We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel ... but some flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This is a new Ritz and is no doubt the most luxurious hotel on the Caymans.

I won't bore you with how much it costs...if saving money is your thing, the Ritz chain might not be the right place to stay.

There are certainly more great things to note than not, but you can get those from the hotel website.

A couple of the most troubling aspects:
1) The walk from the front desk/lobby/restaurant/parking area to the beach and ocean front rooms is considerable.
2) The $30 resort fee pays for little that you would not expect anyway. Items such as sailboats, etc will cost you separately.
3) There was not an ice machine within 500 yards of our room.
4) There was a horrible smell outside the 2nd floor elevator that was not corrected during the week we were there.
5) The golf course is a 9-hole affair. Interesting layout, but not worth lugging your clubs.

We found the staff accomodating and well trained.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,999)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,601 - 2,607 of 2,999 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2009

Unparalelled hotel on Grand Cayman. The staff are trained to be very courteous and helpful. The grounds are flawless, and the pool and beach well kept and organized. Pay the extra amountand stay oceanside. Request an upgrade to the "Ocean Club" which gives you a quiet club room supplied with food and wine for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Check thir website regularly before your stay as they frequently post special deals for only a week or two.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed 6 days and 5 nights and our stay was perfect. The service and staff is just what one would expect of a Ritz Carlton. If we had to pick one thing that stood out the most...it was the food. Periwinkle restaurant and the beach restaurant both had great food. The pools were very clean and well maintained and included great service for towels, water, etc. The hotel is in very short walking distance to some very good restaurants, Edoardo's Italian ($$$), Copper Falls Steakhouse ($$$), Eats Cafe ($), Legendz ($$), and Decker's ($$). The beach is great also, clean, soft, white sand with plenty of chairs and water sports equipment. There's little to no waves at the shore, which is very relaxing when laying out on the rafts provided by the hotel. You don't need water shoes, because as far out as 40', the sand under the water is very smooth (very few rocks). For jet ski rentals (wave runners), we recommend walking up the beach to Red Sail Sports at the Westin. Recommend walking up the road to Captain Marvin's (across the street from the Westin) if you're interested in a snorkeling cruise and Stingray City Sandbar. Their prices are $40 vs. the Ritz which is double that. We called the hotel a few days ahead and asked them for a mini fridge in our room, which they gladly agreed to. This allowed us to take a quick 5 min walk down the road to Foster's Food Fair IGA and buy some basics for the week. Tap water on the island isn't the best, but the Ritz provides free bottled water in your room. Lastly, prepare yourself in advance....food is expensive on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barkwood66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful experience staying at the Ritz for our second anniversary. The service was exceptional and even helped my husband set up a special anniversary dinner on the beach. The beach has crystal clear and warm. If you enjoy hanging out on the beach and relaxing this is definitly the place to go. The hotel had several restaurants to choose from and they were all very good. Although the hotel may be a bit pricey i would say you definitly get what you pay for and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Cayman. The only con would be there are no on demand movies for purchase in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

The Ritz on Grand Cayman is a fine resort but instead of rehasing everything that everyone else said I will just put in a few points I found helpful. The chairs on the beach are very nice and are really close to the water. One day we splurged and had lunch on the beach it was expensive but not outrageous ( $120). For more affodable meals there are many restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Just north of the hotel is Eats and Yoshis. Eats is a decent restaurant/sports bar and Yoshis is an overpriced pretentious sushi restaurant. Just behind this building is the Sunshine Grill. Excellent valus and awesome fish tacos.
5 minute south of the hotel is a decent Chinese restaurant and more importantly a full service grocery store. Fosters has a good deli and is just like a lot of stores in the states. We bought snacks and breakfast foods at Fosters and crammed them in the small fridge in the room.
The service at the hotel is phenomenal but the prices, especially at the restaurants,are quite high. Overall, we had a wonderful experience and would change very little from what we did if we were to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mgopsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

My boyfriend and I just came back from our trip to the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman and really enjoyed it. I had debated back and forth between staying at the Ritz and staying at Grand Cayman Beach Suites and am very glad I chose the Ritz. (I saw the Grand Cayman Beach Suites while on the island, and although I didn't see any hotel rooms, I found the Ritz to be a much nicer property). We stayed on the resort side over looking the "quiet" pool and it was an attractive room with a pretty view and even though it was facing the pool, it wasn't noisy. Of course we would have loved to have an ocean view room but didn't find it worth it to pay the extra money each night. The service at the hotel was great from the front desk to the concierge to the beach attendants. American Airlines had lost our luggage on our way to the island and the Ritz offered us "emergency" kits that had the toiletries we needed while we waited for our bags to arrive. (By the way...we heard that it is not uncommon at all for American Airlines to lose luggage on the way to Grand Cayman so make sure you pack some extra stuff in your carry on bag if you fly with them).

We enjoyed most of the restaurants that we ate at while there (our favorite being Calipsyo Grill). Unfortunately, we couldn't afford to eat at Blue but we ate at Periwinkle, 7 (for breakfast) and Bar Jacks and enjoyed them all. The pina coladas at Bar Jacks were excellent. Yes, they were pricey and the whole island was pretty expensive - but its not unlike other Caribbean Islands.

Our biggest complaint at the hotel was not being able to get a raft. There weren't enough for everyone and they were usally all gone by 9am. Getting a beach chair, however, was not a problem at all (at least in the summer). Overall, I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

My wife and I went here for a vacatation as part of our 1 year anniversary trip. We selected the resort due to the attractive price.

Room: We got the least expensive room on the land side of the resort (garden view). We had a problem with the plumbing that took more than 2 days to be resolved. I had to use a bathroom in the hallway once. We did inform the desk about this and they unclogged the toilet once a day but we got no compensation whatsoever.

Restaurants: Did not go to Blue the signature restaurant.
Periwinkle: Really enjoyed dining al fresco with good service and simple dishes. We kept to simple wines due to high wine prices. It was fairly family oriented which is fine with us.
Silver Palm Sushi: We dined outside on the deck. Above average sushi.
Silver Palm: We dined in the "library" style atmosphere and enjoyed the service and wines by the glass. Food items are light but fun.

Pool: Big pool with lots of people. Poolside service (nonexistant).
Beach: Lots of people good luck getting a chair. Service: none.
Activities: We booked most activities through red sail on our own as the hotel adds a surcharge for no justifiable reason. The sunset cruise is fun and we met a lot of other pleasant people on the ride.
SCUBA: booked on our own with red sail. GC has very clear water. I saw no notable critters in the water. Good conditions overall. No shore based snorkeling or diving to speak of. Didn't go to sting ray city.

Gym: Nice new equipment like my club at home. We used it heavily.

In summary:
A big resort on a nice beach with clear water and white sand. There are a lot of surcharges w/out the accompanying service. If you want a big resort with a big pool you'll have a good time. Prices were lower than many of my favorite resorts but the service didn't live up to it anyway. Also, numerous surcharges/fees leave a bad taste in my mouth. I'd rather just know the price. I realize this is not limited to the Ritz.

I would go back for a professional meeting but not for vacation.

Also, there are good restaurants near the westin if you want to walk. We did check out some of the other hotels and the Ritz seems to be the best on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $485 - $1,758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TravelUp, West Indies, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing