We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Ambiance, Ritz doesn't disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Reviewed January 22, 2009

Upon arrival we were welcomed with fruit punch drinks at the check-in desk. Our resort view king room actually had a partial view of the ocean and was spacious and well-appointed. Bathrobes, toothpaste, nail files, etc. are all stocked in the bathroom so travelers do not need to worry if they have left something at home. The breakfast in 7 was great as well as the pool side lunch. Pool side service was a bit slow. There is an Avis on-site if you want to rent a car and check out the island a bit. Friday nights at the Ritz are quite the scene (if you want to party). The fitness facility was clean, the spa was fantastic. Spa prices are a bit high, but this is also the Ritz Carlton. Try Calypso Grill (Morgan Harbour) if you get a chance, the mojitos are fabulous!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CATrvl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,999)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,667 - 2,673 of 2,999 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2009

A hot dog, burger, and two local Caybrews at the pool will set you back $70 US. So, budget travelers beware. If you want a tropical cocktail its gonna cost you $20+ US.
The rooms are pretty average and lack modern amenities no IPOD docks or digital clocks etc.
If you like the feel of a trendy spot this is not it...... think old money and families although the bar on Friday night was the hippest place on the island. When it comes to the staff its mixed some people act like they can't be bothered but there are certainly a lot of who will go out of their way for you.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and well kept. You won't be disappointed with the pools, beach, or restaurants. The spa is divine and my favorite part of the whole property.
We attended a wedding here and I must say that if you are planning a wedding...YES..its gorgeous and it seemed well orchestrated. Although people on the beach were in their bathing suits and beach chairs enjoying a front row view of the festivites the entire time.
Compared to other luxury hotels such as a Four Seasons I vote this Ritz as just average. There were a lot of issues we had in a short time with mildewed sheets, not having our room properly cleaned etc.. That is why I think this place is merely average and not worth the $$$$. However, this is the nicest place on seven mile so I guess if you want luxury this is what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mountain_Bluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We just returned from a 10 night stay at the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman with our 6 month old and our friends with their 3 year old. It was absolutely fabulous. After being horribly disappointed last year with the Ritz St. Thomas we decided to play it safe and go back to the Ritz Grand Cayman where we had a great vacation in 2006. From the incredible food at all 3 restaurants to the beautiful property, well-kept rooms, and generally good service, everything was as we remembered it. The Silver Rain spa was incredible ( I had 6 treatments) and as an avid spa-goer, would definitely say this is my favorite spa in the world. The service was slow at times, especially at the beach, and they messed up orders more than one would expect at a Rtiz, but were always apologetic and tried extensively (almost annoyingly so) to make up for it. All in all we had a wonderful time and have already booked it for next year.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DPBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

I just returned from the Ritz Carlton for a business trip. When I arrived in Grand Cayman, my luggage didn't. I had an important presentation the next morning and only had a few incidentals in my carryon with my presentation.
The concierge, Sabine, and the Bell Captain Ollie jumped in to save the day. I have stayed at numerous five star plus hotels, but this was by far the best. They catered to my needs, took me to the local store where I was able to buy a few things to sustain me and treated me with five star plus service. My sincere thanks to Ollie for his wonderful personality. He kept me laughing and made me appreciate how wonderful life really is.
The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the service is impeccible.
They don't miss a beat. The food is a culinary delight and the presentation was beautiful. I will recommend this hotel to everyone.
Jo-Ann M.
Queensbury, NY

Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank belizejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My husband and I spent 4 nights at The Ritz, choosing after reading all the wonderful reviews. We stayed oceanfront, 8th floor, rooms are nicely appointed, including the complimentary bottles of water daily. I highly suggest the ocean side rooms - as others have noted it’s quite a hike from the other side of the hotel and the views are great from the ocean balconies.

The hotel does have some of the best service I have experienced, the beach attendants were spectacular and always there when you wanted one. Concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful, rented a car directly on property which was convenient. Housekeeping seemed to be average, had a few problems w/the turndown service but nothing to really rave or complain about. We arrived on my husband’s birthday which I made the front desk aware of, no type of acknowledgment was made.

Hotel is on a great stretch of sand, luckily we were there doing low season as chairs are placed very close together, and voices carry from pool area. We tend to prefer fewer crowds so I don’t think I would stay here doing the high season.

Food & drinks were good, Blue was excellent, sushi in lobby restaurant was very good. I don’t know if anything was quite as good as the prices that went along with it, they are close to the prices of the South Pacific.

The hotel is beautiful in a traditional way, not anything to give you a feel for being in the Caribbean. All in all we enjoyed ourselves and if you get a good deal on the room, I would recommend it. Otherwise there seemed to be a lot of other nice hotel choices.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aztecgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

The Ritz Carlton was by far the most beautiful resort I have ever visited. Nothing was overlooked from the clean floors to the wonderful service. We stayed in a 1bedroom blue tip suite. The suite great and pleanty of room for my husband, 1 yr old son, and myself. The only thing differently I would do is stay directly on the beach side. I would love to wake up to the sunrise, and end such priceless days looking into the ocean.
I agree with those who say the Ritz is expensive. Great food, Great service, and Great ambiance usually is. You get what you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NyBrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

This hotel is humongous yet it is very elegant and classy. If you stay on the beach side it is on the opposite side of the hotels main entrance. There is a skywalk to connect the two. Make sure you get booked in a room close to the elevators. Even though we were on the beach side it took 15 minutes to walk to the beach. The pina coladas are the best I have ever tasted. The weekly beach bbq was great. Everybody is so friendly. It is a very diverse work staff. Make sure to go to the turtle farm and snorkeling in Stingray City.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChicagoAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $484 - $1,756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing