were prompt (although we were missed during a turndown service on our final night - they apologized and offered to come do it, but we took a handful of chocolates instead :-) and generous with the Bulgari products. Store staffs at Cupboard and Waves could have been a little friendlier, but no big deal. It did seem that the pool/beach guys were stretched thin at times and the waitstaff at BarJack seemed miffed if you asked them for a towel or something. But, overall, the best hotel staff we've ever encountered - they seem to be well-paid and clearly well-trained. Although Grand Cayman is probably one of the safest places in the Caribbean, we felt well-cared for by the security presence at the hotel, some of whom were EMTs. We enjoyed the cordial formality and everyone's "hellos."

Food: As every review mentions, the prices are insane. We never ate off the property and it was a bit of a drag. Periwinkle was closed, so we never got to eat poolside near our room. If we wanted to do that, it was BarJack or nothing. And after a while, the burgers and wraps got a little boring. They weren't great, either, nor were the salads. And you can't get out of a light lunch for under $50. We hardly ever drank, as cocktails ran about $20 US. Nutty! Room service was very quick compared to other places I've stayed - and the mac & cheese with truffle oil was yummy! Silver Palm was a nice, cool escape but I'd only recommend it if there's a host or hostess there - the bartenders seemed a little put out to have stop polishing shelves to serve food. Terrific sandwiches, though, and the free snacks (we didn't always get them) of Terra chips, dried cherries, and nuts helped take the edge off the prices. Whatever you do, AVOID the "Latin" buffet on Thursday night at the restaurant 7. It's dreadful and scandalously priced at $75 pp. Everything is cooked to death (even before getting to the buffet) except for the ceviches, braised ribs, and desserts, which were the highlights. On the other hand, if you care about food at all, then Blue is a MUST. For only $6 more than we paid for the horrendous buffet, we got the most exquisite, lovely meal. Totally delicious and a very memorable experience. I recommend the lobster, cobia, and tuna, but I'm quite sure it's all amazing. We would've eaten there twice if we could have timed it better. The restaurant 7 is actually good when they're not hosting the awful buffet. Still insanely priced, but the food and presentation were delicious and well-portioned. It's also the location of the breakfast buffet. I don't know in what universe $75 a couple for a breakfast buffet makes sense, but since it was included in our rate, we enjoyed it everyday. Fantastic juices, bacon, breads, cooked-to-order eggs.

Recreation: We did Stingray City because other reviews said it was a must - and it was. We went with Red Sail, again, something recommended in other reviews and saved half of what it would cost to book the Ritz's boat. Red Sail was really top notch, prompt, professional, with new equipment/boats - we were lucky to only have 17 on our boat and had a Catamaran (not a dive boat) so were able to enjoy lying on the webbing on the front of the boat for the cruse home. Heaven! Highly recommended. Other than that, we checked out the golf and tennis (the golf pro let us take a cart for a spin!) but it was so oppressively hot you'd have to play at 7am or forget it. Gorgeous facilities, though. My husband raved about the fitness room and men's spa, which he used daily. I didn't do any of that, but I would've liked a spa treatment - I just couldn't justify the $200 and up prices. The beach was a lovely place to walk and the staff did a great job with setting up chaises (complete with little personal cabana-type covers, which were a must in the blazing sun) and bringing the occasional free little drink or heavenly cinnamon-scented cold towels. There were plenty of kayaks and things to use, except that anything motorized was $45 an hour and up - a little insane during off-season, I thought, so we passed. They do have these fantastic anchored floating rings right in front of the beach - there's netting attached so you can actually lie in them, in the water - they hold two or three adults. Fun! They also have beach "beds," but I suspect they charged for those because they were always empty. And the cabanas were $120 - which is ridiculous - I think I only saw one used at one point.

Pound for pound, this was one of the nicest properties I've ever seen. We were completely blown away by everything and can't wait to go back - when the price is right. If you truly want to be pampered and relax - it's worth it...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyAsClams6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,215
    431
    172
    52
    32
See reviews for
935
1,232
46
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

My husband planned this trip for our 12 year anniversary. The hotel is pricey but the location is beautiful and we had a wonderful time. We highly recommend dining in Blue by Eric Ripert. The dinner we had was amazing and the night we were there Chef Ripert was in the restaurant and he signed two of the cookbooks we purchased. Can't wait to return.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank coolstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We arrived to our hotel in the mid afternoon to be greeted with the friendliest staff. They were very gracious and helped us with our luggage and our room was quickly available. Our first impression of the hotel was exquisite. Every part of the hotel had such lovely details. The hotel was very kid friendly. The food was very good. (especially the pena colada's) With every adult meal the kids would eat for free, which was great. The only downside i would say is, anyone can walk up from the other hotels around to the hotel and use the pool or other stuff. Nevertheless, we had a great time and we will definitly return to the resort.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelerusa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This place has it all, food, beach, warmth, ease, you name it! What a great escape in January. The temperature was in the 80's everyday and the water temerature was in the high 70's. i can't say enough about this place!!! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greggor36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Ritz for our first anniversary and birthday celebrations. I have stayed in other RC in the US for business travel so this was my first experience enjoying the "resort" amenities of a RC. This hotel definitely did not disappoint. We felt that the RC was a better price/value compared to the other hotel options on Grand Cayman and we were VERY glad we chose it after seeing the other hotels we considered.

Before we arrived, a representative from guest services emailed me to find out our room preferences, special requests, food allergies, etc. It was evident they put that information to good use becuase all of our requests were met and they ensured no nuts in any of our meals since we indicated that was a food allergy.

The entire hotel staff was so friendly, accomodating, and helpful. They definitely went the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our anniversary and birthday celebrations down to the gifts upon arrival and special note signed by the staff. We arranged all of our trips/tours before we arrived but it would have been just as easy to book through the hotel and ensure we were not getting ripped off. The hotel was not full by any means when we were there and there was a low child/adult ratio. This made our stay all the more romantic since we were looking for a quiet and realxing week.

The food was excellent! We had the breakfast buffet included in the price of our room. It was definitely not worth the $75/person if we were to have paid for it separately but we did feel like we got a great deal in the package we purchased. Each day, we enjoyed happy hour out on the beach until the sun went down. The daquiri's and chips and salsa were yummy! Even as it became dark, we still wanted to soak in as much of the water/beach as we could. The wait staff on the beach continued to serve us and check on us until we finally left - even though they should have been finished working for the night. The food at the pool/beach bar was excellent - very large portions so we split meals each time we ate there. We rented a beach bed for one of the days and it was so much more comfortable than the chairs - definitely worth it in my opinion. The chairs weren't bad by any means - the beds were a nice "indulgence" though.

Overall, the hotel couldn't have been a better choice for our celebration trip. I would highly recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRaiderAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our quick trip to the Grand Cayman was amazing thanks to the Ritz Carlton and cooperating weather. Although the ocean view rooms are a hike from the lobby, it's well worth the walk to wake up to amazing views.

The restaurants were surprisingly good. The buffet breakfast at 7 felt less like a buffet because of the made to order omelets and waffles. The truffle fries at Periwinkle and available by the pool were amazing. Although we missed out on Blue (booked the night we arrived and closed for the off season the rest of our trip), we had some wonderful meals at the other restaurants at the hotel. We had all but one meal at the hotel over our 4 day stay and were perfectly happy.

The service is top rate and the concierge is amazingly helpful. This Ritz Carlton definitely lives up to the Ritz reputation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Babylon, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I just love the island of Grand Cayman. The people, the land, the weather are exceptional.

We had the best time and have returned once all ready.

We stayed in the 7Mile Beach Resort and would go again.


I've recommended this island and resort to others and they too have enjoyed their stay.

Go and Relax!

Helpful?
Thank Traveler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing