We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worth Every Penny For Major Life Events” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny For Major Life Events”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We chose the Ritz Grand Cayman for our honeymoon and could not have been happier. We stayed in an ocean-view room for eight nights in mid-March and absolutely loved the hotel and the experience.

As others have mentioned, the hotel is massive. Half of the hotel and one huge pool are almost right on the beach. With all of that space in both places, there are enough lounge chairs to go around, so there is no need to get up at 6:00 to save a space, either. (If you want a seat right in front of the beach or pool, you may want to get up on the early side of eight, though.) The other half of the hotel can be reached by a hallway that spans a relatively busy street, so there is no need to cross the street if one chooses a garden view room (which have very pretty views of a garden, lagoon, pool, and golf course). The hotel is so big that we always felt we could find a bit of seclusion and quiet no matter where we were.

The hotel also has three very well-maintained grass and clay tennis courts and a nice selection of rackets for those who want to play. I don't golf, but I did drive along with my wife while she hit around and the golf course looked very nice as well. The tennis pros are great. I took the opportunity to hit around with one of them and he gave some great advice. Also, there are two small reefs just off the beach, which are good for short snorkeling adventures.

The only downside to the hotel is the cost. The Ritz is definitely not a place to look for your inner bookkeeper (hint: he's not staying there). We defrayed some of the more extravagant costs by making an occasional five-minute walk to the local supermarket for easy lunches and snacks. That said, Grand Cayman itself is a relatively wealthy place and costs seemed to be high no matter where we went.

Overall, the hotel and service were wonderful. It was a perfect location for our Honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdldore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,725
    381
    153
    45
    27
See reviews for
707
1,005
36
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Lets start with Grand Cayman is a very expensive island. No matter where you go or eat, the dollar is weaker than the CI. The island is beautiful and extremely safe! My husband and I walked to different restaurants for dinner not feeling like I was in Jamaica. The weather and water are without a doubt some of the best, but that's already a given. This little, overlooked, expensive, beautiful island is a place to relax rejuvinate.
Now, in my opinion, the only place worth staying on Grand Cayman, is the Ritz! Granted, its huge!! Both sides of the street and then some, they are still expanding and own the property from one shore straight through the other. If you can, stay on beach side. It's not only a shorter walk, but the sunsets are breathtaking.
I've read many of the other review, and here is mine. This is a luxury hotel on a very expensive island. What do you expect? $$$$ If you expect it, you wont be surprised or dissappointed. It is however, worth every penny!!! We did the reconnect package which includes the overwhelming buffet breakfast and money for drinks, lunch, spa, tennis, etc. The service is second to none. The staff is very helpful and always friendly. My flipflops were stollen from right at the beachside. The manager took me to the giftshop and bought me another pair. We had an anniversary, and when we came back from dinner, the maid made swans on the bed with rose petals. The beach service was wonderful. Not only to ask for orders, but bringing over cool cloths and juice.
If you're looking for a beautiful, safe, gorgeous water and beach vacation in an amazing resort without the serious constraint of funds, this is THE place to go.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank helenPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Just returned from a 6 night stay with 2 teenagers. This hotelis great for families of all ages. It is nicer and cleaner than the Westin and the Marriott. The location on Seven Mile beach is fantastic. Service was top knotch. We have stayed a several of the Four Seasons properties over spring break and found this Ritz to be better than, Nevis, Great Exuma and Maui. The staff did a great job accomodating the near capacity hotel. We did not wait for ttables. The food in Blue was great, but, very!!!!! pricy. Seven the steak house restraunt was a better value for families. The casual restraunts were also very good. Beware the prices in the Caymans are very high. Two Virgin Frozen drinks by the pool will be $20.00 U.S. Dinners for 4 without expensive wine will run $200-$300. Off site we ate at Luna, a short a walk on the beach. The food at Luna is modern Italian. A cab ride will get you to the Wharf or Calypso. Forget the Wharf...but Calypso is worth the extra $50.00 for the round trip cab ride.
For activities, a trip to StingRay City with Blue Fin that leaves directly from the Ritz is great. The boats hold 8 people and will take you to secluded spots for snorkeling. Cayman is a big stop with the Cruise lines. We never went to Georgetown because we heard it is crawling with cruisers. The hotel has great kid and family activities through their Ambassadors of the Environment program.
We had probably had one of the least desirable rooms in the hotel and it was fine for a family of 4. As reported by others, there is a walk to the beach via an enclosed bridge from the lagoon side of the hotel. We didn't find this a problem. We were also closer to the Spa, Gym , and quiet pool.
Workout facilities are some of the best I have seen in a hotel. The spa was also very nice.
Flights from the US are convenient. Continental, Delta, US Air and American all service the Island. Cayman Air flies direct from Several Us. cities.

If you go to the Caymans splurge and stay at the Ritz. The Marriot and Westin are dated.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onmyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

My husband and I just got back from the Ritz in Grand Cayman - we were there from March 9 - 13th. It was amazing!! We were there to celebrate my 40th birthday and it ended up being like a 2nd honeymoon! If you have stayed at a Ritz before you know what to expect, top notch service in all aspects. We loved the location. The beach is beautiful. We are not beach people usually, more of pool people but we preferred the beach here. We never had trouble getting seats, not sure what other people are talking about. Dining - we ate at Blue and it was one of our favorite dining experiences in all aspects. The restaurant itself, service and the food was incredible! Well worth the price - it was about $320 American, we each had the 3 course price fix and 2 drinks each. We also ate at Periwinkle which we loved - casual tapas food! My husband did research and we ate at off property restaurants that I wanted to share as well. Copper Falls Steak House, Calypso Grill, Casa Havana for dinner. For lunch we loved Sunshine Grill - right across from the Westin - amazing fish tacos, quesdillas and burgers! Eats cafe is also across from there and great for lunch and breakfast! We also ate by the pool and on the beach but wanted to get away and talk a walk at times so we explored!! I cannot wait to go back to Grand Cayman. It is a great destination!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreinhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

So good to get away from the snow in New England, especially since our room is completely paid for by the conference my husband is attending. The bed is very comfortable, the tub and separate shower are big, and the free internet works perfectly. Staff here are helpful, friendly, and seem to enjoy helping visitors. Our room has a balcony, with chairs and a table, looking over the pool, the sand, and the ocean.

The beach faces west, so the sunsets are spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsythedevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Again, wont repeat the unnecessary details reviewd by other members. My husband and I stayed at the Ritz using Marriott reward points that we acrued from our wedding event. This was an amazing resort. I would not recommend staying at any other place. I am very hard to please, and the Ritz (esp, Lavinia) far exceeded our expectations. The staff is over -friendly and very polite. Please say "Good Morning" to everyone. Islanders consider it rude to walk by and put down your head without acknowledging the presence of another human being...refreshing change from the East coast mentality!

Even though it was a free 5-day stay (marriott award points), the reservation desk upgraded us to a pool view room with our own private terrace! Can't beat that. We also were celebrating my husbands birthday and I have to agree with other reviewers, the restaurant called 7 had a private cabana set up for us as a surprise. We also had Orlando as our server, what a great guy!
When we got back to the room, there was a great gift waiting for us in the room. A ritz carlton photo frame, candle, and body gel with a card saying Happy Birthday from Ritz!!

Room service/housekeeping 2x a day with nightly turn-down service and chocolate treat on our pillow.

The pool was a bit cold (not heated), but the caribbean sun was warm . Definitely try the Spa , amazing!
Take a $2.50 bus ride (actually minivans that stop on the side of the road filled with other tourists) to Georgetown where you will find alot of jewelry stores at discount prices and great places to eat .

In sum , I am so glad we stayed at the Ritz (our first time in a Ritz property). The internet is free (not sure if it is because of the season). We are going back tomorrow to the DC area refreshed as ever, and ready to tackle the cold.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pishihapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

We stayed at this hotel Feb1-7, 2009. The hotel is lovely.
We had one issue. Our room developed a very bad wrotten smell. We called housekeeping and they sprayed the room, which did not work. Noone called to see if that took care of the issue for us.... We called the front desk later that evening asking to have a room change and were moved to a different room. Again, noone from management called to check the issue. The bellman who came to help us move, told us it definately smelled like a dead rat. I feel the management of a 5 star hotel would have checked with us to see if the issue had been resloved. Their only comment to us was it was not the fault of the hotel. I assure you, it was not OUR fault and it would have been very nice to get a note under our door from management apologizing for the entire event....until we decided to pursue, we heard from noone...management should have been made aware of our problem by housekeeping or the front desk.
The hotel grounds are beautiful. Very nice pools, although they are not heated pools. Nice beach with a friendly staff to help you. We never ate at the hotel because of the high prices and we prefer to have a view of the water and flavor of the island.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madisonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#2 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
#4 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort where sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing